Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.711545
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My visit to Cameroon 2 years ago with the Mount St. Mary's team of faculty and students began my love for Africa....specifically the people of Bankondji. Education is a powerful tool for change; and educating girls extends that positive change to their future families. This project is so worthwhile to support as it will currently build strong women and provide educated citizens in the future. During my visit one of the Sisters at the Daughters of Charity said that “Africa gets into your skin.” I feel that I came home with a piece of Africa in my heart. The land is beautiful. The people are beautiful. My memories are beautiful. I am proud to teach my students at the University about this wonderful project and how to support it with our monies and prayers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

The first time I heard about Aumazo was through a close friend of mine. I am from one of the counties with which Cameroon share its frontier (Gabon) so when I heard about Aumazo and the goals that they wanted to reach I was more than exited to be able to volunteer. In addition it’s not every day that you come across a non-profit organization that has the ambition to bring education to Africa for this reason I strongly believe that they do need more recognition and help from anyone for the hard work that they’re doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

Education in Africa, especially for young girls, is a cause that is very dear to my heart. I believe that it is one of the most critical factors to reducing poverty and inequality. So when I heard about Aumazo, its mission and the great work that its founder, Jacqueline Audige, is doing in rural Cameroon, I immediately thought that it was an organization that was worth supporting.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

I had a great experience working with Aumazo Inc. Mrs Audige did a phenomenal job at getting a team together to work in partnership with the University of Maryland and spending hours taking hundreds of their chairs, chalk boards and several other school materials that were going to be thrown away and that instead we took to put in a container and ship to Cameroon to help build better schools. It was an eye-opening experience and the purpose was real. Great organization, great people. I would recommend them to anyone looking to make an immediate difference in the lives of people who need it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Everything was great to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

As a previous administrative assistant for Aumazo, Inc., I can say first hand that this organization is true to their mission and strive to help these girls obtain an education at all cost. Regardless of all obstacles, they still push through and never give up nor look back. It is a great organization and the founder is an inspirational and incredible person. This organization deserves more recognition and support for the work they are doing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013

more

July 22, 2013

I have been very close to the founder of Aumazo Inc., Jacqueline, and can attest to the sheer drive and dedication she has invested in the organization and its cause. Jacqueline and her team work tirelessly to collect funds and advance the development of their first all-girls' boarding school in Jacqueline's native village of Bankondji, Cameroon -- a task that is proving to be much more difficult than expected.

The Auamzo team has met many unrelenting obstacles -- from environmental to political and financial setbacks -- on the road to achieving their admirable goals, and they have until now come through. This truly is one of the few honest and purposeful non-profits out there. I will continue to show love and support whenever possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Assign a new on-site Manager in Bankondji to manage the workers and operations as well as coordinate with the Headquarters team in Maryland.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 21, 2013

more

July 21, 2013

I heard about Aumazo through a good friend and after a bit of my own research decided that I wanted to get more involved in the cause. Educating girls is something I am personally passionate about and Aumazo has found a way to do this in an effective and sustainable manner. Having studied international development in university, I was well aware of the problem of sustainability that some non profits/development agencies have encountered. After meeting with Jacqueline and hearing more details about Aumazo's plan to educate girls in Bankondji I was curious to see how Aumazo planned to fund such a task. I was very impressed to hear about her plan to use a hydraform block making machine to not only build the school but also fund the project in general (and any future projects). In this way, Aumazo is able to be self-sustaining and thus will continue to do good well into the future. Definitely worth all five stars!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 29, 2011

this is a project worth paying attention to. it helps address some of the major issues that we are dealing with in 3rd world countries "education"especially girls education. i love everything it stand... more

July 18, 2013

I am back at it once again to remind you why AUMAZO is still my Charity of choice. The passion and creativity this organization exudes in making a difference in the world brings hope and joy to my heart. I am so proud to be sharing in the wonders of this beautiful cause. Please, join me and take 3 minutes of your time to show your support by sharing your own thoughts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 29, 2011

this is a project worth paying attention to. it helps address some of the major issues that we are dealing with in 3rd world countries "education"especially girls education. i love everything it stands for! everybody needs to support this cause!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

it helped open my eye to the possibilities of social and economic improvements

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i don't know yet

March 30, 2011

more

March 30, 2011

AUMAZO? A noble project, a gladness for the people of this village with millions of wealth.Young people will discover with AUMAZO that their old dreams of going on higher studies are about to come true. AUMAZO is giving them a happy consciousness of their own importance.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

going on the field and discovering the site. talking with the people of the village and collect informations about their feeling.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like the organisation to be all around the world

March 26, 2011

more

March 26, 2011

I met Jacqueline several years ago, and was immediately struck by her vision and her passion.

Her personal story is so compelling: Because she was denied a secondary education simply because of geography and gender, she made it her mission to make sure that girls in rural Cameroon,
starting with her home village, have access to secondary education. When women/mothers are educated, they can lift their own household and their village out of poverty and ignorance. Multiply that by many villages, and you have a better community/state/country/world.

While raising five children of her own, Jacqueline managed to earn two college degrees. With her determination, creativity and charm, she has founded a nonprofit, Aumazo, that will soon make it possible for the girls in her home village to receive a secondary education.

Her fundraisers are creative and inspirational. Her entrepreneurial bent is constantly at work, thinking of ways to finance and sustain the efforts in Cameroon.

Two years ago, I suggested that Jacqueline apply for a spot in a year-long leadership class, and put her in touch with Leadership Montgomery. Once accepted, she has put her talents to great use, and has leveraged her contacts and lessons to benefit Aumazo.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen her vision remain strong, despite the very real economic impact that the recession/depression has had on fund raising efforts. Jacqueline has invited me to come and see the school in action, and I am certain that I will have the chance to visit in person. She has just seen a way to create an opportunity for the villagers to be involved by creating bricks. Those will not only be used for the school itself, but can also be sold for the construction of other community buildings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... try to have a stronger Cameroonian connection on the Board of Directors on the US side. Apparently that isn't as easy as it sounds, since the tribal connections aren't necessarily strong across different tribes.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us design a functional fundraising plan Volunteer