Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

If is difficult not to get emotional when you see the difference Assistance League of Greater Portland is making in so many lives in our community! Last year alone, over 2,600 children in need received brand new school clothes. And, that is just the tip of the iceberg! We also prepare kits for victims of assault who need to leave their clothing at hospitals for evidence. Then, we make Life Story Books for children leaving foster care and going to permanent families. These precious books are the child's personal history. We also partner with Janus Youth at Cordero, a residential treatment facility for young men.
Please visit our Thrift and Consignement Shops to find some amazing one-of-a-kind bargains!




























Please
October 11, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 30, 2012

Homeless youth are those youth between the ages of 12 and 21 who lack a stable residence and are living away from their parent or guardian. They are living in shelters, couch surfing with friends, se... more

October 11, 2014

This is an all member volunteer organization. All funds raised for philanthropic programs stay in the community. Thrift and Consignment shops are filled with excellent merchandise and communicate regularly with customers who have signed up to receive notices regarding sales and events. Merchandise does not last long in the shops because of good prices and the quality of the items. These shops are part of a nationwide chain of independently operated thrift/consignment shops throughout the country and staffed by member volunteers of Assistance League®.
November 30, 2012

Homeless youth are those youth between the ages of 12 and 21 who lack a stable residence and are living away from their parent or guardian. They are living in shelters, couch surfing with friends, seeking shelter in vehicles or abandoned buildings or sleeping on the street. They have no address or identification documents and no parental assistance in financial matters. They may have lost or severed contact with their parents or extended family. This is their description from the Oregon Report, Living in the Shadows, published in 2005. Assistance League®Portland is striving to help these students stay in high school by providing them with new, appropriate clothing that fits. In 2011-2012 Assistance League member volunteers clothed 338 of these students attending class in the Beaverton School District. Additionally, elementary school age students in the Beaverton and Hillsboro School District are provide new clothing that includes: a warm jacket; two pair of jeans and tops; six sets of socks and underwear, a shoe voucher, dental kit and an age appropriate book. Member volunteers give their time to work in the chapter's two shops, Thrift and Consignment, write grants, speak to local groups to raise awareness and hold major fundraising event. This organization has NO paid employees, everyone is a member volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Assistance League provided new clothing for 801 children in grades K-6 attending school in the Hillsboro School District and 315 children in grades K-2 attending school in the Beaverton School District 2010-2011.
Additional Assault Survivor kits are distributed to seven area hospitals so
victims can leave their clothing have something to wear home.
Washington and Multnomah County Children Services give each child leaving foster care a Life Story Book created by members of the chaper for each child to take their own history with them to their permanent family.
With the homeless and unaccompanied high schools students in the Beaverton School District, Assistance League provides job interview clothing.
As a member since 2004, I can not think of a better way to give back to the community. The member volunteers of this organization believe in what they are doing and demonstrate their commitment through volunteering in our shops and supporting our fund raising events.
Considering the need in the community there is much more that needs to be done. We hope to attract more member volunteers for our organiztion and additional financial support from the community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen the faces of excited children selecting their new clothes and received the thank you from grateful parents for being a part of this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the membership so that the shops which provide income for the programs could stay open longer each day.

October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

THIS ORGANIZATION PUTS CARING AND COMMITTMENT INTO ACTION THROUGH COMMUNITY BASED PHILANTHROPIC PROGRAMS WE ASSIST SMALL CHILDREN, MIDDLE SCHOOL AND HIGH SCHOOL CHILDREN WHO FALL BELOW THE POVERTY LINE AND NEED CLOTHING AND SHOES. WE SHARE OUR SKILLS WITH A PROGRAM FOR ADJUDICATED YOUNG MEN WHO THE STATE HAS DEEMED TREATMNT POSITIVE. RAPE?/ASSAULT VICTIMS RECEIVE A SURVIVORS KIT UPON LEAVING THE HOSPITALSO THATTHEIR SELF ESTEEM ALLOWS THEM TO RETURN HOME IN STREET CLOTHES. FOR YOUNG CHILDREN GOING INTO THEIR FIRST ADOPTIVE HOME, THE LADIES MAKE LIFE STORY BOOKS WHICH THEY MAKE AND WORK WITH 3 COUNTY CHILDRENS SERVICES DEPARTMENT. THE VOLUNTEERS ARE DEDICATED, CREATIVE AND POSITIVE ABOUT WHAT THE lEAGUE PROVIDES FOR oREGON
May 17, 2011

All funds stay in the community to support our philanthropic programs. This year we are providing Assault Survivor Kits to seven area hospitals. Meeting a recipient of this program was humbling. The positive comments about how much it meant to have clean clothes and hygiene supplies to leave the Emergency Room brought tears to those who heard the story. Assistance League® Portland and across the country support this program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have heard the stories from victims.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask more people to become member volunteers.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers