Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
89 Reviews
1234.853935
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 29, 2013

more

May 29, 2013

AWIS is the premier organization advocating for fairness and equity for women in the STEM fields. The organization has led efforts in this area since its founding in 1971. I joined as a graduate student at the time of its founding, and the organization has been there for all the stages of my professional career in science. Members of AWIS provided mentoring support throughout my career and the opportunity to intereact with key executive leaders as I moved into the executive ranks myself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

dramatically increase its membership so that more women in STEM could have access to its marvelous resources.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2013

more

May 27, 2013

AWIS provides outstanding service to academia and industry through its information on how to promote gender equity and create a thriving organization. I was the direct beneficiary of this when my professional society, the American Astronomical Society, sent me to a training workshop at AWIS Headquarters on how to promote recognition of women in national awards. AWIS produced a set of training materials showing how implicit bias in male-dominated fields leads committees to overlook women, and providing best practices to train committees. The same materials are helpful to search committees. All advocates for equity in STEM disciplines recognize AWIS as a leading source of information and ideas.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 19, 2013

more

May 19, 2013

I have been active in many professional societies including serving as the 2006 President of the Society of Petroleum Engineers and founding in 1985 the Society of Core Analysts. I am also a member of the Society of Women Engineers.

For many years I focused on succeeding in non-gender
specific professional societies and trying to advance women's issues through those groups. At this stage in my career having held leadership positions in those societies, I am focusing on trying to help women in STEM careers. For the past two years, I was the Chair of the Women's Network of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists and I continue to Chair the Women's Network of the Society of Petroleum Engineers. I have found many notices and references in the AWIS newsletter that I have shared more broadly with female colleagues and the women's networks in which I am active.

AWIS is providing a valuable service in collecting and disseminating information on the status of women in science. I read the AWIS email newsletters and the paper publications carefully and believe that the society provides valuable service to women in STEM careers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

National AWIS helps me as a professional in the field (I've been involved nearly 20 years). The Washington Wire newsletter is a great overview of issues. We have an active state chapter that promotes science to middle school girls. Our local group also has monthly networking lunches.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

I have just joined AWIS, but in this short time it has been very useful in many ways. Especially since I am from abroad it has been a great way to network and meet other people both in the same area and others. Also the seminars has ben very helpful and stimulating. Thanks!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

I became aware of and joined AWIS in the very early years, while I was in graduate school. I have taken advantage of many of the programs and services offered by the organization, such as Annual Conferences, Local Chapter membership and programs, advocacy, and the wonderful newsletter. I have seen many changes over the years, and I have appreciated the improvements that have come along with those changes. Now that I am retired, I am glad to be able to continue my support for this organization. It is a vital resource girs interested in science, women just beginning their careers, and established professionals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

As a professional society, AWIS delivers. Their national programming is of superior quality and its broadcast on the web makes it accessible to people whose location is remote, truly enabling all women scientists across the country. The newsletter is always relevant and covers general relevant scientific topics in addition to topics focused on women in STEM. This organization has been much more useful to me personally than other women's groups within professional scientific societies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow the broadcast programming to stay available to members for longer than 1 month after the broadcast.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

AWIS provides greatly needed information and support to women in science and technology through meetings, networking, and sustained informational reports. The networking provided by AWIS, along with information that would otherwise be difficult for many women to access, have provided a tremendous service to women in science and technology. It also ensures that women are aware of career opportunities that otherwise might not be brought to their attention due to their isolation.

In my case, AWIS provided an invaluable visible presence of a broader community of women scientists, and hence a validation of my participation in a male dominated environment, that was very helpful to me during my career as a research physicist in industry and government.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

AWIS has supported me throughout the duration of my training. It is a great organization to be a part of!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more chapter growth at the local level.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

After working in different areas of science, teaching (on the middle and high school levels), serving on the professional staff of the US EPA, and later working as an environmental consultant, I feel I have a level of awareness of the perspectives on women in science. I also had the opportunity to experience the excitement of pursuing research projects both in academia and in the private sector, so I know reasonably well the thrill of discovery. \
Now, as an adjunct instructor in a community college teaching a course on Women and Minorities in Science, I have found the reporting in publications of AWIS to be of help in my class presentations. Students respond well to the reports on work going on in this area as well as to the summaries of challenges faced by all scientists. This is beyond the interest I find in keeping up with the achievements of contemporary professionals. The updates on activities further complement my experience in this field. Thank you AWIS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't follow the configuration of the organization with sufficient care. The organization is of lower priority to me than the reporting on its members.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers