Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.878385
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

API came to my rescue when my relationship with my teen-agers started to go sour. Their guidance and support and encouragement was invaluable in steering my husband and me through the murky waters of parenting adolescents. It's been five and a half years and those relationships have grown and blossomed and flourished beyond our expectations. We have teen-agers who we really like to be with and who really like to be with us! API was an indispensable resource that made that possible!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a support group chapter in every town, village, county and city in America!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

Parenting is a tough job! There are tons of "experts" and approaches out there that will tell you what you are doing wrong, and what you should do instead. It can create a lot of guilt & confusion. AP... more

October 24, 2013

I found API as a parent in search of support & community and was so touched by the organization I later trained to become a Group Leader!

In today's culture of cross-continental families, working parents, and "Mommy Wars" API is an invaluable resource for families. We ALL need support in
become the parents our heart's know we can be...the parents WE wish we had...the parents our kids DESERVE. API groups provide guidance, information, reassurance and COMMUNITY so that loving parents can find their groove & THRIVE.


I believe that APU is

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise money to hire actual "staff" instead of needing to rely on being run by volunteers :) API provides an invaluable service to parents & children worldwide... It is way to important to be run by people who squeeze time in AFTER their "real jobs"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

Parenting is a tough job! There are tons of "experts" and approaches out there that will tell you what you are doing wrong, and what you should do instead. It can create a lot of guilt & confusion. API strives to support parents in following their instincts, their HEARTS, and parenting in ways that come natural to them. I really appreciate the "guidelines, not rules/techniques" approach that API offers... And trains their international leaders to share with others. The online tools & resources they provide to parents are also top notch!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I am so forever grateful to API and the work they are doing. When my babies were born I was living far away from family and friends and relied on my instincts when it came to parenting. Thankfully, I was introduced to the words "attachment parenting" in "The Premature Baby Book" by Drs. and Martha Sears and even though I was glad (and relieved!) to learn that I was already an attachment parent, I wanted to know more. In my research to learn as much as I could about attachment parenting, I found Attachment Parenting International and "Attached at the Heart", an excellent book, written by Lysa Parker & Barbara Nicholson . Everything I read validated what I was already doing and what I knew and believed was the right ways of doing things for my babies. Being without much of a real life support system as a new parent, I found so much encouragement, had my instincts validated, and learned even more invaluable information (backed by scientific research), presented on both API's website and in the book. These resources were like a special gift to me, keeping me afloat during hard days when I doubted myself and my abilities. I now live in an area with an active API support group and have enjoyed the real life support, education, and especially the new friendships with like-minded parents. I hope to be able to help other parents discover attachment parenting so they can give their babies and children the absolute best starts possible. I am currently training to be an API co-leader for our local support group and I also serve as API's advertising manager. I truly feel that we can change the world for the better, starting at home with our families, and again, I'm forever grateful for API and how they have helped me grow and my children thrive. Thank you API!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Being a parent is the most challenging thing we will do in our lives. Unfortunately our children do not come with an owner's manual. There probably isn't a parent alive who has not at one time wondered if they were up to the job. API has helped me in countless ways to feel my way as I grow in my role as mom to my child. One of the things I most appreciate is having the reassurance from API that I am doing the right thing when I go against convention and choose to respond to my child from my inner knowing. I so appreciate knowing that there is a community of committed parents who choose a peaceful way to raise children. This community exists because of the excellent work of API to spread the message and support parents.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

16 years ago I and my 12 month old found ourselves at an Attachment Parenting support group that was associated with API. I was astounded that I had finally found my tribe. Since then I found their website and newsletters to be highly informative, and in more recent years I began writing for them myself on occasion. They are on top of every challenging issue that pops up in the media and I'm so glad as I sometimes feel the need to DO something about this or that but I'm secure that API is there!! with evidence-based information and advocacy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 12, 2012

Attachment Parenting International has been the compass of my parenting journey. I completely support their mission of encouraging healthy bonds and connection between parent and child. As my childr... more

November 4, 2012

This organization has a goal of helping parents nurture strong connections with their children by way of respect, empathy, joy, and trust. Attachment theory is based in science and supports us in listening to those instincts. API is the best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

Attachment Parenting International has been the compass of my parenting journey. I completely support their mission of encouraging healthy bonds and connection between parent and child. As my children grow, I can see the benefits of investing in my children, following my instincts, and parenting with joy. This organization changes the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Attachment parenting has helped me through my journey of parenting into a more peaceful and loving way. It has helped create a bond with my daughter I could never have had if I had done it differently. She is becoming confident and her own self which means a lot. I attribute this to Attachment Parenting International with the resouces they have provided through their website, their literature, and their support groups. I've been volunteering with API for almost 8 years because it is SO important for me to give back to an organization who gave to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

There are endless opinions and books on parenting, but this is the organization with documented research to back their parenting principles. API offers attachment parenting philosophy with a gentle hand, suitable for parents of teens as well as little ones. I find all of API's materials are based on a healthy respect for the needs of children and their parents.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Peace starts with parent-child relationships. Attachment Parenting International is a non profit organization run by dedicated mother and devoted to bring the family back together by meeting the baby, toddler and child’s needs fully the way nature has intended it.
Instead of
resisting and trying to tame the child’s inborn need to be held, slept with, breastfeed and touched, API support mothers and fathers in responding to the child’s true nature fully and peacefully. A child who grows up feeling that the world responds to her/his inner direction with love and ease, retains her/his human ability to love, care, be self-reliant, powerful and compassionate.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I've been involved with API as a volunteer for six years and find API to be unlike any other organization, nonprofit or business, I've ever encountered. The way it serves families empowers parents to do what's best for their families, giving the power back to parents to trust their intuition but also reinforcing this approach through solid research--there is no other organization that has the potential to impact children and their parents, communities, and indeed societies the way that API does. It not only offers mostly free or otherwise very low-cost support and education through publications, websites, teleseminars, discussion forums, and other online resources but also thru local accredited contacts and parent support groups -- so there's a face in your community as well as the plethora of online content available to you. Also, as far as a volunteer-run organization, API "walks like it talks," in that its approach to organization management mirrors the AP mindset. API's volunteers are treated like family--we're all in this together. The volunteers who gather together over the phone and through the Internet, because this is a virtual organization and we're all parents dedicated to the cause but who still need to make parenting our priority, truly believe in AP and its ability to change lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write articles, edit, write grants, fundraise, moderate forums, help with membership, research, organize volunteers,... Volunteer