Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

Earlier in my career, I thought that, at retirement, I would join the Peace Corp. When I actually retired I realized that the Peace Corp was not a viable option for me. I instead joined Assistance League of Kansas City. I am now serving as president for the fiscal year 2013-2014 and this is my third year on the board. Volunteering in this organization has been one of the more rewarding experiences of my life. We serve our community in a myriad number of ways, with Operation School Bell being our signature program. We provided new clothing to more than 2,000 elementary children from September 2012 to December 2012. In the coming months, we hope to clothe even more..

Our primary funding comes from our thrift store, THE ReSALE SHOP. We are fortunate to have a community that provides donations and also shops at our store.

Assistance League members are passionate and dedicated to the mission of serving our community.

Linda Tyree,
President

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funding through grants.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

I have been a Board member in various positions for a number of years. I continue to be amazed by the dedication demonstrated by the membership for our programs. It is through the dedication of the collective membership and the Board of Directors that we are able to accomplish what we do in the greater Kansas City area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to find more members as caring as those with whom I serve.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I am currently serving my second term as President of Assistance League of Kansas City and I am overwhelmed by the dedication of our volunteers to our mission of serving our community. Our 300+ volunteers worked 43,872 hours in service to 15,651 children, families, victims of trauma or assault and older adults. While our facilities are located in Gladstone, MO, our programs serve our neighbors throughout the Kansas City Metropolitan Area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

To complete the renovation of our new building which will be the new home of Operation School Bell and THE ReSALE SHOP.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Expanding our philanthropic programs to serve more people in our community.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers