Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

Assistance League of the Bay Area works diligently to provide new school clothes for over 2000 children each year. These students can then attend school with pride in the way they look and can focus on learning. I am proud to work with this remarkable group of dedicated women who are making a difference in their community.
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I attended Operation School Bell in LaPorte on Saturday, August 23rd. The entire school cafeteria was full of children and their families, who each got to leave with several sets of clothes and other items to prepare the children for school. The children get to actually try on the clothes to make sure they fit properly, or to see if a different style would be better for them, so they leave feeling more prepared and confident to begin the school year. The event is so well run that even with trying on the clothes it goes smoothly for all involved. Thank you Assistance League of the Bay Area!!!!!
August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Operation School Bell on Saturday, August 23, 2014 was a great event. Hundreds of kids were able to get much needed clothing for school. The school cafeteria was filled with families in need. The event was well organized and the kids were able to get clothing that fit and they liked. Volunteers worked hard to help get everyone what they needed. They really put their heart into it. The families were so appreciative too. This event helps people in need. Thanks to the Bay Area Assistance League and all the volunteers for making this possible.
August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I attended Project School Bell on Sat, Aug 23rd. I was very impressed in the set up and how well organized this event was. They were able to cloth numerous children at no cost their families. The children's glowing & grateful faces was so heart warming. I was glad to be apart of it. As we were waiting to cloth another family, I spoke with one of the members on other events they sponsor. Not only do they cloth children for school but they also provide prom dresses & tuxes for teenagers to go to prom that would otherwise not have the opportunity. The list goes on and on. The ladies that organize and participate in Project School Bell spend numerous hours in making sure that this event, as I'm sure all of their events, are successful. Thank you ladies for making a difference in our community and making my experience so rewarding.
August 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am extremely proud to be a member of Assistance League of the Bay Area. We are Making a Difference in Our Community by contributing over 27,800 volunteer hours to our philanthropies and fund-raising efforts in our chapter year 2013-2014. The value of our contribution is estimated at over $656,798 to our community using the value of a volunteer hour set by the US government. The dedication and hard work of our members is truly amazing to see!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This past year the Bay Area Assistance League was voted the best non-profit in the area by The Citizen. I am proud to be a member of such a dedicated group. Last year our members donated over 25,000 hours to our various philanthropies. Since 2004 our largest program, Operation School Bell, has nearly tripled the number of school aged children clothed, growing from over 700 to over 2000 annually. This clothing helps students fit in with other students and, through increased self esteem, makes them more eager to learn. These efforts are funded by an annual gala and an award -winning resale shop as well as corporate grants and private donations. Our 200 volunteers are eager to continue and expand this outreach to other school districts but lack the funding. We welcome additional donations to help us achieve our vision of "Self-worth and possibility for all."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Assistance League of Bay Area makes a difference!
Over 2,000 kids were given 3-4 new outfits for school. Some have never had new clothes. We expect to clothe more kids this season which continues all school year long.
We also do community outreach to kids at risk, adults, and
elderly.
We are always looking for more dedicated volunteers. Great organization to get involved in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We are always brainstorming to improve our services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Assistance League of the Bay Area is an organization who provides support to children, adults, and the elderly. Ranging from distributing a week's worth of clothes, prom attire, interview-appropriate wear, to assisting students who have been identified as at-risk for dropping out of school, to volunteering in the classrooms at a summer enrichment program at a local university, to spending quality time with senior citizens at a nursing home, or simply answering a one-time need of a family or individual due to a catastrophic situation, this group of dedicated women put caring and commitment into action in the communities we serve.

Our largest philanthropy, Operation School Bell, is the program that enables students who have been identified by their school district as economically disadvantaged, to receive a week's worth of clothing, appropriate undergarments, a personal hygiene kit, socks, and a $15 Payless shoe voucher. It is so heart-warming to participate in this each year. Parents and students are thrilled with the clothes and express themselves with hugs, tears, and smiles on their faces.

We can't meet all the students' needs who qualify as economically disadvantaged due to the limitations of our budget. We have fabulous funding initiatives - an annual event and a beautiful Resale Shop. However, in order to grow this outreach, we are dependent on grants from foundations and community-minded companies and individuals who desire to help us expand our reach.

We hope that will happen as we seek to inform others of the wonderful things we do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand our philanthropic reach!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Assistance League of the Bay Area near Houston, Texas is a charity that raises money
to provide clothing for children in need, among other things. I have never seen volunteers work as hard or be as dedicated to a cause. Over 2000 children each year benefit from this charity. As a
former
child in need, I personally relate to this cause. I have enjoyed being a member and volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Assistance League of the Bay Area is a wonderful organization dedicated to improving the lives of children and the elderly in the bay area. We are member driven, as our members both raise the funds for and deliver the services of our philanthropic programs. Our programs include: a partnership with Communities in Schools Bay Area (one of the things we do through this partnership is help pay for vision exams/glasses for students); scholarships to economically challenged students in local school districts to attend summer enrichment programs at the University of Houston - Clear Lake (we also provide volunteer assistance in the classroom for this program); manicures and compainionship for elderly residents at a local nursing home; prom attire for seniors identified by their schools as needing assistance to be able to attend their prom (for the girls - gowns, jewelry, purses and shoes and for the boys - tuxedo rentals) through our Operation Cinderella program; interview outfits to individuals reentering the workforce through referrals from the United Way; and last but by no means least we have Operation School Bell where we chothe children identified by their schools has having a need - each elementary student receives pants, tops, underware, a hygeine kit, and a voucher for shoes & each secondary student receives a hygeine kit, shoe voucher, and clothing based upon the individual needs for school appropriate attire. It is an organization for which I am proud to be affiliated.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assemble hygiene kits for 200 children; work a shift at our Resale Shop to help us raise funds for our programs; volunteer in a classroom at Kids' U, a summer enrichment program.