Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.842115
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
July 7, 2012

more

July 7, 2012

Bringing up our own children, I knew parenting was powerful, AND I sometimes felt overwhelmed with the constancy of it. Finding Attachment Parenting, I found not just the burgeoning research on our early years, but also translation of that research into "news I could use." It was a lifeline. Later, working with parents of babies with disabilities, and then with teen parents, API gave me mother-friendly explanations of everyday ways to help babies grow up emotionally healthy. API's information is my Rosetta Stone: my way to translate the language of developmental and brain research into ways to live sustainably. It's emotional ecology, starting with parenting, affecting the next seven generations. It's a way to "save the world" that works at a very deep level, in a lasting way.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 7, 2012

more

July 7, 2012

Attachment Parenting International has helped me heal myself from childhood wounds and create a healthier, happier present and future for my own children. The research and support they provide has bolstered me and my husband many times as we faced the challenges of parenthood. Following API's 8 Principles of Parenting gives us deep joy in the process, when other 'methods' and teachings bring disconnection and despair. We see the benefits for our young children already; they each have a heightened sense of empathy, and a secure sense of self. I wish all children could be parented this way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 1, 2012

more

July 1, 2012

API has been a wonderful resource for me and my local AP group, providing us with access to numerous articles, books, blog posts and more which give us valuable research-based information that supports what we are trying to accomplish as parents and helps enhance the lives of our families and community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

API has been a go-to resource for me as a new mother. The links they provide to research-based information allows me to parent my daughter in a way that I KNOW is best for both of us, with that knowledge based on current science and not on hearsay or out-dated opinions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

After having five babies, I thought I was an old pro and there was nothing that could surprise me. When I had my sixth child, that all went down the drain. Right away, we had feeding issues. My supply was very low and to top it off, my baby would pull away from me and cry. He was a very unhappy child and I was stumped. I was a member of the local LLL group, but having come from a close knit group in California, I was uncomfortable with the detached type feel of the group as were a couple of other moms. One gal started a local API group in our town...it was me and her for a long time! Following the guidelines of the group, we recovered. It turned out I had kidney disease and it was greatly affecting my supply. I learned to use a supplementor and he took to it after awhile. Most important, we discovered he was autistic and the touching, holding, etc. was indeed hurting him. Because of that one gal, and later, a couple of more, my little man, now 10, is the biggest cuddle bunny and so happy! He is attached in a significant way to us and to his siblings. API saved my child from a life without human touch...we didn't want him to hurt. I cannot say enough about API.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

I was first exposed to Attachment Parenting through the Dr. Sears book and I resolved to raise my kids this way which was at the opposite end of the spectrum of how I was raised. It has been a long road of self education and self discovery, but we are 10 years in Attachment Parenting, we have done the whole thing: carrying in a sling, cosleeping, extended breastfeeding, no corporate punishment, non-violent communication. There is no AP network where I live in Europe. I was so excited to hear about this group. The emails I get help me to continue being educated about AP parenting as my kids get bigger and we have to change how we AP parent but the spirit remains the same!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

This organization has helped me to pursue attachment parenting during and beyond the baby years. Since my children are now 3 and 7, API hs given me ideas how to maintain a healthy and happy relationship with my kids as they enter preschool and elementary school. This organization has also been a great resource for ideas about education and about taking care of myself and my own marriage. One book, recommended by API, was the "Mothers Guide to Self Renewal" by Trudeau. This book helped me to learn how to identify and fulfill my own needs as a woman. Thus, helping me to me be a healthier role model for my own children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

As a parent trying to find your way in a world where intentional, alternative and conscious parenting are not exactly supported or understood, API is a Godsend. It is a place where you can gain parenting tools to help you along the way, meet like-minded parents and feel utterly supported. Attachment Parenting can change the world, but it is not easy to parent this way....it's a lot of sacrifice and support from others is paramount.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

Attachment parenting international provides parents the tools and support to connect with their children and form healthy families. The articles on their website and in their newsletters provide insight and provoke thought regarding a range of family issues, from preparing for childbirth to feeding picky toddlers to keeping teenagers in touch with the family. I have not attended a local support meeting but hear they are a wonderful place to share ideas and make friends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

Attachment parenting international is such a great place to learn and has improved the life of my family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write articles, edit, write grants, fundraise, moderate forums, help with membership, research, organize volunteers,... Volunteer