Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.855565
Write A Review
May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

I became aware of and joined AWIS in the very early years, while I was in graduate school. I have taken advantage of many of the programs and services offered by the organization, such as Annual Conferences, Local Chapter membership and programs, advocacy, and the wonderful newsletter. I have seen many changes over the years, and I have appreciated the improvements that have come along with those changes. Now that I am retired, I am glad to be able to continue my support for this organization. It is a vital resource girs interested in science, women just beginning their careers, and established professionals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

As a professional society, AWIS delivers. Their national programming is of superior quality and its broadcast on the web makes it accessible to people whose location is remote, truly enabling all women scientists across the country. The newsletter is always relevant and covers general relevant scientific topics in addition to topics focused on women in STEM. This organization has been much more useful to me personally than other women's groups within professional scientific societies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow the broadcast programming to stay available to members for longer than 1 month after the broadcast.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

AWIS provides greatly needed information and support to women in science and technology through meetings, networking, and sustained informational reports. The networking provided by AWIS, along with information that would otherwise be difficult for many women to access, have provided a tremendous service to women in science and technology. It also ensures that women are aware of career opportunities that otherwise might not be brought to their attention due to their isolation.

In my case, AWIS provided an invaluable visible presence of a broader community of women scientists, and hence a validation of my participation in a male dominated environment, that was very helpful to me during my career as a research physicist in industry and government.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

AWIS has supported me throughout the duration of my training. It is a great organization to be a part of!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more chapter growth at the local level.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

I am at a crossroads in my career, and it is a time when I can definitely use any and all career advice. Of the organizations I have tried to connect with, the information and advice I've gotten through AWIS has been far more useful than any tips I've gotten from other organizations including the National Postdoc Association or the Postdoc Association on my campus. The most helpful services have been the linkedin groups (both the one for members and the one for the general public) and the online STEMinars. I am a new member, but look forward to being part of this group for a long time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

AWIS is a premier professional organization for women. I have had the good fortune of being associated with AWIS as a volunteer for their newsletter. Their newsletter and career pages are full of exciting resources for women in science. The seminars hosted by AWIS are insightful and highly helpful for networking. In fact, I have had occasion to utilize strategies from a negotiation seminar hosted by AWIS in my career and have benefitted hugely from it. In short, I would recommend AWIS as an excellent and one of its kind, outstanding professional resource for women in science!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

AWIS actively promotes women in science and I feel that I get more impact per buck than most other professional societies that I belong to. They keep me informed of research on women and on STEM women, on our struggles in the workplace and on legislative issues that will impact us. They are strong advocates for us in Washington, helping me feel that my little voice, joined with thousands of other STEM women, gets heard. I've been honored to be named a Fellow of AWIS and this honor, and AWIS' unflagging efforts to network us all together, has helped open doors for me that wouldn't have otherwise. I'm a sustaining member but wish I could give more! I've taken their STEMinars and workshops and learned a lot of useful tactics to help balance work and the rest of my life. Thanks, AWIS!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See to it that a sugar daddy or sugar mommy boosted their endowment!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

After working in different areas of science, teaching (on the middle and high school levels), serving on the professional staff of the US EPA, and later working as an environmental consultant, I feel I have a level of awareness of the perspectives on women in science. I also had the opportunity to experience the excitement of pursuing research projects both in academia and in the private sector, so I know reasonably well the thrill of discovery. \
Now, as an adjunct instructor in a community college teaching a course on Women and Minorities in Science, I have found the reporting in publications of AWIS to be of help in my class presentations. Students respond well to the reports on work going on in this area as well as to the summaries of challenges faced by all scientists. This is beyond the interest I find in keeping up with the achievements of contemporary professionals. The updates on activities further complement my experience in this field. Thank you AWIS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't follow the configuration of the organization with sufficient care. The organization is of lower priority to me than the reporting on its members.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

AWIS is one of the best professional organizations I have been apart of. The events I've attended do a great job of combining scientific interest and professional advancement.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

As a foreigner they had helped me keep in contact with professionals like myself, build my network and also learn from more experienced and successful women in the STEM fields.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers