Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.842115
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

There are endless opinions and books on parenting, but this is the organization with documented research to back their parenting principles. API offers attachment parenting philosophy with a gentle hand, suitable for parents of teens as well as little ones. I find all of API's materials are based on a healthy respect for the needs of children and their parents.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Peace starts with parent-child relationships. Attachment Parenting International is a non profit organization run by dedicated mother and devoted to bring the family back together by meeting the baby, toddler and child’s needs fully the way nature has intended it.
Instead of
resisting and trying to tame the child’s inborn need to be held, slept with, breastfeed and touched, API support mothers and fathers in responding to the child’s true nature fully and peacefully. A child who grows up feeling that the world responds to her/his inner direction with love and ease, retains her/his human ability to love, care, be self-reliant, powerful and compassionate.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I've been involved with API as a volunteer for six years and find API to be unlike any other organization, nonprofit or business, I've ever encountered. The way it serves families empowers parents to do what's best for their families, giving the power back to parents to trust their intuition but also reinforcing this approach through solid research--there is no other organization that has the potential to impact children and their parents, communities, and indeed societies the way that API does. It not only offers mostly free or otherwise very low-cost support and education through publications, websites, teleseminars, discussion forums, and other online resources but also thru local accredited contacts and parent support groups -- so there's a face in your community as well as the plethora of online content available to you. Also, as far as a volunteer-run organization, API "walks like it talks," in that its approach to organization management mirrors the AP mindset. API's volunteers are treated like family--we're all in this together. The volunteers who gather together over the phone and through the Internet, because this is a virtual organization and we're all parents dedicated to the cause but who still need to make parenting our priority, truly believe in AP and its ability to change lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Amazing group!! Very helpful leaders, wonderful support meetings, and a great way to network with other parents who parent in a similar fashion. Sound principles to guide us in creating loving and lasting relationships with our children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I have been fortunate to volunteer with API for six months now and let me tell you, I am so impressed with the dedication exhibited by the leaders and other volunteers. They are not only devoted to the ideals of attachment parenting, but to API as an organization as well. API serves the important role of educating the general public about attachment parenting, what it is and sometimes more importantly, what it isn't. In addition to education, API provides support and thought leadership to parents all over the world. The organization is almost 100% run by volunteers and yet produces high quality publications on a consistent and frequent basis. Parenting is a darn tough job and one that can be lonely at times, especially when you are raising your children in a way that others may find nontraditional to current standards and even a bit odd. API serves as a meeting place that always leaves a light on for these passionate parents.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

API is an organisation with potential to change the world, I know they have changed my world. When my first child was born I was a college educated woman with a degree in psychology yet I felt lost and uncertain what was best for my child, I followed my instincts mostly. Now that I have found the API my second child has the benefits of my feeling secure in my choices and instincts and the excitement that I may make a contribution to world peace by being a mom and an API practitioner..

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

The area of attachment parenting is a quickly growing parenting "trend" propelled forward by a collective desire to grow. API is a great support to parents like myself who feel like we are parenting "against the grain" but fully feel that we are parenting by heart. Our children are the most important investment we can make for the world. I am happy to have a place to turn when I feel like an alien in a world of disconnected parenting.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

When my first son was born I was overwhelmed with nurturing instincts that I did not expect and that were not supported in the mainstream culture. I knew these methods were what my son needed, but I didn't have a name for them and I couldn't fully explain why they felt right as a mother. Attachment Parenting International was the first forum I found that explained with solid information the practices that can raise a happy, empathetic child. I do still believe the world can be a more peaceful place and I believe it begins with raising our children with peace. Thank you API!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

API has been a gift in my life, not only have I made friends, and a support system that has surrounded me, and helped make my parenting journey so much easier, and enjoyable, but I have been able to keep up my professional journey through my volunteer service. API allows me to keep my focus right where I want it on my kids while I stay at home. And I get to keep my skills sharp and continue to travel on my professional path. Making sure I will always have a fresh resume with relevant experience for when I am ready to return to the work world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my personal parenting journey. The support and information has been invaluable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the staff so that projects could be given the time and attention needed to grow as fast as the needs of the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've met many friends, and confidants. And I believe I am a better parent because of the volunteer work I do with API.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful, Satisfied, Useful, Needed, Respected, Happy

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

If people would follow the philosphy of attachment parenting as advocated by API, we could actually begin to produce generations of children that become exceptional grown-ups.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write articles, edit, write grants, fundraise, moderate forums, help with membership, research, organize volunteers,... Volunteer