Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.978725
Write A Review
November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been a member since 2003. I never knew the rewards involved with giving back until I joined. Wow there is no greater experience. We do Operation School Bell and the school bus arrives and children from first to six grades show up and these children come in and we try on brand new clothes and we supply them with 2 brand new outfits including underwear, socks and one new pair of sneakers. They get a healh kit, school supplies a book and lunch. When children are homeless we get their sizes and we make a package of all the things that I listed above and they are delivered to the school. We give memory boxes to parents who have lost their child at birth. We deliver books to the schools that are written in english and spanish so the children can take home a book. Our group are all volunteers and no one gets a salary except the janitor. We have a thrift shop and the funds we get go toward all programs. After one operation school bell one of the boys I clothe was on his way back from the bathroom said to me "Thanks for buying me these new clothes". You can't buy that feeling of making a child happy. I am so proud to be a member.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Assistance League of Las Vegas is a local organization made up of volunteers who are committed to making over 8,000 children in Clark County schools feel good about themselves through our School Bell Program that supplies children with brand new clothes, shoes, health kits, and school supplies. In addition to our School Belle Program, we also have clothes closets in over 30 schools for emergencies, such as no jacket on a cold winter day, socks and underwear and other clothing needs. We also have a tutoring program in a local elementary school. If anyone is interested in joining an organization that will make you proud, then Assistance League of Las Vegas is the one!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been a member of the Assistance League for six years and have found it to be a genuinely worthwhile experience. There are many meaningful ways for our community volunteers to reach those in need. The women who are members are willing to give of themselves and share their kind-hearted and inspirational ideas, which has allowed us to continue to grow and reach so many people in our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been involved with The Assistance League of Las Vegas since 2009. I have never worked with ladies so giving of themselves. Every aspect of the Assistance League is to enrich the children's lives of the Las Vegas area. From the School Bell, Thrift Shop, Puppeteers, Bears program, Desert Sage, I could go on and on of the many committees of the Assistance League that are working for the Las Vegas children. The moment I walked into the Assistance League I knew this is where I wanted to give my volunteer time to. Everything is so well organized. You can see the genuine care these ladies give to these children who have less. This organization has made great differences in the lives of children in our area. I am proud to be a member of the Assistance League..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

The Assistance League of Las Vegas clothes over 8,000 poor local children a year through Operation School Bell, and it has many other wonderful efforts. As a member of the night-time portion of this group, we make and donate Memory Boxes to local hospitals for the families of premature infants and other babies who die in early infancy so that their family has a lovely gown for the burial, a pendent to bury with the infant and a memory book for the family. The group also has written sixteen bilingual Pocket Books which we donate by the tens of thousands to local public schools so that the kindergarten children own a book which they can read with their parents. We give the nurseries at the local public hospitals health kits for the new destitute mothers to take home so that they have a thermometer, baby blankets, and urgently needed necessities. We donate Shadow Buddies to the local Pediatric Oncologists so that children with newly diagnosed cancer can see what is happening to them, and then take the dolls with them for Show and Tell and to take to the hospital with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been involved with the Assistance League of Las Vegas for 5 years as a member of the evening auxiliary. This dedicated group of women, all volunteer, serves children and families in need in the Las Vegas area having clothed over 7000 children through Operation School Bell, donated over 80,000 Pocket Books to needy children in our local district schools, donated more than 200 Memory Boxes to families that have lost a baby at birth through area hospitals, donated clothing items to needy schools, and provided cuddly Bears for first responders to distribute. This organization has made a great difference in the lives of many. I appreciate volunteering with people who care so much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been a member of the Assistance League of Las Vegas since 2008, I found the League at a very down time in my life, having lost purpose. I walked into a family that provided not ony purpose, but friendship. The organization has such a diversity of programs that it is easy to become happily over-envolved. I participate in School Bell, clothing thousands of needy children. I was able to help set up the first (of nearly 40) Assistance League Closets in Elementary Schools, providing quick clothing needs for children. My favorite project in the Assistance League is being a " Kids On The Block" puppeteer performing meaningful skits on social issues and disabilities to third grade school children. It is highly rewarding organization that contributes greatly to the Las Vegas community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been a member of Assistance League's Auxiliary (smaller night-time group) but under the same umbrella since 2000. I love this organization, both the chapter and the auxiliary. Our part of the group provides "memory boxes" to area hospitals for grieving parents who lose an infant at birth. The boxes contain a blanket, a handmade burial gown and bonnet, a book on grieving and loss (English and Spanish versions) and an angel pin for the mom. We donate approximately 200 of these boxes per year. We also write, illustrate, and print our own copyrighted little books that we call Pocketbooks. Some are story books, some cover a concept like numbers or colors, and some are for the very earliest readers. This year, we will donate 90,000 of these little books to high risk schools. The women work extremely well together as a group and form very close bonds. Come join us!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been involved with Assistance league of Las Vegas for 10 years. This group of dedicated women have made a difference in the lives of children in our community for over 25 years. It has been an honor to work with this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have volunteered with Assistance League of Las Vegas for 12 years. The efficiency and camaraderie that is exhibited by our members is unique. I feel very good about the programs we have for children and the volunteers we have to serve them. We have the ability to hear about a need in a school, like emergency clothing, and now have a program in 37 schools to fill that need. Our thrift shop is a clean and friendly environment that provides low cost clothing and housewares to the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers