Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

The Assistance League of the Bay Area near Houston, Texas is a charity that raises money
to provide clothing for children in need, among other things. I have never seen volunteers work as hard or be as dedicated to a cause. Over 2000 children each year benefit from this charity. As a
former
child in need, I personally relate to this cause. I have enjoyed being a member and volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

The Assistance League of the Bay Area supports the school age children of our community by providing clothing, hygiene kits, eye exams ,prom dresses or tuxedos, and scholarships for summer enrichment classes offered by a local university. The organization also offers Hands From the Heart manicures to a local nursing home.The Assistance League also has an active teen volunteer auxiliary. Being a volunteer for almost 15 years in this organization has been a privilege and honor.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I volunteer in the resale shop of the Assistance League of the Bay Area. Many of our patrons share the excitement of their children receiving clothes. Watching the nursing home residents line up to receive a hand massage makes me realize how important that project is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Every year our programs are evaluated so that changes and adjustments can be made so that we can help as many children as possible.

April 27, 2011

more

April 27, 2011

I have volunteered for many organizations in our area but found that it was very hard to track progress and wanted to be with an organization that truly made a noticeable difference. Since volunteering with this organization, I have been involved in many worthwhile projects that have true measures of success. The Assistance League of the Bay Area helps so many people, from children to the elderly. There is not one single story that makes everything I have done worthwhile, but many.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in all of the areas that I have volunteered. Girls who have no hope of finding a pretty dress or shoes for prom light up when the perfect outfit is found. Children who get new clothing for the first day of school are so excited. The elderly at the nursing home simply want someone to talk to and touch them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes that I would effect. The organization functions well, they are good stewards of the money that is entrusted to them, and they truly help those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made many new lifetime friends through this organization.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I always leave feeling as if I have accomplished something. That is not always the case with other organizations that I have volunteered for.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 25, 2011

more

April 25, 2011

The members of the Assistance League of the Bay Area have made an incredible impact on the welfare of those in need in our community. Timeless effort and passion to helping clothe and care for the welfare of children in need is about as good as it gets. Well done!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Operation School Bell

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them get more general community support.

April 22, 2011

more

April 22, 2011

Working in partnership with the Assistance League of the Bay Area, I came to find that it is an awsome organization. They are actively involved in the community they serve. Some of the programs include Operation School Bell, Operation Cinderalla, Resale Shop Donation Program, Community Outreach, and the list goes on. These programs help provide clothing and hygiene kits to kids, proms dresses and tuxs for high school seniors, and activities for the elderly. The assistance league works very hard in their community. The passion of the administration and the membership is what makes all projects come together for those in need. I have only mentioned a few them here, but I encourage a site visit to learn about the other programs as well. Overall great job Assistance League of the Bay Area.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In working for several months with the Assistance League, we became aware of the usefulness of the progams it offers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work to expand the current projects and collaborate with other aid groups to help reach more communities in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Our work together was amazing. Everytime we needed something they provided it. When we had questions, they had answers. The meetings between us were productive. What I am trying to say is that it was a great volunteer experience from our first phone conversation to our last meeting.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Actually it did. The PM team agree that the adminstration were very wonderful ladies and we were glad to have had the opportunity to help them with the Assistance League of the Bay Area.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

We were part of a project that helped a great organization. It was a wonderful feeling since we took part in helping them with their cause.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assemble hygiene kits for 200 children; work a shift at our Resale Shop to help us raise funds for our programs; volunteer in a classroom at Kids' U, a summer enrichment program.