Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

Assistance League of the Bay Area works diligently to provide new school clothes for over 2000 children each year. These students can then attend school with pride in the way they look and can focus on learning. I am proud to work with this remarkable group of dedicated women who are making a difference in their community.
August 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am extremely proud to be a member of Assistance League of the Bay Area. We are Making a Difference in Our Community by contributing over 27,800 volunteer hours to our philanthropies and fund-raising efforts in our chapter year 2013-2014. The value of our contribution is estimated at over $656,798 to our community using the value of a volunteer hour set by the US government. The dedication and hard work of our members is truly amazing to see!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This past year the Bay Area Assistance League was voted the best non-profit in the area by The Citizen. I am proud to be a member of such a dedicated group. Last year our members donated over 25,000 hours to our various philanthropies. Since 2004 our largest program, Operation School Bell, has nearly tripled the number of school aged children clothed, growing from over 700 to over 2000 annually. This clothing helps students fit in with other students and, through increased self esteem, makes them more eager to learn. These efforts are funded by an annual gala and an award -winning resale shop as well as corporate grants and private donations. Our 200 volunteers are eager to continue and expand this outreach to other school districts but lack the funding. We welcome additional donations to help us achieve our vision of "Self-worth and possibility for all."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Assistance League of Bay Area makes a difference!
Over 2,000 kids were given 3-4 new outfits for school. Some have never had new clothes. We expect to clothe more kids this season which continues all school year long.
We also do community outreach to kids at risk, adults, and
elderly.
We are always looking for more dedicated volunteers. Great organization to get involved in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We are always brainstorming to improve our services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Assistance League of the Bay Area is an organization who provides support to children, adults, and the elderly. Ranging from distributing a week's worth of clothes, prom attire, interview-appropriate wear, to assisting students who have been identified as at-risk for dropping out of school, to volunteering in the classrooms at a summer enrichment program at a local university, to spending quality time with senior citizens at a nursing home, or simply answering a one-time need of a family or individual due to a catastrophic situation, this group of dedicated women put caring and commitment into action in the communities we serve.

Our largest philanthropy, Operation School Bell, is the program that enables students who have been identified by their school district as economically disadvantaged, to receive a week's worth of clothing, appropriate undergarments, a personal hygiene kit, socks, and a $15 Payless shoe voucher. It is so heart-warming to participate in this each year. Parents and students are thrilled with the clothes and express themselves with hugs, tears, and smiles on their faces.

We can't meet all the students' needs who qualify as economically disadvantaged due to the limitations of our budget. We have fabulous funding initiatives - an annual event and a beautiful Resale Shop. However, in order to grow this outreach, we are dependent on grants from foundations and community-minded companies and individuals who desire to help us expand our reach.

We hope that will happen as we seek to inform others of the wonderful things we do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand our philanthropic reach!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Assistance League of the Bay Area near Houston, Texas is a charity that raises money
to provide clothing for children in need, among other things. I have never seen volunteers work as hard or be as dedicated to a cause. Over 2000 children each year benefit from this charity. As a
former
child in need, I personally relate to this cause. I have enjoyed being a member and volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Assistance League of the Bay Area supports the school age children of our community by providing clothing, hygiene kits, eye exams ,prom dresses or tuxedos, and scholarships for summer enrichment classes offered by a local university. The organization also offers Hands From the Heart manicures to a local nursing home.The Assistance League also has an active teen volunteer auxiliary. Being a volunteer for almost 15 years in this organization has been a privilege and honor.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I volunteer in the resale shop of the Assistance League of the Bay Area. Many of our patrons share the excitement of their children receiving clothes. Watching the nursing home residents line up to receive a hand massage makes me realize how important that project is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Every year our programs are evaluated so that changes and adjustments can be made so that we can help as many children as possible.

April 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for many organizations in our area but found that it was very hard to track progress and wanted to be with an organization that truly made a noticeable difference. Since volunteering with this organization, I have been involved in many worthwhile projects that have true measures of success. The Assistance League of the Bay Area helps so many people, from children to the elderly. There is not one single story that makes everything I have done worthwhile, but many.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in all of the areas that I have volunteered. Girls who have no hope of finding a pretty dress or shoes for prom light up when the perfect outfit is found. Children who get new clothing for the first day of school are so excited. The elderly at the nursing home simply want someone to talk to and touch them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes that I would effect. The organization functions well, they are good stewards of the money that is entrusted to them, and they truly help those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made many new lifetime friends through this organization.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I always leave feeling as if I have accomplished something. That is not always the case with other organizations that I have volunteered for.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The members of the Assistance League of the Bay Area have made an incredible impact on the welfare of those in need in our community. Timeless effort and passion to helping clothe and care for the welfare of children in need is about as good as it gets. Well done!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Operation School Bell

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them get more general community support.

April 22, 2011

more

April 22, 2011

Working in partnership with the Assistance League of the Bay Area, I came to find that it is an awsome organization. They are actively involved in the community they serve. Some of the programs include Operation School Bell, Operation Cinderalla, Resale Shop Donation Program, Community Outreach, and the list goes on. These programs help provide clothing and hygiene kits to kids, proms dresses and tuxs for high school seniors, and activities for the elderly. The assistance league works very hard in their community. The passion of the administration and the membership is what makes all projects come together for those in need. I have only mentioned a few them here, but I encourage a site visit to learn about the other programs as well. Overall great job Assistance League of the Bay Area.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In working for several months with the Assistance League, we became aware of the usefulness of the progams it offers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work to expand the current projects and collaborate with other aid groups to help reach more communities in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Our work together was amazing. Everytime we needed something they provided it. When we had questions, they had answers. The meetings between us were productive. What I am trying to say is that it was a great volunteer experience from our first phone conversation to our last meeting.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Actually it did. The PM team agree that the adminstration were very wonderful ladies and we were glad to have had the opportunity to help them with the Assistance League of the Bay Area.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

We were part of a project that helped a great organization. It was a wonderful feeling since we took part in helping them with their cause.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assemble hygiene kits for 200 children; work a shift at our Resale Shop to help us raise funds for our programs; volunteer in a classroom at Kids' U, a summer enrichment program.