Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have been extremely impressed with this organization since my son, who is a junior in HS, joined it a few months ago. This organization is very serious about their program and very well organized. They spend quite a bit of time finding well-rounded HS athletes and do an excellent job of matching them with a buddy. My son truly enjoys spending time w/ his buddy who has practically become another member of our family. Being a mentor brings a very different perspective to these young athletes and an unforgettable life experience for everyone involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

My son is a volunteer/mentor with AFK. I am impressed with the organization and ideals. It is a great way for HS athletes to help kids and do what they enjoy. My son has attended his buddy's soccer games and helped to build confidence. It is rewarding to see my son find time in his busy week to go play with his "buddy". There are newsletters and trainings along with planned service projects for the mentors in the community. It is a fantastic organization for HS students to be involved in.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

An amazing organization that makes a difference in so many lives. My two daughters have benefited in so many ways from their time as mentors with Athletes for Kids. I know the kids and families they've mentored have found the experience to be valuable as well. We're very lucky to have this organization in our community providing an opportunity for kids of every ability to make friends and learn from each other.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

My son is a volunteer/mentor in the program. He has been paired with a child who has Asperger syndrome, a form of autism. He visits with this child for a couple hours every week to help him with schoolwork or just hang out and have fun. My son is a senior in high school and as part of an essay on a college application he wrote this about his experience: "After five months of being his mentor, I now consider (the child) my good friend. He really looks up to me, and I never thought I would have such a big impact on him. His mother told me he really enjoys my visits and is very glad we got matched together. (The child) and I have really connected and this has been one of the most rewarding experiences in my life." I thank Athletes for Kids for establishing this wonderful charity, and for enabling my son to make a difference in someone else's life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers