Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.978725
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a retired eye surgeon, and I love working with Operation School Bell and helping to clothe yearly
8,400 needy children here in Las Vegas, Nevada. We also donate Kindergarten and first grade books
which we wrote, over 16 titles, to at need public schools. We donated over 70,000 free
Pocket Books
on many different topics, in Spanish and English. We donate Memory Boxes to the neonatal and
obstetric units for the families of stillborn and the unfortunate premies who don't survive. This gives
the family a lovely baby gown, memorial pendant for the parents to keep, blanket, memory book, etc.
This fills a need for a burial gown, etc. We donate stuffed bears for police and fire units to give to
scared and traumatized children. We are involved in so many wonderful projects it is difficult to name
all of them. This is a great organization. I am a member of the Desert Sage Auxiliary, we are the unit
which meets at night. Kathy Mahon MD

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way for us to recruit young new members.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am starting year 9 with this wonderful non-profit and never cease to be amazed at the incredible programs that so benefit our community. Being an ALL-VOLUNTEER organization is the reason I was first drawn to join. All of our financial and in-kind donations are mainly geared to dress children sent to us by the school district - 8,100 in 2012-2013! In addition to our membership, we get so much help from companies, schools and the general community, which enables us to honor our commitment to our programs. Also, the friendships I've made are the icing on the cake and one of the rewards.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing that comes to mind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Being a small part of a very large organization is gratifying in so many ways: dressing school children Tuesday through Saturday one-on-one with such warmth and caring, delivering the bears to over 30 organizations who provide caring and support to children in distress, providing new clothes to 37 schools to have on hand items that may have been soiled or beyond wearing right from their AL's Closet when needed is a great project that impacts so many students as well as school staff and parents. These are just 3 ways that our members help the children of Las Vegas, as well as the community at large.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I am a retired teacher and I missed the children until I found out about Assistance League of Las Vegas. I knew of the Operation School Bell but did not connect the two until I went to a meeting and discovered just how wonderful it was. I have been volunteering for over 2 years now and will continue as long as I am able. It is a total delight to see the joy on the faces of the children when they are able to pick out new clothes, many of them have apparently been dressing is hand-me-downs exclusively. Their tales of where they live and the family circumstances would break your heart. Last school year we clothed 8,101 children and we are on our way to at least that many this year provided we do not run out of funds to pay for the clothes, school supplies, books and other items we donate. I am so delighted with all they do and what a lovely bunch of ladies they are.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have been a member of ALLV since 2009. I have met the most caring and devoted women. We have dresed over 8,100 children in 2011 thru Operation School Bell. Make a Difference Day we collected over 37,000 books to be delivered to Clark County Schools. I am very proud to work with such a dedicated group of women. They are trying to make a better life for these children to aspire to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with one of thier programs Operation School Bell for 5 years. Last year we dressed 8,101 children with brand new clothing, shoes, health kits and school supplies. Our organization is 100% volunteer. I heard recently from a manager at Office Max (one of our community volunteers) that 97% of all funds raised go to the children that we service. There is no organization to my knowledge that has that trck record. we also have Assitance League Closet which 47 local schools have a budget and we buy items of clothing that they keep in a closet and clothe emergency cases. We have a reading program at a local school. Kids on the Block is a educational puppet program that adresses bully, hadicaps and etc. Layette Program that provides layettes to low-income expectant parents at the county hospital. Our bear program provides stuffed teddy bears to traumatized children These bears are given to police, firefighters and other groups that deal with these children. There are many other things that this group does as well and this group is awesome.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have been a member since 2003. I find raising money through running a Thrift shop is a lot of fun. Our money is used to help support our Operation School Bell. The program provides new clothing to children whom our school district has sent to us. We also participate in Kids on the Block, a puppet program for third graders. this program discusses timely issues, such as bullying, divorce, and disabilities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have been a member for 16 years! This organization is extremely efficient and well run by all volunteers with no paid staff! All donations go directly to our programs. Operation School Bell provided new school clothing to 8,101 children in need last year! The children are transported to our facility by the School District where they are assisted one-on-one by a trained volunteer to select their clothing and other essentials. We also provide an opportunity for non-member volunteers from the community to help us clothe children, and they find it a most rewarding experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I consider it a privilege to be associated with this organization and to work with women who generously give of their time and talent day after day to help Assistance League meet its mission of enhancing the lives of children in need in the Las Vegas Valley. Being a member is is a big commitment...the work can be hard and the hours long, but the rewards are many. I'll never forget the first shift I worked in Operation School Bell helping a child "shop" for new clothing who said he had never had anything "new" before and when he learned that he could choose any shoes he wanted you would have thought it was Christmas morning! The smile on his face, the thankful hug received and the sense of pride I felt in knowing that I helped make that happen...that's what Assistance League is all about!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I love this organization and all the great ladies who volunteer here. We served so many children and families in need. I feel a sense of pride to be a part of this great organization. What I give is small compare to what I get back in return; friendship and a sense of belonging. I also learn a lot being with this diverse group of ladies who are smart, dedicated, driven and giving. If you are looking for a place where you can make a difference, this is the one to join.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers