Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.842115
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Attachment Parenting International is one of my to go sources for parenting guidance. :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I use the information they post and publish both personally with my own kid and with clients as a Marriage & Family Therapist. I recommend them to other parents regularly as well as sharing the info I get from them with my colleagues.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

API benefited me as a member for many years as a new parent before I decided to volunteer time to this great organization. They have been by my side through ups and downs and support me and enable to me help support others in my community and for that I am very thankful!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

API came to my rescue when my relationship with my teen-agers started to go sour. Their guidance and support and encouragement was invaluable in steering my husband and me through the murky waters of parenting adolescents. It's been five and a half years and those relationships have grown and blossomed and flourished beyond our expectations. We have teen-agers who we really like to be with and who really like to be with us! API was an indispensable resource that made that possible!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a support group chapter in every town, village, county and city in America!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

Parenting is a tough job! There are tons of "experts" and approaches out there that will tell you what you are doing wrong, and what you should do instead. It can create a lot of guilt & confusion. AP... more

October 24, 2013

I found API as a parent in search of support & community and was so touched by the organization I later trained to become a Group Leader!

In today's culture of cross-continental families, working parents, and "Mommy Wars" API is an invaluable resource for families. We ALL need support in
become the parents our heart's know we can be...the parents WE wish we had...the parents our kids DESERVE. API groups provide guidance, information, reassurance and COMMUNITY so that loving parents can find their groove & THRIVE.


I believe that APU is

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise money to hire actual "staff" instead of needing to rely on being run by volunteers :) API provides an invaluable service to parents & children worldwide... It is way to important to be run by people who squeeze time in AFTER their "real jobs"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

Parenting is a tough job! There are tons of "experts" and approaches out there that will tell you what you are doing wrong, and what you should do instead. It can create a lot of guilt & confusion. API strives to support parents in following their instincts, their HEARTS, and parenting in ways that come natural to them. I really appreciate the "guidelines, not rules/techniques" approach that API offers... And trains their international leaders to share with others. The online tools & resources they provide to parents are also top notch!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I am so forever grateful to API and the work they are doing. When my babies were born I was living far away from family and friends and relied on my instincts when it came to parenting. Thankfully, I was introduced to the words "attachment parenting" in "The Premature Baby Book" by Drs. and Martha Sears and even though I was glad (and relieved!) to learn that I was already an attachment parent, I wanted to know more. In my research to learn as much as I could about attachment parenting, I found Attachment Parenting International and "Attached at the Heart", an excellent book, written by Lysa Parker & Barbara Nicholson . Everything I read validated what I was already doing and what I knew and believed was the right ways of doing things for my babies. Being without much of a real life support system as a new parent, I found so much encouragement, had my instincts validated, and learned even more invaluable information (backed by scientific research), presented on both API's website and in the book. These resources were like a special gift to me, keeping me afloat during hard days when I doubted myself and my abilities. I now live in an area with an active API support group and have enjoyed the real life support, education, and especially the new friendships with like-minded parents. I hope to be able to help other parents discover attachment parenting so they can give their babies and children the absolute best starts possible. I am currently training to be an API co-leader for our local support group and I also serve as API's advertising manager. I truly feel that we can change the world for the better, starting at home with our families, and again, I'm forever grateful for API and how they have helped me grow and my children thrive. Thank you API!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Being a parent is the most challenging thing we will do in our lives. Unfortunately our children do not come with an owner's manual. There probably isn't a parent alive who has not at one time wondered if they were up to the job. API has helped me in countless ways to feel my way as I grow in my role as mom to my child. One of the things I most appreciate is having the reassurance from API that I am doing the right thing when I go against convention and choose to respond to my child from my inner knowing. I so appreciate knowing that there is a community of committed parents who choose a peaceful way to raise children. This community exists because of the excellent work of API to spread the message and support parents.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

16 years ago I and my 12 month old found ourselves at an Attachment Parenting support group that was associated with API. I was astounded that I had finally found my tribe. Since then I found their website and newsletters to be highly informative, and in more recent years I began writing for them myself on occasion. They are on top of every challenging issue that pops up in the media and I'm so glad as I sometimes feel the need to DO something about this or that but I'm secure that API is there!! with evidence-based information and advocacy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 12, 2012

Attachment Parenting International has been the compass of my parenting journey. I completely support their mission of encouraging healthy bonds and connection between parent and child. As my childr... more

November 4, 2012

This organization has a goal of helping parents nurture strong connections with their children by way of respect, empathy, joy, and trust. Attachment theory is based in science and supports us in listening to those instincts. API is the best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

Attachment Parenting International has been the compass of my parenting journey. I completely support their mission of encouraging healthy bonds and connection between parent and child. As my children grow, I can see the benefits of investing in my children, following my instincts, and parenting with joy. This organization changes the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Attachment parenting has helped me through my journey of parenting into a more peaceful and loving way. It has helped create a bond with my daughter I could never have had if I had done it differently. She is becoming confident and her own self which means a lot. I attribute this to Attachment Parenting International with the resouces they have provided through their website, their literature, and their support groups. I've been volunteering with API for almost 8 years because it is SO important for me to give back to an organization who gave to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write articles, edit, write grants, fundraise, moderate forums, help with membership, research, organize volunteers,... Volunteer