Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.855565
Write A Review
May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

I found this organization by chance when I saw their booth at a meeting. Their rep answered all questions and was so enthusiastic i joined immediately. When I began receiving their newsletter and saw both the breadth of their articles and the commitment to women in science I volunteered in whatever capacity they needed. \At both the national and the local levels this organization is by far the most personalized, committed, helpful and well organized with which I have ever been associated. Every woman in science, mathematics, statistics, engineering or related fields can find major benefit in and from this group

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to increase its exposure beyond the excellent job they now do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

AWIS is a premier professional organization for women. I have had the good fortune of being associated with AWIS as a volunteer for their newsletter. Their newsletter and career pages are full of exciting resources for women in science. The seminars hosted by AWIS are insightful and highly helpful for networking. In fact, I have had occasion to utilize strategies from a negotiation seminar hosted by AWIS in my career and have benefitted hugely from it. In short, I would recommend AWIS as an excellent and one of its kind, outstanding professional resource for women in science!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

The Association for Women in Science (AWIS) is steadfastly focused on advocating the interests and equalizing participation of women in science and technology. AWIS provides ongoing programming through a nationwide membership network and alignment with numerous professional societies. AWIS, as well, is wholly committed to professional development, mentorship and networking.

In my most recent year of membership, I have enjoyed a number of professional development STEMinars, attended several AWIS-hosted functions, and participated in a Women in STEM advocacy program on Capitol Hill.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 13, 2012

more

May 13, 2012

I've been a member of the Bethesda Chapter for many years, frequently attend DC chapter events, and helped start the Greater Baltimore Chapter a couple of years ago. Have been on both the mentee and mentor side of the conversation. AWIS helped me to learn to network so well that I can now teach other people. It does important research and advocacy work on the national level while encouraging meaningful professional connections on the local level. When advising early career women I often recommend AWIS for all these reasons.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

AWIS is an organization that embodies the very principles it advocates - networking, mentoring and leadership. I have been involved with AWIS as a volunteer from my first days as a member of this group and it continues to be an extremely gratifying experience. I have had the opportunity to meet women professionals in my field, learn from women scientists who are further along in their career paths than myself and have graciously been afforded opportunity after opportunity for my own self-growth and professional development within this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 18, 2011

AWIS is an excellent organization whose primary mission is to empower women in the STEM fields. By providing career development opportunities and outreach programs to the schools around Chicago-land a... more

May 11, 2012

I am very glad that I have become a member of this organization! I have met amazing inspiring women through this network, got the opportunity to do some writing for AWIS and enjoyed many exciting events planned by this association!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 18, 2011

AWIS is an excellent organization whose primary mission is to empower women in the STEM fields. By providing career development opportunities and outreach programs to the schools around Chicago-land area, the Chicago chapter specifically does an exceptional job of bringing female scientists together from all STEM fields and expertise levels.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping me understand better the prospects of job search

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes to the way AWIS is currently being run

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

AWIS provides all generations of women in science, on many different life paths, opportunities to network and collaborate to find ways to advance the mission of engaging more girls, and advocating for the advancement of women in science fields. My personal involvment is with outreach and mentoring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

AWIS is a wonderful organization that encourages women to start a career in science and helps them evolve in their scientific career path. The AWIS offers many opportunities for networking and mentoring as well as professional development resources, both at the local and national levels, thereby providing a foundation for women to build upon to gain the confidence to achieve in a highly competitive career in science. Given the under-representation of women at upper-professional levels in science, the importance of maintaining an organization that provides resources for women in science and gives them confidence to succeed despite the existing barriers is critical. Therefore, AWIS is an outstanding association that changes the life of many women. It definitely changed mine. Thanks, AWIS!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

AWIS is a unique non profit organization that supports Women in Science nation wide. It provides tremendous opportunities for networking, mentoring, STEM programs and fellowships, and many seminars that help women to develop their careers paths and build leadership skills and achieve higher goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

AWIS is a great organization that links women who are historically and presently a minority in the science disciplines. AWIS allows young females to identify good mentors, and is an excellent networking tool.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers