Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I am a school counselor at one of the elementary schools that the Assistance League serves through Operation School Bell. The volunteers that serve our kids are helpful, friendly, and have a big heart for our kids. They always leave feeling loved and spoiled. The clothes that they provide are top-notch as well. We are so grateful for OSB!
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I love volunteering for Operation School Bell! I love the thrill that a student gets when they pick out their new clothes and the smile when they model them. A counselor once told me that it is not just the clothes that make a difference but the one-on-one attention that they receive from each volunteer.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Today, I was lucky enough to get to take 14 of my students to Operation School Bell. Since I am a first-year School Counselor in Norman, this was my first trip to School Bell. It brought me a great deal of joy to see my kids so happy. The ladies who took them "shopping" were so kind and encouraging. All I had to do was gather permission slips and accompany my students on the bus. It was very organized and extremely easy. For an overloaded counselor with not enough hours in the day, I am eternally grateful...that my students have new clothes, that they know their community cares, that their hardworking parents and grandparents feel supported, and that I got to witness this awesome gift. Assistance League of Norman is a top notch organization. I am blown away by this experience for my students. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart, to all of the people who continue to make this possible. Thank you for impacting the lives of 14 students today and many, many more throughout the year.
September 30, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 30, 2014

I am a bus driver who has been bringing children to Operation School Bell for four years. I think the ladies of Operation School Bell are super heroes. What they do for these kids is amazing. I love looking at the kids' faces when they get back on the bus! Bill
October 21, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 21, 2013

The Assistance League of Norman is changing the lives of students through Operation School Bell. Operation School Bell served 1,700 students in Norman Public Schools last year ! As Director of Guidance and Counseling for Norman Public Schools, I have the great privilege to see and hear of the student benefits through participation in this program. Each of the 1,700 students received several new clothing items such a winter coat, jeans, slacks, dresses, sweaters, sweatshirts, t-shirts, underwear, socks, personal hygiene items and a book of their choice. For each age level of students, the clothes are great, new "with-it" styles and appropriate for their ages. As the students would say,
" Super awesome !". In addition to the clothing, students receive a voucher to go to a local shoe store and select a new pair of shoes that fits !

These amazing volunteers provide a personal shopping experience for each student. A volunteer personally shops with each student and lets them select colors and styles that they like. The students try the clothes on to ensure the right fit. Some of our special needs students with physical challenges need modifications to their clothing. Assistance League members always do alterations to ensure each child has the perfect fit. This is the first experience for some students to go to a store-like setting and select brand new clothes. It is not uncommon to see tears of joy from students and sometimes the volunteers. This is a heart-felt mission for the Assistance League.

The Assistance League members lead busy lives yet they find the volunteer time to fund raise, shop, stock and be personal shoppers to students. These purposeful actions sends the message that you are important, we care and we want you to be successful. It is the hope that someday that these students will find it in their heart to volunteer and make their future communities a better place. As adults, we need to model meaningful ways to enrich the lives of others and the Assistance League of Norman is an outstanding example.

Operation School Bell is already in second month of serving students. Hundreds of students have already been to School Bell for the 2013-2014 school year. Once again the goal is 1,700 students being served. From Norman Public Schools, thank you just doesn't convey how much you are appreciated and valued. I have to state again, " Assistance League of Norman is changing the lives of students".

Sharon Heatly
Director of Guidance and Counseling
Norman Public Schools
Norman, Oklahoma

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I enjoy donating clothes to Operation School Bell because I know my donation is going to a worthy cause. I took the opportunity to visit the OBS facility and I was amazed at how well it was organized and the selection of clothes and other items available to the children. The volunteers are wonderful as well!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 2, 2013

more

April 2, 2013

I love being a volunteer at Assistance League of Norman for Operation School Bell (OSB). Often times children come in w/ down cast eyes, won't talk much or are scared. They leave with a smile on their face and chatting away about all the new clothes they get to take home. OSB allows these children to shop with pride knowing that they are receiving brand new clothes (not just cast offs). The volunteers are so loving and welcoming to all the kids, treating them with the love and dignity they deserve.
I can't say enough about the wonderful impact OSB has on the kids in our school district who might otherwise have to go without.
It is also a humbling experience for the volunteers. It's a reminder that while we might have so much we can always do more to make someone's life better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 1, 2013

more

February 1, 2013

Today was our school's last day to attend Operation School Bell this year. Thank you for the countless hours you worked in order to help our students have a wonderful experience and be set for the winter with appropriate school clothes! The building is beautiful, the shopping carts and take-home bags are special, the volunteer shoppers are gracious and loving, the clothes are beautiful and it's all done with such a sense of dignity for the children.
I wish you could see all of the children as they walk down the school halls wearing their new clothes! They always look at me with a big smile and with pride shining from their eyes as they tell me, "I got this at School Bell!"
Thank you!!
Suzie Price, LPC
School Counselor

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2013

more

January 28, 2013

From all of us at Madison Elementary, a big THANKS for the wonderful opportunity for our stdents to attend Opertion School Bell. It only gets better every year. This year a special thanks for the extra trip to help our students. Please extend our appreciation to ALL for the dediction and attention to make a difference in the lives of our children!
Peggy James
School Counselor
Madison Elementary

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 23, 2013

I have worked School Bell for many years. It is little experiences like I had today that keep me coming back! Today was the first day of our spring session. I was waiting outside one of the dressing rooms while my student tried on some new clothes. The door of another dressing room opened and a charming first grade little boy said to me. "How do I look?" as he modeled what he was trying on. I replied, "You look great !" He twirled around and said with great joy and pride," I know!!" Operation School Bell allows its volunteers to witness many such moments of pure happiness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers