Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.855565
Write A Review
May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

Surviving as a woman in science is not easy. Studies consistently show that both men and women are biased against female scientists when assessing their work, so there is an uphill climb to make it in this already competitive field. AWIS gathers many of the bits of news and helpful tips that practicing female scientists don't otherwise have time to seek out on their own. It helps to level the old-boys-network playing field and organizes local events to learn career tips and build networks (and to serve as a support group!).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

I am at a crossroads in my career, and it is a time when I can definitely use any and all career advice. Of the organizations I have tried to connect with, the information and advice I've gotten through AWIS has been far more useful than any tips I've gotten from other organizations including the National Postdoc Association or the Postdoc Association on my campus. The most helpful services have been the linkedin groups (both the one for members and the one for the general public) and the online STEMinars. I am a new member, but look forward to being part of this group for a long time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

I've been a member of AWiS since May 2012. Since then I've attended several events as a member. All of the events I've been to have been well publicized , organized and were very helpful. The AWiS leadership and committee members were professional and kind to a new scientist like me. I've been tremendously impressed with AWiS and will continue to be a member and hopefully also a volunteer in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 18, 2011

more

March 18, 2011

AWIS is an amazing organization. Being a graduate student in biomedical sciences, I find it very diffcult to maintain the motivation required to keep both a home and science life. But going to AWIS's seminars (online!) on career development, attending their networking events, and meeting other scientists has really helped me see that being a working scientist/mom is completely possible. Additionally, the networking resources that are provided with each local AWIS chapter are essential for the search in finding a great post-doc or job position.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Building confidence, providing a huge network, providing multiple volunteer opportunities, allowing for fellowship options

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more funding!

March 18, 2011

more

March 18, 2011

The Association for Women in Science (AWIS) has made a significant and extremely positive impact on my life. Through AWIS I have had the opportunity to explore various career opportunities, develop work and life skills, network with an incredible community of women in Boston and beyond, receive invaluable mentorship, and improve my leadership skills. I am actively involved in AWIS and my involvement has increased my confidence in my career and life choices and provided me with an incredibly supportive community of like-minded, gifted women.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Boston, MA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work to increase membership and work to share the benefits of this strong community and network of women in science with more people!

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers