Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 6, 2013

I have been a member of Assistance League for almost 10 years. The program for people in need such as Operation School Bell are outstanding. They also run the ReSale Connection in downtown Rochester, ... more

October 16, 2013

The past 10 years as a member of this all-volunteer organization have given me a chance to see commitment in action. This fabulous group provides new clothing to more than 2,000 children every year. It is a group of dedicated women who are active and focused on helping those in need. GREAT organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring in more members to expand our programs to those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

I have been a member of Assistance League for almost 10 years. The program for people in need such as Operation School Bell are outstanding. They also run the ReSale Connection in downtown Rochester, as a major source of funding for this all volunteer organization. OUTSTANDING group of people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

As a member of Assistance League of Southeastern Michigan for 10 years, I feel blessed to be a part of such an amazing group and be able to give a little something back to our community in helping others. The 'Thank You' letters and smiles from the children and families who have been recipients of our philanthropic programs is heartwarming and inspiring. Because of our generous contributors and dedicated members, we are able to continue providing clothing, food, tutoring, and care kits to thousands of individuals in need throughout the year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I have been a member of Assistance League for 8 years. The caring and commitment of the women in this organization is unbelievable! By raising money at our store, Resale Connection, and thru other fund raisers, women and children in need in the tri-county area are provided with basic necessities through clothing, food, and, tutoring programs. The rewards we receive in return are priceless....smiles, pictures, notes of appreciation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

I just joined Assistance League in the spring and I could not be more impressed by this volunteer group. They do incredible things for children and women with their Operation School Bell which gives... more

April 6, 2013

I have been a member for one year. This group is incredible - I can't even begin to list all the things they do for children, for women, for families. Their Operation School Bell clothes hundreds of needy kids every fall. They operate a wonderful tutoring program at a nearby school. They provide kits of clothing and other necessities to many local hospitals to give to victims of sexual abuse. They operate a Buddy Bear program. The list goes on and on. This is an all volunteer group and they welcome anyone in the Detroit area who wants to help. Members are friendly and welcoming to newcomers and new members are encouraged to help in whatever way is most comfortable for them. I have never been in a group that works so hard and does so much!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

I just joined Assistance League in the spring and I could not be more impressed by this volunteer group. They do incredible things for children and women with their Operation School Bell which gives clothes and school supplies to needy children, with their Wee kits which gives layettes to new moms in need of them, with one-to-one tutoring in schools and these are only three of the programs. What I really like is the way they involve new people by letting them just right into working with any group that seems to be the right fit. They train new volunteers and make them feel very comfortable and a necessary part of the group right from the start. I am so glad I found the Assistance League as a volunteer! Marilyn

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I began volunteering for this non-profit last year for their Operation School Bell program. The faces of the children as they entered the makeshift store in their schools gymnasium were unbelievable. They were so very happy. The first child I took through told me that she had never been shopping for "new clothes" before and asked me if she could keep them. She said "I don't have any money!" The second child, a little boy, seemed concerned as we approached the school pants fitting area where our volunteers measure the children's waists for size. He said "We don't have to try them on do we? I don't have underwear on. My mom had to wash them." I assured him he did not have to try them on and that he was getting an entire package of new underwear to take home. He said, "My mom will be so happy!". The sacks of clothing are as big as some of the children in the younger grades. Since that time I have began tutoring for K & 1st grade readers, delivered Wee Help kits and Buddy Bears to hospitals assembled Assault Survivor kits and filled backpackers of food on Fridays for children in need for the weekend. What a great organization. They have over 300 members. Not one member is paid. We have an upscale resale store in downtown Rochester that is the major source of funding for all of these great philanthropic programs. Each member is asked to work at least 7 shifts at the store per year and to volunteer to work on at least one philanthropic program during the year. Our monthly meetings are informative, organized and attended by over 100 people. There is something for everyone. I am amazed at the commitment of this fabulous group,of women from the Tri-County area of Michigan.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers