Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 25, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 25, 2012

Why do I volunteer at the Assistance League of Reno-Sparks? Because I believe in what they do! The League has more than 12 different programs that: help feed the seniors, clothe the low income back to school children, help the veterans, help with assault victims, help to supply needed supplies to teachers in the local school district, sell hand crafted merchandise to customers that the local seniors have made and this helps to supplement their income, plus many more programs that the League does. Through the League I can help to make a difference in our town. I always feel this enormous pride when I see the difference that it makes to those who receive these benefits. I know that I am volunteering in the right place. Jessie Scott

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 25, 2013

To see a group of women so dedicated to a cause is indeed an inspiration. To see the cohesiveness, the ability and the dedication of an inspired group makes one wonder why the rest of the world canno... more

November 25, 2014

Have been in business for a number of years and upon retirement went full bore into the Assistance League to further my quest for activity, and did I ever find it! Enjoy working in all of the programs, and can't say enough about the remarkable women who dedicate their hours to this amazing organization.
Our Thrift shop is immaculate, and we lovingly call it "The Nordstrom's of Thrift Shops". Can't think of another organization with the dedication of these ladies. As the saying goes, "Try it, you'll like it!".

Doxyfan
April 25, 2013

To see a group of women so dedicated to a cause is indeed an inspiration. To see the cohesiveness, the ability and the dedication of an inspired group makes one wonder why the rest of the world cannot operate like the Assistance League.Oh, yes, we do have bumps in the road, but cooperation and working together makes a task lighter. I am proud to be a member of the Assistance League of Reno-Sparks..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 25, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 25, 2012

I joined the Assistance League of Reno-Sparks almost five years ago, and I have been amazed by this energetic and organized group of wemen ever since. I am always struck by what is happening in the Assistance League building at any given time: women are working in the Thrift Shop, the Senior Sampler, the food pantry, the office, and in meetings, organizing our many programs. The fact the Assistance League is run totally by volunteers makes this organization even more impressive, especially considering the impact we make on children, the elderly, victims of abuse, and Veterans. Every program is well organized and carefully evaluated. I have been most closely associated with Links to Learning, a program that awards teachers (208 this year) money to bring books, math manipulatives, technology, etc., to their students. On a personal note, a friend whose 15-year-old daughter was sexually assaulted began to cry when I asked her if her daughter had received one of our sexual abuse survivor kits. She told me her daughter had slept with the teddy bear in the kit every night, and she felt that teddy bear had saved her daughter's life. Indeed, we do make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 25, 2012

I was introduced to the Assistance League of Reno-Sparks shortly after I moved here in 2000. Since I did not know anyone in the area, the members and voluteers became my family. But it was through the Operation School Bell program that I realized what a wonderful and worthy organization this was. Seeing the looks on the childrens' faces as they receive new clothes - many for the first time in their lives, and the looks of appreciation on parents' faces, is so rewarding. I have continued working with this program as well as taking part in many of the other programs that serve this community so well. This organization is made up totally of hard working volunteers, and it is truly doing such good work for so many!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 25, 2012

This organization is a big part of my life. When I retired I needed a activity to keep up my energy level. This organization not only gave me a new set of friends but a vehicle to help my community. Working with the students during Operations School Bell is very rewarding. The organization has also given me an opportunity to keep my computer skills updated and exercise my mind. This worthwhile group is a real asset to the Reno and Sparks communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 25, 2012

This past year, I received an award from the Links to Learning program. I was able to help many of my students who were behind in their math skills because of the award which allowed me to purchase math skills workbooks that could be used for extra practice at home. Thank you, Assistance League for providing the funds to help my third graders.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 25, 2012

Four years ago I was introduced to the Assistance League of Reno-Sparks at Women's Expo. Little did I realize I had stepped on a gold mine. This non profit is an all volunteer organization. We have 12 wonderful programs that provide services to benefit individuals in need in our community with empasis on children, seniors, veterans and victims of abuse.Our programs are funded by grants, fundraisers and other donations as well as proceeds from our Thrift Shop located on Vassar Street. I believe strongly in giving back to the community in which you live and that is exactly what Assistance League of Reno-Sparks does. All services stay in Washoe County.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 21, 2012

Visitors to Assistance League of Reno-Sparks' building on Vassar Street in Reno are amazed at the flurry of activity that goes on there: Six days a week volunteers man the Thrift Store and Senior Sampler consignment shop; the Food Pantry buzzes with members filling bags of food supplies, getting them ready for distribution to local low income seniors; Operation School BellĀ® committee members organizing the next shopping event to clothe low income elementary and middle school students; puppeteers rehearsing their next The Kids on the Block presentation to local school children on topics such as bullying and physical disabilities; Links to Learning members completing their selection process to award grant money to teachers for school projects for which funding is not available; volunteers receiving and sorting donations for sale, with unusable items going to other area nonprofits; and meetings and administration involving all 12 philanthropic programs. These amazing women give so much to the success of our chapter. If you get a chance, drop by and check out the action.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 21, 2012

I joined Assistance League a year ago this past September. They take the time to inform you of all their charitable endeavors before you even join. Because I serve as the PR photographer I go to most events to document it with photographs. I have never been involved with a group of women where so many show up to help whether its to man the Thrift shop, help bag food for the food pantry or read to preschool children. The camaraderie and friendships that develop from this 100% volunteer group is nothing less then inspiring. This is by far the best volunteer group I have ever encountered or been involved with in my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

As a new member, upon entering ALRS I was enthusiastically welcomed, trained, and mentored into the most exciting professional experience of my lifetime thus far. ALRS' sophisticated organization is a 100% volunteer membership, governed by its formal By-Laws, Policies, Standing Rules and 12 diverse and impressively managed philanthropic programs...ALL run like clockwork. The Board is nurturing and communicative, open to new ideas from the membership, even new members who want to see an idea developed, vetted and worked through to completion. ALRS' motto is 'Caring and commitment in action' which perfectly describes our membership's united dedicated actions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers