Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I attended Operation School Bell in LaPorte on Saturday, August 23rd. The entire school cafeteria was full of children and their families, who each got to leave with several sets of clothes and other items to prepare the children for school. The children get to actually try on the clothes to make sure they fit properly, or to see if a different style would be better for them, so they leave feeling more prepared and confident to begin the school year. The event is so well run that even with trying on the clothes it goes smoothly for all involved. Thank you Assistance League of the Bay Area!!!!!
August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Operation School Bell on Saturday, August 23, 2014 was a great event. Hundreds of kids were able to get much needed clothing for school. The school cafeteria was filled with families in need. The event was well organized and the kids were able to get clothing that fit and they liked. Volunteers worked hard to help get everyone what they needed. They really put their heart into it. The families were so appreciative too. This event helps people in need. Thanks to the Bay Area Assistance League and all the volunteers for making this possible.
August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I attended Project School Bell on Sat, Aug 23rd. I was very impressed in the set up and how well organized this event was. They were able to cloth numerous children at no cost their families. The children's glowing & grateful faces was so heart warming. I was glad to be apart of it. As we were waiting to cloth another family, I spoke with one of the members on other events they sponsor. Not only do they cloth children for school but they also provide prom dresses & tuxes for teenagers to go to prom that would otherwise not have the opportunity. The list goes on and on. The ladies that organize and participate in Project School Bell spend numerous hours in making sure that this event, as I'm sure all of their events, are successful. Thank you ladies for making a difference in our community and making my experience so rewarding.
April 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

As a former non profit director I was able to meet with Assistance League members to learn more about their programs. I was extremely impressed with how much they do for Bay Area familes! I visited their resale shop last August and got to see Operation School Bell first hand! They basically had a clothing store set up for families to shop--even dressing rooms! It is amazing how they distribute school clothes to ~1800 families. It was obvious after meeting the members that they care about the work they do and for our community. I only wish more people knew how much of an impact they make!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working directly with agencies in the Bay Area that have benefitted from Assistance League Programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more people learn about how they help the community!

April 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Assistance League of Bay Area is a wonderful nonprofit that focuses on helping those in the Bay Area community, but especially seniors and children. Their biggest annual charity even is Operation School Bell, in which they provide hygiene kits and a whole week's worth of clothing to needy children in 4 school districts so that the children will be able to better focus on school instead of ill-fitting or ratty clothes. They provide girls with prom dresses with Operation Cinderella, spend time with seniors, and donate time and material to shelters just to name a few of their great programs. They have a branch of Assisteens so that teenagers can help out and increase the meaning in their lives as well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

visiting their resale shop and seeing what great work they do. Also, I've learned a lot in closely working with the presidents.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it more well-known. They need more awareness and recognition for all the great work they do!

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assemble hygiene kits for 200 children; work a shift at our Resale Shop to help us raise funds for our programs; volunteer in a classroom at Kids' U, a summer enrichment program.