Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

When I was ready to adopt my next dog, I turned to the internet and conducted hours of research. I knew I wanted a German Shepherd and I knew I wanted to adopt through a rescue organization rather than contribute to the pet overpopulation problem by purchasing from a breeder.

But it was
harder than I expected to find adequate information about available dogs. Many rescues include too little information about a dog and poor or no photos, which made it very hard to learn if a particular dog would be suited to my lifestyle and if I could meet its needs, as well.

But the website at GSROC was full of complete descriptions about each dog, its needs, health, temperament, and back story, not to mention the basic facts like gender and age. The photos of all the dogs were so well done and clear it made it easy to determine which dogs could possibly be a good fit for me.

One thing that really sets apart the GSROC website from the others was how honest each description and photo was. Some rescues misrepresent a dog’s age, behavior, or medical conditions; but GSROC told the truth about the dogs I was considering. This way, as a prospective adopter, I knew exactly what I was signing up for and was able to assess if I was truly ready to provide a loving, permanent home to a needy dog. If you think about it, no one is served – not dog or adopter – if the placement isn’t successful or fulfilling for everyone involved, so I was quite impressed at how much good and bad information the volunteers of GSROC shared about each dog.

Beyond their excellent website, the volunteers at GSROC were extraordinarily supportive in assisting me in the adoption process. They explained the various steps in adoption, including the home visit to help create a safe environment for the dogs I was considering. They were like my own personal experts on staff! It was obvious how much all of these volunteers cared about the dogs in their rescue and about making sure I was the best home possible for one of these deserving, noble dogs. They also offered training, reading, and vet references so that I would have the best chances of creating a happy and peaceful home for my dogs.

Ultimately, I fell deeply in love with two dogs: one had the saddest, sweetest eyes, the other had been injured in a car accident, and both really needed a happy ending (so did I). It’s been more than 6 years since my “kids” have been with me and we are all one closely bonded, healthy, and happy family.

You can be sure that when the day comes that I am ready to add another dog to my pack, the only place I’ll turn is GSROC.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

My husband and I have adopted numerous dogs over the years from the German Shepherd Rescue of Orange County. Each one has had a different personality, but we've loved them all for the joy they bring us. We can't thank GSROC enough for being there to save these wonderful pets from their previous life so that we can share the rest of their lives with them. Our most recent adoption involved a Belgian Malinois that had been hit by a car and left to die. Mercifully, GSROC was able to pick her up and pay to have her broken hips and leg repaired. She is a complete sweetie, only one year old. It's just amazing how many pets (over 400 each year) are helped by GSROC to get well and/or find a new forever home. Thank you GSROC!!
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

I can't give enough praise about this organization. Their goal is to rescue dogs in need and help find their forever home. An easy concept but GSROC does an excellent job at it, are well organized, very caring about all animals and very helpful in adopting a dog.So if you are thinking about adopting a rescue dog check out GSROC's website or give them a call. Thanks to them I adopted a 1 year old black female GSD about 5 years ago and she has grow to be one of the most lovable dogs that you have ever met. Thanks GSROC!!
June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

I adopted my German Shepherd from this rescue. I found that throughout the adoption process, the people at the rescue really care about the dog. They made sure that my wife and I were a good match for the dog. They talked extensively with us, and came and inspected our house and offered advice on how to make the house dog friendly.

Since then, I have been keeping in touch, and the more I keep in touch, the more I find that the people who volunteer for this organization are genuine in their care for the dogs that they rescue.

I recently went to a bake sale that they offered nearby to raise money for the dogs. Although it has been over 6 months since we adopted our dog, all of the volunteers remembered our dog and wanted to say hi and pet him. They all asked how the dog is doing, and genuinely cared about the well being of our dog.

I go to their website often to keep up on other dogs that have been rescued and placed in their "forever homes", and other dogs that are still waiting. It's truly amazing the amount of work that this rescue gets done for these dogs in need. Thank you very much GSROC for everything that you guys do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 13, 2013

more

November 13, 2013

I have adopted two dogs from GSROC, and I have nothing but glowing praise for this organization. They are caring, professional and a class act all the way. Their volunteers do a thorough job of screening both dogs and potential adopters, and place dogs only with suitable individuals or families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 21, 2012

I adopted a dog from German Shepherd Rescue of Orange County in 2009. I had such a good experience that I became a volunteer in 2010. First, I was a recipient of the dedication and commitment that thi... more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I adopted a dog from this organization several years ago and was so impressed and happy with my experience that I soon became a volunteer. They really do right by the dogs they bring in to the rescue., they get veterinary care, heathy food and volunteers get the dogs out for walks several days a week. They carefully place each dog in a home where it will become a member of the family. They rescue senior animals as well as puppies. The dogs go to obedience classes with a volunteer and every weekend dogs are brought out to a meet and greet at a local pet store. A group that really strives to carry out its mission of helping animals in need.
P.S. just adopted my 2nd dog from them a few months ago!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have even more volunteers

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 21, 2012

I adopted a dog from German Shepherd Rescue of Orange County in 2009. I had such a good experience that I became a volunteer in 2010. First, I was a recipient of the dedication and commitment that this organization demonstrates every day with every dog and every adoption. Now I help carry out these same values. GSROC is a wonderful place to adopt the right dog AND has been such a rewarding place for me to invest my time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I adopted my German Shepherd pup from this organization. I have the most amazing dog. I couldn't imagine life without him. German Shepherd Rescue takes such amazing care of their babies. They care and love for their babies so much that I had to become a volunteer for them. This is an amazing organization! Thank you German Shepherd Rescue for caring so much for you fur-babies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely none.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I absolutely LOVE this organization!! I first learned of Association of German Shepherd Rescuers Inc in 2012 through Facebook. I started volunteering for the group in March of 2013 and I became a foster failure first in July and again in September 2013! I am honored to be a part of this amazing organization and even more honored to say that I have adopted from them twice now! The adoption counselors were amazing to work with on the selection and placement of my first rescue, Misty. I had just lost my 3 year old shepherd suddenly and unexpectantly. The love and support that I received from the entire group was beyond incredible. They helped me effortlessly and compassionately find the perfect dog to fill the void in my home. The process was so easy and quick although thorough at the same time. As a volunteer and an adopter of Association of German Shepherd Rescuers Inc., I can honestly say that this is a terrific organization that has wonderful dogs and provides the best care and treatment to its dogs. All of the dogs are vaccinated, micro-chipped, altered and in good health prior to being adopted out. They do home visits and get to know the applicants that are interested in adopting their dogs. They truly love and care for each and every dog in their care from the time they come into the rescue to the time they are adopted and beyond. I am very proud to be a part of the Association of German Shepherd Rescuers Inc family!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None! They do the very best that they can within the financial limits they have!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I'm a volunteer at a California County Animal Shelter. Because shelters like ours have to take in all the stray and unwanted pets within the county boundaries, overcrowding can and does happen. To avoid pets being put to sleep to create needed kennel space, we look to rescue organizations for help.

Association of German Shepherd Rescuers, Inc has rescued many homeless shepherds. Many of these shepherds came to our shelter in poor condition. AGSR rescued them, got them healthy and have found them loving homes



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change the organization. I would wish to change our society -- more adopters who make a lifelong commitment to their pets.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2012

more

January 23, 2012

10 years ago we adopted our first shepherd, Molly, from GSROC. She recently passed away, but was the reason why I started volunteering with this awesome, dedicated, tireless group of people. I am proud to be part of this fantastic organization who rehomed over 400 beautiful dogs in 2011. Some of the "before" pictures of our dogs are almost too horrible to look at, but with love and devotion, these abused, neglected and thrown away animals are transformed into healthy, beautiful creatures that find love with their "furever families." We are now enjoying our second adoptee, Midas (in the picture). Thanks GSROC for keeping him safe until he found us :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers