Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.855565
Write A Review
May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

Women in STEM fields face all kinds of challenges, and AWIS helps navigate these with information, awareness, education, and personalized mentoring programs. I have been a mentor with the Palo Alto Chapter of AWIS since 1997, and it has been enormously rewarding to be a sounding board for graduate students and postdocs in the sciences. I've watched many grow in their careers and make hard choices along the way; but with the benefit of a supportive network rather than the isolation I felt as a graduate student back in my day. AWIS brings attention nationally to women working in STEM, to give them the recognition they deserve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

AWIS is very active in Washington, D.C. in advocacy. It would be good to do this at the state level as well. We need our elected representatives to see all the talent we have in this country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

Great Philadelphia and Palo Alto Chapters. While consulting I was able to find a welcoming chapter just about anywhere I went.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

I've been a member of AWIS since 1975 and have served on its board. In addition, I belonged to the local chapter of AWIS for nearly the same length of time. As a university chemistry/biochemistry professor, active in the research laboratory and classroom, AWIS provided me with a unique opportunity to meet and work with other women scientists in academe, as well as with women in the
corporate and business environment and in other professional societies. The skills I picked up through AWIS board activities and through networking with women inside and outside of academe helped me transition into academic administration. In this capacity I was able to obtain funding from NSF and DOD to support women and minority students at the university and to collaborate with other colleges in this activity, and to collaborate with other professional societies in such efforts. Although there has been some growth in the numbers of women and other underrepresented students starting science, engineering and technological careers, the recruitment and retention of women at all levels from student to faculty to industry remains a work in progress. AWIS's efforts are more vital than ever.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Optimize use of social media.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

What impresses me most about AWIS is that it is not simply a membership organization. I have experienced firsthand how AWIS engages its members in activities that examine the barriers that prevent women from advancing in science fields, and strives to make changes to remove those barriers. I genuinely feel that AWIS fulfills its mission to retain and increase the number of women in STEM (science, engineering, science, and math) fields. I feel very fortunate to be a member of such a supportive and proactive organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

Surviving as a woman in science is not easy. Studies consistently show that both men and women are biased against female scientists when assessing their work, so there is an uphill climb to make it in this already competitive field. AWIS gathers many of the bits of news and helpful tips that practicing female scientists don't otherwise have time to seek out on their own. It helps to level the old-boys-network playing field and organizes local events to learn career tips and build networks (and to serve as a support group!).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

AWIS is an excellent organization for all women in the scientific field. I have learned so much through the AWIS newsletter and webinars. As a member of the organization I have been able to network effectively with others. I plan to volunteer more to help further the mission of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

I have served on the AWIS Board since 2009 and have really learned so much from my involvement about strategies to advocate for women at all levels of their STEM career. My association has also provided an amazing array of mentors--such amazingly competent, intelligent and wise women serving in all capacities in a variety of volunteer roles to make the association a great representative for all Women in Science.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase diversity of members.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

AWIS is a wonderful organization that has helped to introduce me to other women in science in my community. They have actively promoted science and interest in STEM fields especially to a community of young girls. I had the opportunity of hearing some of the wonderful feedback from many parents about how their daughters had a blast learning about science with positive role models from our AWIS-ND chapter. I'm so proud to be a part of this community!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

I found this organization by chance when I saw their booth at a meeting. Their rep answered all questions and was so enthusiastic i joined immediately. When I began receiving their newsletter and saw both the breadth of their articles and the commitment to women in science I volunteered in whatever capacity they needed. \At both the national and the local levels this organization is by far the most personalized, committed, helpful and well organized with which I have ever been associated. Every woman in science, mathematics, statistics, engineering or related fields can find major benefit in and from this group

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to increase its exposure beyond the excellent job they now do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

I have just joined AWIS, but in this short time it has been very useful in many ways. Especially since I am from abroad it has been a great way to network and meet other people both in the same area and others. Also the seminars has ben very helpful and stimulating. Thanks!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers