Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Assistance League of the Bay Area is an organization who provides support to children, adults, and the elderly. Ranging from distributing a week's worth of clothes, prom attire, interview-appropriate wear, to assisting students who have been identified as at-risk for dropping out of school, to volunteering in the classrooms at a summer enrichment program at a local university, to spending quality time with senior citizens at a nursing home, or simply answering a one-time need of a family or individual due to a catastrophic situation, this group of dedicated women put caring and commitment into action in the communities we serve.

Our largest philanthropy, Operation School Bell, is the program that enables students who have been identified by their school district as economically disadvantaged, to receive a week's worth of clothing, appropriate undergarments, a personal hygiene kit, socks, and a $15 Payless shoe voucher. It is so heart-warming to participate in this each year. Parents and students are thrilled with the clothes and express themselves with hugs, tears, and smiles on their faces.

We can't meet all the students' needs who qualify as economically disadvantaged due to the limitations of our budget. We have fabulous funding initiatives - an annual event and a beautiful Resale Shop. However, in order to grow this outreach, we are dependent on grants from foundations and community-minded companies and individuals who desire to help us expand our reach.

We hope that will happen as we seek to inform others of the wonderful things we do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand our philanthropic reach!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Assistance League of the Bay Area near Houston, Texas is a charity that raises money
to provide clothing for children in need, among other things. I have never seen volunteers work as hard or be as dedicated to a cause. Over 2000 children each year benefit from this charity. As a
former
child in need, I personally relate to this cause. I have enjoyed being a member and volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Assistance League of the Bay Area is a wonderful organization dedicated to improving the lives of children and the elderly in the bay area. We are member driven, as our members both raise the funds for and deliver the services of our philanthropic programs. Our programs include: a partnership with Communities in Schools Bay Area (one of the things we do through this partnership is help pay for vision exams/glasses for students); scholarships to economically challenged students in local school districts to attend summer enrichment programs at the University of Houston - Clear Lake (we also provide volunteer assistance in the classroom for this program); manicures and compainionship for elderly residents at a local nursing home; prom attire for seniors identified by their schools as needing assistance to be able to attend their prom (for the girls - gowns, jewelry, purses and shoes and for the boys - tuxedo rentals) through our Operation Cinderella program; interview outfits to individuals reentering the workforce through referrals from the United Way; and last but by no means least we have Operation School Bell where we chothe children identified by their schools has having a need - each elementary student receives pants, tops, underware, a hygeine kit, and a voucher for shoes & each secondary student receives a hygeine kit, shoe voucher, and clothing based upon the individual needs for school appropriate attire. It is an organization for which I am proud to be affiliated.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

As a former non profit director I was able to meet with Assistance League members to learn more about their programs. I was extremely impressed with how much they do for Bay Area familes! I visited their resale shop last August and got to see Operation School Bell first hand! They basically had a clothing store set up for families to shop--even dressing rooms! It is amazing how they distribute school clothes to ~1800 families. It was obvious after meeting the members that they care about the work they do and for our community. I only wish more people knew how much of an impact they make!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working directly with agencies in the Bay Area that have benefitted from Assistance League Programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more people learn about how they help the community!

April 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Assistance League of the Bay Area supports the school age children of our community by providing clothing, hygiene kits, eye exams ,prom dresses or tuxedos, and scholarships for summer enrichment classes offered by a local university. The organization also offers Hands From the Heart manicures to a local nursing home.The Assistance League also has an active teen volunteer auxiliary. Being a volunteer for almost 15 years in this organization has been a privilege and honor.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I volunteer in the resale shop of the Assistance League of the Bay Area. Many of our patrons share the excitement of their children receiving clothes. Watching the nursing home residents line up to receive a hand massage makes me realize how important that project is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Every year our programs are evaluated so that changes and adjustments can be made so that we can help as many children as possible.

April 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Assistance League of the Bay Area is a vital organization in our community. We are honored to be able to provide services to the at-risk populations in our area. We are so pleased to be named Clear Creek Independent School District's Community Partner of the Year. When you see the face of a child receiving his own toothbrush for the first time, you can't help but be moved. We witness mothers and their and high school senior girls embracing and crying tears of joy after receiving a prom dress, shoes, jewelry and all of the other accoutremets that enable the daughter to experience prom.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am fortunate every day to be associated with 200 of the most thoughtful and dedicated women that I have ever met.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure that everyone in our community knows about Assistance League.

April 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for many organizations in our area but found that it was very hard to track progress and wanted to be with an organization that truly made a noticeable difference. Since volunteering with this organization, I have been involved in many worthwhile projects that have true measures of success. The Assistance League of the Bay Area helps so many people, from children to the elderly. There is not one single story that makes everything I have done worthwhile, but many.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in all of the areas that I have volunteered. Girls who have no hope of finding a pretty dress or shoes for prom light up when the perfect outfit is found. Children who get new clothing for the first day of school are so excited. The elderly at the nursing home simply want someone to talk to and touch them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes that I would effect. The organization functions well, they are good stewards of the money that is entrusted to them, and they truly help those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made many new lifetime friends through this organization.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I always leave feeling as if I have accomplished something. That is not always the case with other organizations that I have volunteered for.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Assistance League of Bay Area is a wonderful nonprofit that focuses on helping those in the Bay Area community, but especially seniors and children. Their biggest annual charity even is Operation School Bell, in which they provide hygiene kits and a whole week's worth of clothing to needy children in 4 school districts so that the children will be able to better focus on school instead of ill-fitting or ratty clothes. They provide girls with prom dresses with Operation Cinderella, spend time with seniors, and donate time and material to shelters just to name a few of their great programs. They have a branch of Assisteens so that teenagers can help out and increase the meaning in their lives as well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

visiting their resale shop and seeing what great work they do. Also, I've learned a lot in closely working with the presidents.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it more well-known. They need more awareness and recognition for all the great work they do!

April 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The members of the Assistance League of the Bay Area have made an incredible impact on the welfare of those in need in our community. Timeless effort and passion to helping clothe and care for the welfare of children in need is about as good as it gets. Well done!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Operation School Bell

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them get more general community support.

April 22, 2011

more

April 22, 2011

Working in partnership with the Assistance League of the Bay Area, I came to find that it is an awsome organization. They are actively involved in the community they serve. Some of the programs include Operation School Bell, Operation Cinderalla, Resale Shop Donation Program, Community Outreach, and the list goes on. These programs help provide clothing and hygiene kits to kids, proms dresses and tuxs for high school seniors, and activities for the elderly. The assistance league works very hard in their community. The passion of the administration and the membership is what makes all projects come together for those in need. I have only mentioned a few them here, but I encourage a site visit to learn about the other programs as well. Overall great job Assistance League of the Bay Area.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In working for several months with the Assistance League, we became aware of the usefulness of the progams it offers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work to expand the current projects and collaborate with other aid groups to help reach more communities in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Our work together was amazing. Everytime we needed something they provided it. When we had questions, they had answers. The meetings between us were productive. What I am trying to say is that it was a great volunteer experience from our first phone conversation to our last meeting.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Actually it did. The PM team agree that the adminstration were very wonderful ladies and we were glad to have had the opportunity to help them with the Assistance League of the Bay Area.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

We were part of a project that helped a great organization. It was a wonderful feeling since we took part in helping them with their cause.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assemble hygiene kits for 200 children; work a shift at our Resale Shop to help us raise funds for our programs; volunteer in a classroom at Kids' U, a summer enrichment program.