Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

APHE is a wonderful organization and I can not say enough good things about them. I am a member of the organization and everyone involved is incredibly kind and always willing to assist others in the field or interested in getting involved in the field. They have incredible resources for humane educators and their annual conference is a great place for networking, learning practical skills, and being inspired to make a difference in the world. Thank you APHE!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

say nothing. The organization is great and the only change that I hope for is that more people know about APHE and join!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

APHE has great resources available and has become the go-to place for humane education programs. There are always interesting and helpful resources being shared on the members-only list serve. I have made many friends through this organization and highly recommend it to everyone who wants to promote humane attitudes in their communities!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

APHE is a wonderful organization that promotes humane education. It provides numerous networking opportunities for individuals and organizations in the field of humane education. APHE sponsors a national conference and has a very active listserv.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

APHE has been a lifesaver for me! When I started in the world of Humane Education, I wasn't really sure what I was doing. APHE helped me to develop an amazing program that serves over 6000 kids each year. My program would not be what is today without the guidance of APHE. As a board member, I am so proud of all the amazing members we have and the change we are having on the world!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

My name is Carol Everett. In 2002 I was fortunate enough to be offered the best job of my life as a Humane Educator at Kauai Humane Society. This was a brand new department with nothing and starting from scratch. We have limited resources to choose from on our small island in the Pacific. There is so much out there online of ways to teach children about kindness, respect and responsibility towards animals, the environment and each other but it is difficult and time consuming to find effective ways to get your lesson across to students.

The Association of Professional Humane Educators (APHE) is responsible for 90% of the success of Kauai’s Humane Education Department! We see between 3000 to 4000 children yearly since 2003mon half time salary. We offer successful camps, clubs, contests, classroom visits, Paws to Read to assist with scholastics and our students even help train shelter dogs. Most of the successes and creative ideas have come from APHE's networking opportinities! Time is money and in a non-profit setting it is especially important. They have saved our department thousands of hours of time which in turn saves us money. Creative, effective lesson plans on a shoe string budget are shared daily. APHE offers direct assistance to specific problems and ideas and I don’t know what we would do without their support!

Simply stated, the children on Kauai are directly benefiting from all the generous members of APHE willing to share their ideas, successes and failures.

Mahalo nui loa (Thank you from the heart) to APHE! We are truly grateful to them.

With gratitude to APHE,

Carol Everett, CHES
Kauai Humane Society
P. O. Box 3330
Lihue, HI 96766
carol-everett@hotmail.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I was a member of APHE for several years before becoming a board member. This organization is made up some of the nicest and supportive people you will ever meet! Many humane educators work alone and APHE connects them with others doing similar work in different parts of the United States, Canada and abroad. Humane educators might focus on issues related to companion animals, wildlife, the environment and/or interpersonal relationships. Regardless of the focus, teaching empathy through education is the goal. I am very proud to serve as a volunteer board member for such a worthy cause - it's a fantastic group!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...increase its donor base so that member services could continue to be expanded while maintaining affordable membership fees.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

As a board member for APHE, I am proud of how we provide networking opportunities and resources to our members. Connecting humane educators with each other is very important and our members seem to truly value these opportunities.

As an APHE member, I also benefit from the services
provided. Being able to connect with others in the field from all over the country and even the world, is so valuable! We all can be so much more effective when we share our ideas, activities, challenges, and more with each other and APHE provides the venue to be able to do that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I learned about APHE because I am a publisher of children's books about animal issues, and I have sought out organizations that help children to learn about the human-animal bond and about their responsibilities towards animals. I went to one of their meetings, and I was thrilled by their enthusiasm for their work, the programs they run from shelters and in schools. These are dedicated professionals who do so much with a relatively limited budget yet manage to inspire their members as well as to provide them with guidance and programming. APHE is stellar.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

APHE is a wonderful organization that catapulted my career to a level that did not know was possible before. The networking and resources shared through APHE have made a lasting difference in my work, which is then passed on to the thousands of children I reach through my programs each year. My favorite part of APHE is that is it a group of well minded people working together to make a difference for the greater good. It fosters a safe space where ideas can be challenged and change occurs. While having a career in Humane Education may be rare, the interest in the work that humane educators do is wide spread and APHE is the organization that binds our work together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

GIve APHE more resources to be able to better market and reach more educators so they can share their resources more broadly.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I am one of the educators who conducts programs for children. I have really enjoyed networking with my fellow educators and getting their ideas and assistance when I have had a question about what to present or how to present it. It is a wonderful organization, and I am sure it is as beneficial to children all over the country as it is to the children in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania.

Steven Conway

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers