Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.878385
Write A Review
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

API has been a wonderful source of support in my parenting journey. It is a non judge mental truly caring venue to get advice on topics such as cosleeping, extended nursing, positive discipline, etc. I am constantly finding myself reaching out to this group when I have a question about something my children are doing and I need help with. I could not imagine what it would have been like if I had not found this group 3 years ago!
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

My experience with API is that it has been a wonderful source of support and inspiration to me since I began my parenting journey almost 10 years ago. The leaders of our group have been nothing but inviting and warm and provide great resources with science-backed information. I trust the board members, and know that this non-profit is sincere and legit, paving the way for gentler, more informed parenting.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Hello,

we are a family from Barcelona, Spain. We recently moved to Brooklyn and one of the most helpful and warm family group that we met was the API support group. The families and Volunteers involved are very generous and respectful with all the people that comes to them to receive
advise related to practical things. No matter if you are asking for big or small questions, you always receive support and information with the potencial of making big and positive changes on a family life.

I recommend 100% this non-profit because is very human and useful for families of different ages.

Warmly

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Even after four kids (and sometimes especially after four kids) I turn to API for advice, ideas, inspiration, and commiseration. They give strength not to cave to the awful advice that pummels parents from all directions. There is another way, a path less traveled, and API is the one there placing trail markers. Thank you!
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

When I had my baby it was towards the close of a very tumultuous period in my life. I did not have a lot of good advice coming to me. Most people I knew espoused ways of childrearing that did not include baby-wearing or even breast feeding, but I knew these things were best for children and I practiced them. After a particularly difficult holiday season I returned home depleted emotionally after being challenged repeatedly for keeping my baby so close [she was 5 mos.]
I finally went online and searched for meaningful commentary to validate my choices and that is when I found API-NYC, an online group where parents discussed childrearing.
Over the past 6.5 years my family has thrived because of the intelligent and compassionate support of other parents who are also part of the Attachment Parenting community. I have been able to make decisions about good nutrition because I am constantly updated about new resources, I am able to navigate developmental stages with with grace and humor because I can discuss parenting with other parents who also choose to honor the whole child.
My daughter enjoys a happy home that has her best interests at heart. She is supported in her choices and she thrives physically and emotionally. Our family has benefited from learning about non-violent communication, as well as a variety of consumer products, from child-supplements to probiotics to magnesium baths that can help to fortify and calm. I have learned about a variety of educational resources to empower my daughter's learning and more than anything I have found support as a woman, as a mother and as a sensitive person.
I have found my "tribe."
I do not know how I would have found so much success in my life without API-NYC. It gave me a ladder and my whole family has climbed.
API-NYC helped me give my daughter the rich life she deserves.
Veronica M.
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

Raising children is the most rewarding and challenging work I've ever done. It's nice to have a community of like-minded parents to go to whenever I've needed support or just a listening, understanding ear.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I found API when I was the new parent to an infant. We began attending meetings and events when my daughter was 8 weeks old, and I really don't know how I would have made it through parenting her without API. The group has consistently offered a welcoming, safe, and gentle atmosphere where I have learned so much about parenting, have gathered emotional support, and have been motivated to parent consciously. I am so inspired by the women I have met, and continue to learn from them everyday. We have educational meetings, hikes, playdates, and book club. My best friends today are other mamas that I have met in API, and they challenge me to grow as a parent while also offering non-judgmental support. I really can't imagine my life without this organization! Although I am far from a perfect parent, I have a clear vision of what I aspire to be, and I continue to work toward that vision each day.
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I use the information they post and publish both personally with my own kid and with clients as a Marriage & Family Therapist. I recommend them to other parents regularly as well as sharing the info I get from them with my colleagues.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

API has been a go-to resource for me as a new mother. The links they provide to research-based information allows me to parent my daughter in a way that I KNOW is best for both of us, with that knowledge based on current science and not on hearsay or out-dated opinions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

After having five babies, I thought I was an old pro and there was nothing that could surprise me. When I had my sixth child, that all went down the drain. Right away, we had feeding issues. My supply was very low and to top it off, my baby would pull away from me and cry. He was a very unhappy child and I was stumped. I was a member of the local LLL group, but having come from a close knit group in California, I was uncomfortable with the detached type feel of the group as were a couple of other moms. One gal started a local API group in our town...it was me and her for a long time! Following the guidelines of the group, we recovered. It turned out I had kidney disease and it was greatly affecting my supply. I learned to use a supplementor and he took to it after awhile. Most important, we discovered he was autistic and the touching, holding, etc. was indeed hurting him. Because of that one gal, and later, a couple of more, my little man, now 10, is the biggest cuddle bunny and so happy! He is attached in a significant way to us and to his siblings. API saved my child from a life without human touch...we didn't want him to hurt. I cannot say enough about API.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write articles, edit, write grants, fundraise, moderate forums, help with membership, research, organize volunteers,... Volunteer