Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.878385
Write A Review
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

API has been a wonderful source of support in my parenting journey. It is a non judge mental truly caring venue to get advice on topics such as cosleeping, extended nursing, positive discipline, etc. I am constantly finding myself reaching out to this group when I have a question about something my children are doing and I need help with. I could not imagine what it would have been like if I had not found this group 3 years ago!
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

My experience with API is that it has been a wonderful source of support and inspiration to me since I began my parenting journey almost 10 years ago. The leaders of our group have been nothing but inviting and warm and provide great resources with science-backed information. I trust the board members, and know that this non-profit is sincere and legit, paving the way for gentler, more informed parenting.
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

I have been involved with API for many years. My local group was an invaluable source of support when I was a new mom, as I learned to follow my instincts and parent in a connected and compassionate way. When I saw how much the group was needed in our community, I became an API support group leader, and eventually started volunteering with the international organization as well. API serves an absolutely vital role in parent education and support, and has done so much good not only in my small community, but worldwide. I truly believe that API's work is helping to make the world a better place--right now and for generations to come.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

API Inc. has been invaluable to me. I would not be half the mother I am today were it not for the API listserv I belong to, moderated by API leaders.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Hello,

we are a family from Barcelona, Spain. We recently moved to Brooklyn and one of the most helpful and warm family group that we met was the API support group. The families and Volunteers involved are very generous and respectful with all the people that comes to them to receive
advise related to practical things. No matter if you are asking for big or small questions, you always receive support and information with the potencial of making big and positive changes on a family life.

I recommend 100% this non-profit because is very human and useful for families of different ages.

Warmly

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Attachment Parenting International is one of the most compassionate positive parenting organizations out there. And then when I began volunteering, and now it's been 7 years of volunteering, API is all about working together as a community where everyone's talents are used and everyone's ideas are taken into account. While there is great leadership, it doesn't feel like a hierarchy-type organization -- everyone is encouraged to chime in and do what they can, and the leadership is really about leading by serving. I feel like I'm really making a difference in the world.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

It is awesome to be able to connect with other AP parents. Thank you to all who make it possible.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Even after four kids (and sometimes especially after four kids) I turn to API for advice, ideas, inspiration, and commiseration. They give strength not to cave to the awful advice that pummels parents from all directions. There is another way, a path less traveled, and API is the one there placing trail markers. Thank you!
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I have been a part of my local API support group since right around the time my first child was born. That group has been a lifeline for me, and I am so grateful to have had the support and resources of API available to me right from the start as I was making decisions on how best to care for my brand new baby. Prior to having my own child, I had little experience with kids and mostly only knew that I wanted to bring up my child in a gentle, nurturing way that helped my son thrive, and I knew that I needed to do things differently from how I was raised in order to ensure that my kids felt loved and secure about who they are rather than fearful and people-pleasing. API gave me the support and knowledge I needed to feel confident navigating new territory starting with the newborn phase, and ever since, any time I have needed help as my kids have gotten older, I still find that the API group support is my absolute most helpful resource of all, reminding me not only of the research and groundbreaking work of attachment parenting experts around the world when I've needed it, but also giving me practical, hands-on advice on complex issues I've faced with my kids all the way up to school-age and allowing me to give back to other parents facing similar issues. I am so grateful for the work API does and I support them 1,000%. Our kids need more love and compassion from parents and caregivers, and API is changing the world. It certainly changed mine, and my family is so much the better for it.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

When I had my baby it was towards the close of a very tumultuous period in my life. I did not have a lot of good advice coming to me. Most people I knew espoused ways of childrearing that did not include baby-wearing or even breast feeding, but I knew these things were best for children and I practiced them. After a particularly difficult holiday season I returned home depleted emotionally after being challenged repeatedly for keeping my baby so close [she was 5 mos.]
I finally went online and searched for meaningful commentary to validate my choices and that is when I found API-NYC, an online group where parents discussed childrearing.
Over the past 6.5 years my family has thrived because of the intelligent and compassionate support of other parents who are also part of the Attachment Parenting community. I have been able to make decisions about good nutrition because I am constantly updated about new resources, I am able to navigate developmental stages with with grace and humor because I can discuss parenting with other parents who also choose to honor the whole child.
My daughter enjoys a happy home that has her best interests at heart. She is supported in her choices and she thrives physically and emotionally. Our family has benefited from learning about non-violent communication, as well as a variety of consumer products, from child-supplements to probiotics to magnesium baths that can help to fortify and calm. I have learned about a variety of educational resources to empower my daughter's learning and more than anything I have found support as a woman, as a mother and as a sensitive person.
I have found my "tribe."
I do not know how I would have found so much success in my life without API-NYC. It gave me a ladder and my whole family has climbed.
API-NYC helped me give my daughter the rich life she deserves.
Veronica M.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write articles, edit, write grants, fundraise, moderate forums, help with membership, research, organize volunteers,... Volunteer