Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.878385
Write A Review
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

I have been involved with API for many years. My local group was an invaluable source of support when I was a new mom, as I learned to follow my instincts and parent in a connected and compassionate way. When I saw how much the group was needed in our community, I became an API support group leader, and eventually started volunteering with the international organization as well. API serves an absolutely vital role in parent education and support, and has done so much good not only in my small community, but worldwide. I truly believe that API's work is helping to make the world a better place--right now and for generations to come.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Attachment Parenting International is one of the most compassionate positive parenting organizations out there. And then when I began volunteering, and now it's been 7 years of volunteering, API is all about working together as a community where everyone's talents are used and everyone's ideas are taken into account. While there is great leadership, it doesn't feel like a hierarchy-type organization -- everyone is encouraged to chime in and do what they can, and the leadership is really about leading by serving. I feel like I'm really making a difference in the world.
October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

API gave me the confidence to trust my instincts by providing access to quality resources and meaningful support. I was inspired to become an accredited leader so that I could offer other parents in my community an opportunity to join this wonderful community. API has given me the chance to make difference in the lives of families who believe, as I do, in the power of compassionate parenting. API is unique in the scope and quality of the research and evidence-based approaches they promote so that parents can fully invest in the relationship with their children as the profoundly important and impactful experience that it is. The mission of API is realized every day by the dedicated volunteers who work to spread its message of peace through parenting, and donors can be confident that donations go to making a tangible impact on the lives of families looking for support in their choices to respect, love, and respond with attentive empathy to their children. I am proud to volunteer with API and feel so grateful for this organization; it has truly changed my life and the lives of my family members who are the recipients of the qualities of patience and empathy that I have learned through API.
October 8, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with a local API support group since my first child was a year old, first as a parent coming to meetings and play groups and finding a peer group for me and my children. This brought me out of my isolation as a stay-at-home mother and provided many opportunities to give and receive support. My local group was a safe haven where I could parent the way that felt right to me and I knew that, even if the parents in the group didn't do everything the same way, we would all be respectful of each other's choices. API's Eight Parenting Principles provides a great structure to the group, focusing on the most important needs that children have, but leaving how to meet those needs up to the people who know those children the best - their parents. My two kids have grown into caring, responsible teenagers, and now I run my own API group. My involvement with API has given me great confidence, both as a parent and as a leader.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

Attachment Parenting International is responsible for my own empowerment as a father, It was through AP that I managed to find myself as an attached father and to nurture strong and secure attachment with my son. I couldn't be any more grateful than I am right now.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

When I was a new mom, I found an API meeting in my community. The first time I went, I knew I was in the right place. Every month I looked forward to attending meetings, and eventually we started a weekly playgroup as well. My family had finally found our tribe in a part of the country that otherwise had very different views to ours. When we left that city, I knew that API could offer the same opportunity of building a community in my new city, so I trained to become a leader with API and I am so happy to offer support to new parents--new parents who, just like me and my family, want to find their tribe.
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

API benefited me as a member for many years as a new parent before I decided to volunteer time to this great organization. They have been by my side through ups and downs and support me and enable to me help support others in my community and for that I am very thankful!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

API came to my rescue when my relationship with my teen-agers started to go sour. Their guidance and support and encouragement was invaluable in steering my husband and me through the murky waters of parenting adolescents. It's been five and a half years and those relationships have grown and blossomed and flourished beyond our expectations. We have teen-agers who we really like to be with and who really like to be with us! API was an indispensable resource that made that possible!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a support group chapter in every town, village, county and city in America!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

Parenting is a tough job! There are tons of "experts" and approaches out there that will tell you what you are doing wrong, and what you should do instead. It can create a lot of guilt & confusion. AP... more

October 24, 2013

I found API as a parent in search of support & community and was so touched by the organization I later trained to become a Group Leader!

In today's culture of cross-continental families, working parents, and "Mommy Wars" API is an invaluable resource for families. We ALL need support in
become the parents our heart's know we can be...the parents WE wish we had...the parents our kids DESERVE. API groups provide guidance, information, reassurance and COMMUNITY so that loving parents can find their groove & THRIVE.


I believe that APU is

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise money to hire actual "staff" instead of needing to rely on being run by volunteers :) API provides an invaluable service to parents & children worldwide... It is way to important to be run by people who squeeze time in AFTER their "real jobs"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

Parenting is a tough job! There are tons of "experts" and approaches out there that will tell you what you are doing wrong, and what you should do instead. It can create a lot of guilt & confusion. API strives to support parents in following their instincts, their HEARTS, and parenting in ways that come natural to them. I really appreciate the "guidelines, not rules/techniques" approach that API offers... And trains their international leaders to share with others. The online tools & resources they provide to parents are also top notch!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I am so forever grateful to API and the work they are doing. When my babies were born I was living far away from family and friends and relied on my instincts when it came to parenting. Thankfully, I was introduced to the words "attachment parenting" in "The Premature Baby Book" by Drs. and Martha Sears and even though I was glad (and relieved!) to learn that I was already an attachment parent, I wanted to know more. In my research to learn as much as I could about attachment parenting, I found Attachment Parenting International and "Attached at the Heart", an excellent book, written by Lysa Parker & Barbara Nicholson . Everything I read validated what I was already doing and what I knew and believed was the right ways of doing things for my babies. Being without much of a real life support system as a new parent, I found so much encouragement, had my instincts validated, and learned even more invaluable information (backed by scientific research), presented on both API's website and in the book. These resources were like a special gift to me, keeping me afloat during hard days when I doubted myself and my abilities. I now live in an area with an active API support group and have enjoyed the real life support, education, and especially the new friendships with like-minded parents. I hope to be able to help other parents discover attachment parenting so they can give their babies and children the absolute best starts possible. I am currently training to be an API co-leader for our local support group and I also serve as API's advertising manager. I truly feel that we can change the world for the better, starting at home with our families, and again, I'm forever grateful for API and how they have helped me grow and my children thrive. Thank you API!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write articles, edit, write grants, fundraise, moderate forums, help with membership, research, organize volunteers,... Volunteer