Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Write A Review
October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I have worked in the field of eating disorders since 1984, with APTED in the Bay Area since 1985. I have watched this group grow from a small, ardent group of eating disorder specialists to a large and active group, committed to offering training and networking opportunities to professionals, support and referrals to professionals of other disciplines or other geographical areas, as well as support,
referrals, and/or direct service to those in recovery from eating disorders, as well as to their friends and/or family members. APTED is my "go to" group to find the right fit for the services or connections I need.

From a little hand book of resources, APTED now has a website of current listings of upcoming
trainings and CEU presentations and conferences, as well as ways for eating disorder sufferers and their families to find the specialist services they are seeking. More recently, they have added a much-needed low-fee clinic, which sees clients for sliding scale fees, and is staffed by clinicians in training. Training opportunities specifically for eating disorder treatment are limited and highly sought out.

APTED remains an ardent group of eating disrder specialists and has stayed the course in their commitment to both supporting professionals in their work, and eating disorder sufferers in their recovery. As a long standing professional in this field, I am impressed by, indebted to and grateful for this organization.

Nan Shaw LCSW

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

As an eating disorders specialist I am so grateful for this site. It has helped so many people suffering from eating disorders find help. In addition, it has helped me be able to confidently make referrals to other eating disorder specialists in the Bay Area knowing that these providers have an expertise in the field.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

The Association of Professionals Treating eating Disorders provides the much needed service of low fee therapy, nutrition, and groups specializing in eating disorders in the bay area. Dr Brenner Liss has been working tirelessly for decades to train clinicians, educate other providers of APTED's services, and facilitate groups, individual sessions, consultations, conferences, and trainings! I personally was supervised by her for six years and benefited greatly from her wisdom and expertise. I know the clients that i served were directly impacted by her compassion and decades of clinical experience. This nonprofit is especially needed for clients struggling with eating disorders that do not have insurance or need sliding scale therapy specializing in eating disorder recovery.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funding (Grants)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

Outstanding compiler of information about eating disorders trainings, research, opportunities, events, advocacy and more--for a diverse community of providers throughout a wide geographic area. Indispensable builder of community to serve the professionals working t6o relive the cinning ang painful complexities of eating disordewrs and related issues.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

APTED serves the Community related to ED to a high degree and with a high level of compassion and comittment. The dedication of the leader and professionals at APTED is imcredible. I feel fortunate to be connected to this amazing group.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

APTED provides a much needed resource for the treatment of eating disorders as well as the training of professionals. I am continually grateful for the training I received through APTED as well as grateful for the ability to refer people to APTED's low fee clinic for individual therapy or group therapy. At a time when so many people cannot afford the eating disorder specific care they need, APTED provides the specialty care to help them find the road to recovery.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

APTED desperately needs more funding to be able to continue the excellent services it provides.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

Working at the APTED low-fee clinic has been a terrific learning experience as well as a powerful networking tool. Thank you Deborah!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help APTED gain more exposure to reach more people suffering from eating disorders.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

APTED is my go to source for resources for clients and trainings for professionals. They consistently keep us "in the know" regarding upcoming events and happenings and keep our clients connected to resources. We are so grateful for what they do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

As a professional working at an eating disorder treatment program, I have time and again been grateful for the ability to refer clients to APTED. They offer a variety of individual, group and nutrition therapy that I will recommend to clients who are unable to afford or are not ready for a more intensive program. As clients prepare for discharge from our program, APTED is always on my list of referrals as a way to provide a very accesible source of support in their continued recovery work. I am also very impressed by the training and consultation provided to their pre-licensed clinicians. it is obvious that APTED has been built on a foundation of genuine dedication to the treatment and recovery from eating disorders and it is carried through with each member of their team.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

For several years, I have watched how hard the folks over at APTED are working, they work in a field with little support and help clients who otherwise would not receive services. The agency provides direct care services, groups to clients along with training & supervision for new clinicians. Deborah gives selflessly to make sure things run as smoothly as possible. As a doctoral student, I had the opportunity to assist with the APTED Conference last year & the exposure to others in the field was invaluable. I hope to watch and support APTED with it's continue growth, I can't think of people who deserve it more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers