Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I love volunteering for Operation School Bell! I love the thrill that a student gets when they pick out their new clothes and the smile when they model them. A counselor once told me that it is not just the clothes that make a difference but the one-on-one attention that they receive from each volunteer.
April 2, 2013

more

April 2, 2013

I love being a volunteer at Assistance League of Norman for Operation School Bell (OSB). Often times children come in w/ down cast eyes, won't talk much or are scared. They leave with a smile on their face and chatting away about all the new clothes they get to take home. OSB allows these children to shop with pride knowing that they are receiving brand new clothes (not just cast offs). The volunteers are so loving and welcoming to all the kids, treating them with the love and dignity they deserve.
I can't say enough about the wonderful impact OSB has on the kids in our school district who might otherwise have to go without.
It is also a humbling experience for the volunteers. It's a reminder that while we might have so much we can always do more to make someone's life better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 1, 2013

more

February 1, 2013

Today was our school's last day to attend Operation School Bell this year. Thank you for the countless hours you worked in order to help our students have a wonderful experience and be set for the winter with appropriate school clothes! The building is beautiful, the shopping carts and take-home bags are special, the volunteer shoppers are gracious and loving, the clothes are beautiful and it's all done with such a sense of dignity for the children.
I wish you could see all of the children as they walk down the school halls wearing their new clothes! They always look at me with a big smile and with pride shining from their eyes as they tell me, "I got this at School Bell!"
Thank you!!
Suzie Price, LPC
School Counselor

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 23, 2013

I have worked School Bell for many years. It is little experiences like I had today that keep me coming back! Today was the first day of our spring session. I was waiting outside one of the dressing rooms while my student tried on some new clothes. The door of another dressing room opened and a charming first grade little boy said to me. "How do I look?" as he modeled what he was trying on. I replied, "You look great !" He twirled around and said with great joy and pride," I know!!" Operation School Bell allows its volunteers to witness many such moments of pure happiness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 18, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 18, 2013

I joined Assistance League seven years ago as a way to make new friends after moving to Norman. I got involved with Operation School Bell immediately and continue to volunteer with this vitally important outreach. As a retired teacher, I know how important it is to arrive at school ready to learn. Having appropriate school clothing that allows you to" fit in" with your peers is a critical component of school success. Counselors who accompany students to School Bell regularly comment on how grateful the children are for their new clothing and what a boost these items give them in terms of self esteem and school performance. Working School Bell is as rewarding an experience for the volunteer as it is for the student attending. The stories we share after each session run the gamut of emotions...poignant, funny and always heartwarming.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers