Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
December 4, 2014

more

December 4, 2014

Assistance League of the Bay Area is a fantastic organization! They are a group of some of the finest women that I have ever met and every program they do with complete excellence. I have been blessed to see firsthand how they put smiles on thousands of kids every year as they clothe them with brand new school clothes. It touched me also to hear them talk about how important it is to find clothes that are stylish and don't make the kids stand out.
November 4, 2014

more

November 4, 2014

I have been a member of Assistance League of the Bay Area for 3 years. I was searching for an organization that helped children and others in my local community. What a surprise to find that over 3,000
kids are helped each year by caring and giving women. I am proud to be a part of this
national organization!
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I have been a member of Assistance League of the Bay Area for several years and continue to be amazed by the number of lives we touch. We have NO paid management or administrative staff and all of our philanthropic programs are carried out by our very dedicated volunteer members.

Operation School Bell is our largest and perhaps the most well-known of our philanthropic programs. Last year we provided a week’s worth of school clothing, a gift card for shoes, and hygiene kit to over 2,000 students and we are well on our way to “dress” even more students during this school year. Each of our programs strives to improve the lives of those we serve in our community.

As a member of Assistance League of the Bay Area, I’m continuously reminded that when you’re surrounded by people who share a passionate commitment around a common purpose, anything is possible. I joined as a way to give back to the community but, in so many ways, feel I have received far more than I could ever give.
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

Assistance League of the Bay Area works diligently to provide new school clothes for over 2000 children each year. These students can then attend school with pride in the way they look and can focus on learning. I am proud to work with this remarkable group of dedicated women who are making a difference in their community.
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I attended Operation School Bell in LaPorte on Saturday, August 23rd. The entire school cafeteria was full of children and their families, who each got to leave with several sets of clothes and other items to prepare the children for school. The children get to actually try on the clothes to make sure they fit properly, or to see if a different style would be better for them, so they leave feeling more prepared and confident to begin the school year. The event is so well run that even with trying on the clothes it goes smoothly for all involved. Thank you Assistance League of the Bay Area!!!!!
August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Operation School Bell on Saturday, August 23, 2014 was a great event. Hundreds of kids were able to get much needed clothing for school. The school cafeteria was filled with families in need. The event was well organized and the kids were able to get clothing that fit and they liked. Volunteers worked hard to help get everyone what they needed. They really put their heart into it. The families were so appreciative too. This event helps people in need. Thanks to the Bay Area Assistance League and all the volunteers for making this possible.
August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I attended Project School Bell on Sat, Aug 23rd. I was very impressed in the set up and how well organized this event was. They were able to cloth numerous children at no cost their families. The children's glowing & grateful faces was so heart warming. I was glad to be apart of it. As we were waiting to cloth another family, I spoke with one of the members on other events they sponsor. Not only do they cloth children for school but they also provide prom dresses & tuxes for teenagers to go to prom that would otherwise not have the opportunity. The list goes on and on. The ladies that organize and participate in Project School Bell spend numerous hours in making sure that this event, as I'm sure all of their events, are successful. Thank you ladies for making a difference in our community and making my experience so rewarding.
August 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am extremely proud to be a member of Assistance League of the Bay Area. We are Making a Difference in Our Community by contributing over 27,800 volunteer hours to our philanthropies and fund-raising efforts in our chapter year 2013-2014. The value of our contribution is estimated at over $656,798 to our community using the value of a volunteer hour set by the US government. The dedication and hard work of our members is truly amazing to see!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This past year the Bay Area Assistance League was voted the best non-profit in the area by The Citizen. I am proud to be a member of such a dedicated group. Last year our members donated over 25,000 hours to our various philanthropies. Since 2004 our largest program, Operation School Bell, has nearly tripled the number of school aged children clothed, growing from over 700 to over 2000 annually. This clothing helps students fit in with other students and, through increased self esteem, makes them more eager to learn. These efforts are funded by an annual gala and an award -winning resale shop as well as corporate grants and private donations. Our 200 volunteers are eager to continue and expand this outreach to other school districts but lack the funding. We welcome additional donations to help us achieve our vision of "Self-worth and possibility for all."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Assistance League of Bay Area makes a difference!
Over 2,000 kids were given 3-4 new outfits for school. Some have never had new clothes. We expect to clothe more kids this season which continues all school year long.
We also do community outreach to kids at risk, adults, and
elderly.
We are always looking for more dedicated volunteers. Great organization to get involved in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We are always brainstorming to improve our services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assemble hygiene kits for 200 children; work a shift at our Resale Shop to help us raise funds for our programs; volunteer in a classroom at Kids' U, a summer enrichment program.