Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
July 31, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 31, 2014

Audubon Nature Institute Inc. (ANI) is an extraordinary nonprofit entity. I am happy to comment on a few highlights of its work in our community and its extraordinary impact across the state.

ANI brings the wonders of nature, through it many programs and exhibitions in and around New
Orleans, to families from this state and the region. Through the zoo, the aquarium, the butterfly garden and the Imax theatre, the children of this state, and our visitors from all over the world, learn about the world around us in an exciting and educational way. Our children are the better for these fun and educational experiences. ANI reaches out to our community in many ways which demonstrably makes New Orleans a better place. For instance, in its partnership with the Taylor Scholars, ANI awards admission to students from across the state who maintain their grades at a 2.5 or better--it teaches the life lesson of hard work, persistence and success, and it brings a tangible award/encouragement for good performance,. It also exposes our children to more educational adventures at the different ANI programs and exhibits. ANI is a great community asset as New Orleans works to grow family tourism, providing many of the highest quality family related attractions in our area. Finally, ANI is also a good steward of its resources, both from admissions fees and from donations. ANI has a proven track record of thoughtfully putting these resources to work to create exceptional value through its programs and exhibits.
Thank you. Ted

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it get even more funding to continue to create more exceptional family opportunities to experience the wonders of nature.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

Simply the Best board to serve on. The Audubon Family is so involved in the community and it shows by the number of people who visit Audubon facilities on a repeat basis.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

Audubon Nature Institute offers so much, in fact, tops the list in New Orleans by far!
The Zoo,the Aquarium, Insectarium/Butterfly,Nature Center,Species Survival Center,
Imax, and Aud Park are our great assets, to be enjoyed by all who live here and all our visitors!
Pleasure, history,
education, fun, all wrapped up into one phenomenal experience for all ages!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

great organization!!! brings super educational programs to the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing. great team running this non profit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

Audubon institute is a wonderful organization. I have had many opportunities to witness first hand the ways it touches our community. My board experience had been positive. I am consistently impressed with how well organized and well managed the institute is. I am happy to donate my time money to this not for profit!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

The Audubon Nature institute strives continually to improve it's facilities and it's programs. It's a leader amongst other institutes of the same caliber and helps to drive the education in the arena. Ron Forman has turned the zoo around almost single handedly and made it an example for other top zoo's around the country to follow as a model. In aaddition, the preservation and restoration of the Olmsted Audubon park has been if recent note and the facilities there are becoming more and more state of the art to the public with the inclusion of a golf course and many other mind and body enhancing experiences. The Awuarium and Insectarium provide joy and education most importantly to our youth and all others that are consistently welcomed each day. I am an honored and oud to young Board member and will continue to use the same resolve set by example by Ron Forman to continue to be a good steward to the institute.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make Audubon Park golf course a private country club

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

I live very near Audubon park(3 blocks away). I have been a member of the zoo and have had the pleasure of being able to use the park as a walking and biking path for very many years. In the the last 20 years , the Park and all its myriad of facilities has gone from "good to great". The park and the golf course are a joy to behold and use. It is rare that you can walk in a public park that is exceedingly well used and find not one trash can that is stuffed , not one shelter that has litter, a children's playground that is constantly used and clean and well manicured. The zoo, the Aquarium and the insectarium are always full of children and adults(me too) enjoying these facilities. It makes me so proud to see the numbers of out of town visitors who take the streetcar to the park, walk thru the park to the zoo. I am amazed that no matter when you go to the zoo(I have 5 grandchildren) that while crowded at times, the litter has been picked up, the animals appear to be comfortable-- even the petting zoo is exceptionally well managed. I am very proud of New Orleans and Audubon Nature Instiitutei! I believe,that Audubon is the reason that the quality of life in this city is so satisfying. Come walk with me in the park one morning at 6:30 am and you will understand!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would only hope that they will continue to expand.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

my daughter has volunteered as a zookeeper since 4 grade she is now a junior in college they not only help the animals but the kids become well rounded we have grown more socially and environmentally friendly and we would like to thank you for giving to us and your community you have become and extended family and a sourse of stability especially after returning ffrom katrina she worried about the animals she cared for and kept in touch with the workers we wereall glad to return and find something wonderful you guys

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers