Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.777785
Write A Review
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It is my pleasure to congratulate Team Aumazo and its founder for their work in Cameroon since its inception in 2005. By placing the empowerment of young girls at the core of their interventions, Aumazo has undoubtedly taken humanitarian standards up a notch. It is often noted that emergency programs correspond to short-term and live-saving responses to crises whereas long-term government sponsored projects tend to suffer from bureaucratic heaviness, lack of funding and ill-governance. Aumazo fills this gap beautifully by intervening directly in rural areas through, for instance, the construction of a clean and self-sustaining boarding school for the benefit of the target community. I applaud such an endeavor and can’t help but be amazed by the monumental development efforts they have carried out so far. These crucial gender initiatives address the most pressing social issues of the day, which include lowering the risk of child abuse, reducing gender inequality and, more importantly, educating the next generation of local African female leadership. All in all, Aumazo is an inspiring example of how the combination of grassroots mobilization and private funding can yield astonishing results that will surely be felt in the many years to come.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I believe that education is a powerful tool to better the lives of communities. Providing it to girls by building is a very good initiative and strongly encourage it.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I trust the project That is why I am in; and when finish this will definitely be a dream come thru. It says that you have to dream to see your dream coming thru. This is project is for a good cause and I am happy to be part of it. That is what I call being there for our girls when they need you. Thank you to Jacqueline Audige, CEO and Founder of Aumazo Inc/ZOMA for her action: building a school for Girls in Bankondji, Cameroon, Africa. Please let support her action so her dream, our dream can be extended to more regions. Together Each one Accomplish More. Thank you mother Jacqueline

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I would like to commend Jacqueline Audige, CEO and Founder of Aumazo Inc/ZOMA B/C for extraordinary leadership and resourcefulness in establishing a girls' secondary boarding school in rural Cameroon, where only 17 percent of high school age girls are able to obtain education. The school will not only providea academic training using the national bilingual curriculum, but will also include training in microenteprise development and management, information technology, agricultural production and food processing.

She had devoted herself tirelessly to the pilot school, which nearly a decade ago was only a dream and a farm field in Western Cameroon. The school buildings should be completed and the first students start attending class in the near future.

Two things stand out about her work. First of all, her creativity. Perhaps her greatest innovation has been to use the machine that makes quality interlocking blocks out of local materials for the school construction. This machine then became the cornerstone of ZOMA B/C, a small construction materials and services business for homes and buildings. ZOMA's profits all go to support the operating expenses for the school.

Secondly, Jacqueline has build a remarkable coalition of individuals and organizations to help the school become a reality and contribute to the education of girls, a critical element in economic and social development.

Abbe Fessenden

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with Jacqueline Audige as an Aumazo volunteer Representative in Cameroon since 2006. Despite all the challenges and the roadblocks we faced over the years, my faith in the project had remained strong.
When I met with Jacqueline in December 2006, the project was still an
idea and I got hooked right away. At the time, I was a priest at St Joseph parish of Bankondji. I saw big potentials behind the project because every day I confront girls who cannot continue their education because of financial difficulties of relocation and schools fees. She made it even worthwhile when she told me that she was going to build a school building that includes toilets. I was thrilled at that idea. Although I am a priest, I also teach middle schoolers. Many girls that are young women already, always accumulate a lot of absence during a school year. I never understood why until Jacqueline drew my attention to the need of toilets at a school building to reduce absenteism and high drop out rates among girls.
This is a noble cause and I am glad to be part of it. I urge you who will read this to help us raise the wall of this school and welcome the girls. I admire the courage , determination and passion that Jacqueline Audige has for this project. It takes a soul like hers to hold tight on such dream of giving back to others. I did not and will never let her down. She has be been an inspiration to me as well and I learned a lot from her strength, her honesty and integrity. I have never stopped praying for her and the project. I have faith that things that are giving with love can only bare good fruits.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I am a highschool student at the Barrie School in Silver Spring MD. Last year, my French class collaborated with Aumazo, raising over $2,300 for the construction of their first school. It was an amazing experience, both as a French student and as a person. We worked directly with Jaqueline (the founder of Aumazo) while we planned the event and beyond. She was also asked by the senior class to speak at graduation. Jacqueline is also a parent at our school.

Because we were already working together on a long-term project, I proposed a formal partnership between our school and Aumazo. The Aumazo board and the School administration were both interested in the idea, so I worked with them to write and edit the memorandum of understanding, serving as the link between the two organizations. Our efforts culminated in a fundraiser gala, during which the partnership was signed. It was extremely rewarding to work with Aumazo, and I look forward to working with them again in the future. Aumazo has earned my highest praise and deepest respect.
September 24, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 20, 2013

Aumazo is a stellar organization with a most worthy goal. It is important to note that Aumazo is dealing quite effectively with the perennial issue of operational funding by creating a for-profit busi... more

September 24, 2014

Aumazo has done a great job generating multiple streams of financial resources for the project. By following a strong and efficient business model, the organization is also ensuring its long-term sustainability. This aspect differentiates Aumazo from many projects in which the initial investment is rarely followed by a sustainable plan for the growth of the organization. Once built, the school will be able to genrateits own income by developing economically feasible business ventures. These will provide hands-on practical opportunities for the students.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 20, 2013

Aumazo is a stellar organization with a most worthy goal. It is important to note that Aumazo is dealing quite effectively with the perennial issue of operational funding by creating a for-profit business that will fund the school on a very long-term basis. This smart solution to a common funding issue is what separates Aumazo from most other projects!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 29, 2011

Aumazo is taking some important steps to make the school a reality and to provide long-term financial support for the project in Cameroon. Indeed, the school is being built brick by brick and although the process has been slow and frustrating at times, there is no doubt that the finished product will be for itself and be a critical player in the local landscape for generations to come.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

While in Cameroon I have seen the positive impact the project has on the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have a magic wand to make fundraising easier

September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

The organization has overcome a number of obstacles to bring quality educational options to young girls and is doing tremendous work to make a difference in their lives.
September 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Jacqueline worked closely with students in my French class who were interested in the Aumazo project. She was unfailingly generous with her time and showed herself to be an AMAZING educator. The kids were bowled over by the Aumazo project and took it upon themselves to propose an official partnership between our school (Barrie School) and Aumazo, and then planned and executed a gala fundraiser in the spring. I can't say enough good things about Jacqueline and about Aumazo.
September 7, 2014

more

September 7, 2014

Jacqueline has been doing a great job over the years to be able to open this place for girls. She will succeed and I do hope others will follow.
Nathalie Leboucher.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us design a functional fundraising plan Volunteer