Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.878385
Write A Review
November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

16 years ago I and my 12 month old found ourselves at an Attachment Parenting support group that was associated with API. I was astounded that I had finally found my tribe. Since then I found their website and newsletters to be highly informative, and in more recent years I began writing for them myself on occasion. They are on top of every challenging issue that pops up in the media and I'm so glad as I sometimes feel the need to DO something about this or that but I'm secure that API is there!! with evidence-based information and advocacy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 12, 2012

Attachment Parenting International has been the compass of my parenting journey. I completely support their mission of encouraging healthy bonds and connection between parent and child. As my childr... more

November 4, 2012

This organization has a goal of helping parents nurture strong connections with their children by way of respect, empathy, joy, and trust. Attachment theory is based in science and supports us in listening to those instincts. API is the best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

Attachment Parenting International has been the compass of my parenting journey. I completely support their mission of encouraging healthy bonds and connection between parent and child. As my children grow, I can see the benefits of investing in my children, following my instincts, and parenting with joy. This organization changes the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Attachment parenting has helped me through my journey of parenting into a more peaceful and loving way. It has helped create a bond with my daughter I could never have had if I had done it differently. She is becoming confident and her own self which means a lot. I attribute this to Attachment Parenting International with the resouces they have provided through their website, their literature, and their support groups. I've been volunteering with API for almost 8 years because it is SO important for me to give back to an organization who gave to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

There are endless opinions and books on parenting, but this is the organization with documented research to back their parenting principles. API offers attachment parenting philosophy with a gentle hand, suitable for parents of teens as well as little ones. I find all of API's materials are based on a healthy respect for the needs of children and their parents.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I've been involved with API as a volunteer for six years and find API to be unlike any other organization, nonprofit or business, I've ever encountered. The way it serves families empowers parents to do what's best for their families, giving the power back to parents to trust their intuition but also reinforcing this approach through solid research--there is no other organization that has the potential to impact children and their parents, communities, and indeed societies the way that API does. It not only offers mostly free or otherwise very low-cost support and education through publications, websites, teleseminars, discussion forums, and other online resources but also thru local accredited contacts and parent support groups -- so there's a face in your community as well as the plethora of online content available to you. Also, as far as a volunteer-run organization, API "walks like it talks," in that its approach to organization management mirrors the AP mindset. API's volunteers are treated like family--we're all in this together. The volunteers who gather together over the phone and through the Internet, because this is a virtual organization and we're all parents dedicated to the cause but who still need to make parenting our priority, truly believe in AP and its ability to change lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Amazing group!! Very helpful leaders, wonderful support meetings, and a great way to network with other parents who parent in a similar fashion. Sound principles to guide us in creating loving and lasting relationships with our children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I have been fortunate to volunteer with API for six months now and let me tell you, I am so impressed with the dedication exhibited by the leaders and other volunteers. They are not only devoted to the ideals of attachment parenting, but to API as an organization as well. API serves the important role of educating the general public about attachment parenting, what it is and sometimes more importantly, what it isn't. In addition to education, API provides support and thought leadership to parents all over the world. The organization is almost 100% run by volunteers and yet produces high quality publications on a consistent and frequent basis. Parenting is a darn tough job and one that can be lonely at times, especially when you are raising your children in a way that others may find nontraditional to current standards and even a bit odd. API serves as a meeting place that always leaves a light on for these passionate parents.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

API has been a gift in my life, not only have I made friends, and a support system that has surrounded me, and helped make my parenting journey so much easier, and enjoyable, but I have been able to keep up my professional journey through my volunteer service. API allows me to keep my focus right where I want it on my kids while I stay at home. And I get to keep my skills sharp and continue to travel on my professional path. Making sure I will always have a fresh resume with relevant experience for when I am ready to return to the work world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my personal parenting journey. The support and information has been invaluable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the staff so that projects could be given the time and attention needed to grow as fast as the needs of the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've met many friends, and confidants. And I believe I am a better parent because of the volunteer work I do with API.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful, Satisfied, Useful, Needed, Respected, Happy

July 7, 2012

more

July 7, 2012

Attachment Parenting International has helped me heal myself from childhood wounds and create a healthier, happier present and future for my own children. The research and support they provide has bolstered me and my husband many times as we faced the challenges of parenthood. Following API's 8 Principles of Parenting gives us deep joy in the process, when other 'methods' and teachings bring disconnection and despair. We see the benefits for our young children already; they each have a heightened sense of empathy, and a secure sense of self. I wish all children could be parented this way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

As a parent trying to find your way in a world where intentional, alternative and conscious parenting are not exactly supported or understood, API is a Godsend. It is a place where you can gain parenting tools to help you along the way, meet like-minded parents and feel utterly supported. Attachment Parenting can change the world, but it is not easy to parent this way....it's a lot of sacrifice and support from others is paramount.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write articles, edit, write grants, fundraise, moderate forums, help with membership, research, organize volunteers,... Volunteer