Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

This organization is staffed completely by volunteers. They do everything from driving over 100 miles (one way) to rescue a dog from an unsafe situation to cooking homemade meals for dogs whose stomachs are so damaged from their mistreatment they can't handle "regular" dog food.

Each of
the 4 volunteers who regularly cook for the dogs makes about 13 pounds of chicken and rice per week, with the money for most of the groceries coming from their own pockets. There are others who bathe dogs every Friday in anticipation of the many events where the dogs will be shown to potential adopters (or donors). The cooking is hot work (especially in these summer months) and the bathing is hard, back breaking work. Without these kind souls, the dogs would be malnourished and uncomfortable and their chances of finding forever homes would be greatly reduced.

Other volunteers drive to the main facility one or more days a week to make sure that as many dogs as possible will get walks and time to socialize with "the world." The walks not only help the dogs get much needed exercise; they help the volunteer staff get to know the personalities of the dogs better which helps place them in the right home ... so they can STAY home once a match is found.
October 12, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2013

I became a volunteer for this organization after I adopted my first German shepherd from them. He had been in a boarding kennel located a great distance from my home. Someone had driven all that way... more

October 12, 2014

I’ve volunteered with GSROC since adopting my first [amazing!] dog from them. Since then, I’ve fostered two puppies, both of whom became foster failures. The dedication of their volunteers is astounding and inspiring. These good people give up their weekends to bring dogs to adoption events, even when it means spending many hours in blistering heat. Or rain. Or cold. They’re willing to drive to distant shelters to save dogs who will otherwise perish. Many of the dogs they take in are the ones in greatest need - the ones who require expensive medical treatment and the ones who will take extra time, patience, and love to recover from their sad, often horrific, pasts. GSROC never gives up on anyone. For dogs lucky enough to end up in this safe haven, bright futures lay ahead.
October 18, 2013

I became a volunteer for this organization after I adopted my first German shepherd from them. He had been in a boarding kennel located a great distance from my home. Someone had driven all that way to bring him to an adoption event in Orange County because he had a chance at finding a home that day. I was so impressed and deeply moved by these people’s passion and dedication.

Our volunteers have saved terrorized dogs dodging cars on freeways, regularly pull dogs slated for euthanasia at our many overcrowded shelters here in Southern California, and take in dogs who simply have nowhere else to go. We find homes for approximately 400 dogs per year.

Running a large and multi-faceted rescue requires more than just passion and dedication. It also requires organization, professionalism and efficiency. We have that in our director, Maria Dales. A former business executive, she sets very high standards in every aspect of the rescue.

Our animals receive good medical care, training, and whatever else is necessary to ready them for adoption. GSROC maintains rigorous standards for potential adopters, and we work very hard to make good matches between our dogs and adopters to ensure permanent placements. Fundraising to make all of this possible is never ending, and the number, variety and originality of our fundraisers is very impressive.

GSROC is the probably the best run and most successful rescue in our state, and quite possibly, the nation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take in more dogs and transport them to other rescues around the country where they have far fewer dogs for adoption.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have had multiple positive experiences with the GSROC. I first found them online when I found a German Shepherd collapsed on the side of the road. I thought it was almost dead, and took it to the local Animal Shelter for euthanasia. However, I found out that the reason the dog was in such bad condition was not from a fatal diagnosis, but rather from a skin infection which impacted his ears - and his balance. The dog looked and smelled like death. I cannot tell you how bad a situation this dog was in. Once I found out that the dog could be saved, I started to contact rescue groups... and the ONLY ONE to step forward and agree to help was the German Shepherd Rescue of Orange County! I brought them the dog from the shelter, and to my amazement - they saw to his care and healing. The "before" and "after" pictures are shocking. I named him "Denver" and he was adopted to a loving forever home. This rescue doesn't just take easy to adopt, cute puppies - but takes sick and injured dogs like Denver too. After that, I decided to be a volunteer for life! I have done home visits and transports, I have collected items for donation for yard sales to raise funds, contacted businesses for donations, in addition to fostering special needs dogs. This group is amazing!!
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2013

I feel proud to be among the 100+ volunteers who comprise this all star team. This organization provides the finest quality vet care available to dogs that have been abandoned, abused, neglected and ... more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is fueled by the most amazing volunteers to be found in any non-profit arena. Their dedication and drive to be the best ensures that more than 400 German Shepherds find phenomenal homes every year. Volunteers foster dogs in their own homes, they raise funds to support veterinary care, the hold bake sales, they walk and bathe the dogs that are eagerly awaiting adoption, and on and on. The group pays special attention to injured and ill shepherds that would otherwise perish in public shelters. I couldn't be more proud to be affiliated with these incredibly compassionate individuals.
October 16, 2013

I feel proud to be among the 100+ volunteers who comprise this all star team. This organization provides the finest quality vet care available to dogs that have been abandoned, abused, neglected and all but forgotten. As a result of the all-volunteer effort, more than 400 beautiful dogs find loving, permanent families each year. The organization does not 'cherry pick' dogs to rescue, but rather strives to assist those shepherds with the greatest needs. We set the highest standards for ourselves and for our adopting families to ensure that each dog is assured life-long love and good care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Most of the changes that I would like to make depend upon financial underwriting. I would like to be able to advertise and promote the dogs to a wider audience of prospective adopters and potential donors. As hard as it is to believe, many people are still not aware of how many wonderful, loving, good-tempered dogs are available through rescue organizations, and I would like to make the public more aware.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

So this may be a biased review. I have fostered for this rescue for just over a year now. We have fostered close to 40 puppies in that time. These pups have all had the best of care and placed in the best homes. We have never wanted for anything for these babies. This is a fantastic rescue organization. We have also had the pleasure of keeping in touch with many of the forever families. These pups have been placed in the best homes and that is due to the diligence of this organization.

I am also a "foster failure" twice over. Two of the pups we fostered decided that our home would be their forever home. So I have had the experience on both sides of this organization. It has been and continues to be a great pleasure.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

My husband and I have adopted numerous dogs over the years from the German Shepherd Rescue of Orange County. Each one has had a different personality, but we've loved them all for the joy they bring us. We can't thank GSROC enough for being there to save these wonderful pets from their previous life so that we can share the rest of their lives with them. Our most recent adoption involved a Belgian Malinois that had been hit by a car and left to die. Mercifully, GSROC was able to pick her up and pay to have her broken hips and leg repaired. She is a complete sweetie, only one year old. It's just amazing how many pets (over 400 each year) are helped by GSROC to get well and/or find a new forever home. Thank you GSROC!!
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

I can't give enough praise about this organization. Their goal is to rescue dogs in need and help find their forever home. An easy concept but GSROC does an excellent job at it, are well organized, very caring about all animals and very helpful in adopting a dog.So if you are thinking about adopting a rescue dog check out GSROC's website or give them a call. Thanks to them I adopted a 1 year old black female GSD about 5 years ago and she has grow to be one of the most lovable dogs that you have ever met. Thanks GSROC!!
June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

I adopted my German Shepherd from this rescue. I found that throughout the adoption process, the people at the rescue really care about the dog. They made sure that my wife and I were a good match for the dog. They talked extensively with us, and came and inspected our house and offered advice on how to make the house dog friendly.

Since then, I have been keeping in touch, and the more I keep in touch, the more I find that the people who volunteer for this organization are genuine in their care for the dogs that they rescue.

I recently went to a bake sale that they offered nearby to raise money for the dogs. Although it has been over 6 months since we adopted our dog, all of the volunteers remembered our dog and wanted to say hi and pet him. They all asked how the dog is doing, and genuinely cared about the well being of our dog.

I go to their website often to keep up on other dogs that have been rescued and placed in their "forever homes", and other dogs that are still waiting. It's truly amazing the amount of work that this rescue gets done for these dogs in need. Thank you very much GSROC for everything that you guys do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 13, 2013

more

November 13, 2013

I have adopted two dogs from GSROC, and I have nothing but glowing praise for this organization. They are caring, professional and a class act all the way. Their volunteers do a thorough job of screening both dogs and potential adopters, and place dogs only with suitable individuals or families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Great organization. GSROC is like a big family that works 24/7 to ensure the safety of many animals in need and giving new a new chance in life. Its amazing to witness how dedication, love and effort transform these animals from shy unwanted to beautiful, proud and amazing pets. All the dogs are carefully assessed and the potentials families are evaluated to ensure both dog-family are a good fit. This is one of the most professional and dedicated organizations I have had the opportunity to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers