Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2013

more

November 13, 2013

I have adopted two dogs from GSROC, and I have nothing but glowing praise for this organization. They are caring, professional and a class act all the way. Their volunteers do a thorough job of screening both dogs and potential adopters, and place dogs only with suitable individuals or families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Great organization. GSROC is like a big family that works 24/7 to ensure the safety of many animals in need and giving new a new chance in life. Its amazing to witness how dedication, love and effort transform these animals from shy unwanted to beautiful, proud and amazing pets. All the dogs are carefully assessed and the potentials families are evaluated to ensure both dog-family are a good fit. This is one of the most professional and dedicated organizations I have had the opportunity to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

Since I learned of GSROC through a news report related to a GSD named Courage several years ago, I have been overwhelmed by the spirit of this organization. I am familiar with GSD rescue from another state and when I attended a simple meet and greet event in Costa Mesa at Centinela, I literally had to step away and cry. It is a struggle in the rescue world to maintain volunteer enthusiasm and committment but this group...I applaud them everyday. Not only was there a volunteer for each 'adoptable' dog in attendance but there were more in the store with bake sale items, selling goods to fundraise and answer questions about the rescued animals. I seriously was in awe. THANK YOU GSROC for being what you are and even when it feels like it is too much....you all come through time and time again. I love supporting this team even when I am not visiting CA. They certainly have broken the mold when it comes to a rescue organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

Tireless, dedicated and selfless are only three of the words that describe this incredible organization. To see a group of people work so closely together to achieve one goal, saving as many dogs as possible, is inspiring. I have both volunteered and adopted from GSROC and I can honestly say this is an incredible team of people. The dogs that come into the arms of GSROC are fortunate indeed as they will receive the best fosters, medical attention and lots of love and care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

GSROC volunteers are tireless. This non profit is truly dedicated to humane treatment of animals. More importantly they scrutinize applicants who want to adopt dogs they've rescued. Once GSROC takes on a dog, there's no need to worry about their future. They are game changers. They work to reverse the lives of dogs that have been neglected, injured and abused. If you have a friend who works for GSROC you know that it's a huge part of their life. These volunteers are all about love, healing and appropriate placement. This association is absolutely a *great* non profit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I have been a volunteer for this group, more commonly known as German Shepherd Rescue of Orange County (GSROC), since 2005. I had never intended to become a volunteer for them. We just sought them out to adopt a dog. We were in search of a German Shepherd and at a humane society event we met a lady who had a wonderful GSD and she told us that she adopted through GSROC. I had never even heard of rescues before. Our experience with working with GSROC volunteers was so wonderful we started donating money on a regular basis to help dogs needing special vet assistance. After a few months of "just" being a donor I made the leap to being a volunteer. The dedication, hard work, and compassion displayed by all the volunteers is contagious. After just few months of volunteering all I could think was, "How can I not be a volunteer for this group?" They are amazing. I am constantly wowed by each volunteers commitment. The make you want to work even harder! And they do it for one reason and one reason only, to help dogs in need of loving and forever homes. They are all so inspiring!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Build them a gigantic facility so that they can save and house more dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I became a volunteer for this organization after I adopted my first German shepherd from them. He had been in a boarding kennel located a great distance from my home. Someone had driven all that way to bring him to an adoption event in Orange County because he had a chance at finding a home that day. I was so impressed and deeply moved by these people’s passion and dedication.

Our volunteers have saved terrorized dogs dodging cars on freeways, regularly pull dogs slated for euthanasia at our many overcrowded shelters here in Southern California, and take in dogs who simply have nowhere else to go. We find homes for approximately 400 dogs per year.

Running a large and multi-faceted rescue requires more than just passion and dedication. It also requires organization, professionalism and efficiency. We have that in our director, Maria Dales. A former business executive, she sets very high standards in every aspect of the rescue.

Our animals receive good medical care, training, and whatever else is necessary to ready them for adoption. GSROC maintains rigorous standards for potential adopters, and we work very hard to make good matches between our dogs and adopters to ensure permanent placements. Fundraising to make all of this possible is never ending, and the number, variety and originality of our fundraisers is very impressive.

GSROC is the probably the best run and most successful rescue in our state, and quite possibly, the nation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take in more dogs and transport them to other rescues around the country where they have far fewer dogs for adoption.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I have been volunteering with this organization for almost 10 years now, and have adopted three dogs from them as well. I have seen all facets of the rescue world during this time, from rescuing dogs from the shelters, to accepting owner surrenders from families that can no longer keep their pets, to taking rescued animals to vets when they need medical attention, to walking the dogs to get them fresh air, as well as conducting home visits to ensure that our dogs are going to go into a safe and loving environment after all we went through to make sure they are safe! There is no better reward then when these dogs finally get a forever home. None of this would be possible without the constant work behind the scenes, and the leadership provided in this organization. Time and time again I see our volunteers drop everything in their own lives to get these dogs safe, or rally together to raise funds for a dog that needs medical attention. There are a lot of rescues out there, but the Association of German Shepherd Rescuers, AKA German Shepherd Rescue of OC is tried and true. It is an inspiration, and I expect I will be volunteering with this organization until I am no longer able.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Being a volunteer for this organization is a very rewarding experience. One time I went to pick up a dog at a shelter, but when I got there, they told me he was not adoptable because he was sick ; they did not know I was from the rescue. I called my contact and she called them and they released the dog to me, and I immediately took him to one of their wonderful vets. The shelter was going to put this little puppy down, but because I was there his life was saved. He has grown up to be the most beautiful and loved dog.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

My family is proud to volunteer with such an incredible group of people who go above and beyond saving the lives of animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers