Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.983615
Write A Review
July 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure and honor of working with the Assistance League of Kansas City for almost two years as a community partner. I am employed at Metropolitan Community College - Maple Woods as the Student Employment Coordinator. I was approached two years ago to participate in a pilot program to assist college students in need of a professional wardrobe, which is now named "The Best Foot Forward Program". The goal for the pilot was to serve up to 10 students the first year. After weeks of planning and training, we were able to serve six students in the first three months that the program started! The students served are now able present themselves in a professional manner. However, it is not just the clothing, but the advice, support and kindness that the students have received by the Personal Shoppers that makes this program so exceptional. I am so impressed with the women of the Assistance League of Kansas City! Their dedication and commitment to not only MCC-Maple Woods students, but to the entire Kansas City community is to be commended! They are an outstanding organization! Mary Lynn Munger, M.S. - MCC-Maple Woods

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I work at Metropolitan Organization To Counter Sexual Assault (MOCSA), the rape crisis center for the greater Kansas City metropolitan area. MOCSA staff we were talking about hospital advocacy with victims of sexual assault and the Assault Survivor Kits provided by the Assistance League of Kansas City came up in the conversation. It’s really difficult to convey to the Assistance League just how much those kits means to the victims we see at the hospital. Many times the victim comes in with nothing but the clothes on their back. And then even that is taken from them for evidence leaving them wondering what in the world they will wear when leaving the hospital. Sometimes it’s the first set of fresh clothes the victim has had in days. Some don’t own a toothbrush and they are so happy to brush their teeth. The Kits are really a tangible piece of evidence that someone cares about them. Thank you, Assistance League of Kansas City!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Dear Friends, I am a school social worker and I have had the privilege of working with the Assistance League for almost 10 years. They have truly gone above and beyond to help the economically disadvantaged children and families in the Kansas City area. They provide clothing (2-3 full outfits, socks & underwear, toiletries, coats, hats & gloves and shoe vouchers and free books. Not only have they helped elementary students, but based on our requests, they have started offering assistance to middle school students and also pre-K students. This has been extremely helpful as it seems needs increase even more as the students go onto to middle school. They have always been accommodating. We had several disabled children who needed assistance and we were not able to transport them to the AL, so AL brought the clothes to the students. It was awesome! Anytime I call them and ask for another spot or ask them to help another family, they are there for us! I have never been turned down when asking for assistance. In addition to clothing assistance, they provided a much needed fund to help pay for a variety of things including; prescription glasses, prescription medication, instrument rentals and/or other school fees that are often hard to fund for students. With several of our homeless students who don't have any money or support, the AL has been there to provide support and to also encourage positive things with the students and families. In one instance, we had a single mom who had lost her insurance. Her son required $500 in asthma medicine. The AL said to have the mom meet them at the pharmacy and they paid the entire cost. It was amazing and the mom and student were extremely grateful. In another situation, I had a graduating senior who could not afford her cap and gown, I asked and they paid for all it! An incoming kindergartner needed an epi pen at school and insurance would only pay for one, so I asked the AL if they could help and they said "Yes" with no hesitation. They do things like this everyday!! They see a need and they do everything they can to fill it and more. We are truly grateful for their wonderful and caring staff and for all of the outstanding volunteer work they do for our community! I hope that your agency will strongly consider awarding them a grant this year! They are truly "one of a kind"!! Sincerely, Tammy Slauson, LMSW, NKC Schools.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! They are a well oiled machine!! Every single volunteer is focused on the children and families! They really do a top notch job!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

The Assistance League of Kansas City has been very helpful in providing families with what they need. Working for the Children's Division I often see families that are in need of beds for the children, diapers, clothing, etc. The Assistance League has helped many families I have had on my case load. I had a family that the Assistance League helped get clothing vouchers for. The children stated that they had never owned new clothing. The clothing that they wore was either too big, too small or ripped. When this family was given the clothing vouchers they were extremely grateful and excited. I have had families where the children have never had a bed. The Assistance League has helped with this many times. The Assistance League has helped me, help people who truly need it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I am employed with the Missouri Children's Division and have accessed resources through the Assistance League of Kansas City to assist local families in need. The Assistance League has assisted many at risk children and families in the area by providing resources such as clothing, diapers, and household supplies for children for those in need. One family that I referred to the Assistance League was a single mother who had left a very abusive relationship. Her paramour had not allowed her to take any clothes or personal items. She and her two small children left with the clothes on their backs. The Assistance League helped this family with clothing and even delivered a bed for the family so that they would not have to sleep on the floor. Our agency has utilized the services of the Assistance League on numerous occasions and they often "fill the gap" in areas where no other service has been able to assist. We are blessed to have this agency to help our local families.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I work as a School Community Resource Specialist in a middle and elementary school. Assistance League has helped our families and students by providing clothing, undergarments and shoe vouchers through Operation School Bell. They were able to provide financial assistance for at least 3 middle school students to play an instrument in the band. They helped at least 5 students afford glasses and they provided at least 35 of our students with Target vochers to buy new clothing. The volunteers at the Assistance League are very easy to work with, and the process to access assistance is very quick. Without the Assistance Leagues assistance many North Kansas City students would go without. They are able to make my job easier and to help make our students lives easier when many are coming from tough situations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I am the Administrator at Heritage Village Assisted Living in Gladstone, MO. Assistance League brings smiles to our Seniors. Giving Seniors the ability to enjoy life. Creating memories and restored hope to not be forgotten by the community. Assistance League touch peoples lives, and gives the community faith within itself and others.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I am the Site Manager for a homeless services center in the Kansas City area. The Assistance League donated time, energy, and funds needed to prepare more than 150 backpacks. The youth department within the assistance league collected hundreds of used t-shirts and turned them into quick easy to carry backpacks. The backpacks were filled with personal hygiene products that included, but not limited to: soap, tooth brush, tooth paste, band-aids, a comb, and hand sanitizer. The Assistance League contiues to donate laundry detergent, socks, and feminie hygiene products through out the year. The thing most greatly appreciated about the Assistance League is that they recognize that donations are greatly need when it is not the giving season. Everyone gives during holiday season, but the Asistance League gives when all other donations are down.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

I am a licensed clinical social worker at an emergency children's center. These children and their families are currently in a crisis situation. The children often have experienced abuse and/or neglect and have been removed from their home. The Assistance League of KC provides a wonderful service to our children by providing birthday bags. These bags are full of gender-specific toys, books, and hygiene items. We also use these bags for good-bye parties when the children leave our facility. The children enjoy these so much and it really makes a difference for them to know that people are thinking of them and care about them. We appreciate the Assistance League of KC!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2011

more

May 4, 2011

As the Coordinator of Advocacy Services for the Metropolitan Organization to Counter Sexual Assault (MOCSA), I have had the pleasure to work closely with the Assistance League of Kansas City for several years. The Assistance League plays a very important role in our work to support survivors of sexual assault since they provide us with care kits for victims at the hospital. These Assault Survivor Kits include clothing, toiletries, and a book on healing from rape. These items are presented to survivors when our advocates meet them at the hospital to provide support during the forensic medical exam. This exam often requires victims to give up their clothing during the evidence collection process, so having clean, comfortable clothing and toiletries to clean up with after the exam can make a world of difference. We are so grateful for the Assistance League and the great work that they do preparing these kits and ensuring that survivors of sexual assault in the Greater Kansas City area can feel as comfortable as possible during this difficult process. They are such an asset to the community!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am privileged to see the impact of the assault survivor kits provided by the Assistance League when they are received by survivors of sexual assault at the hospital. It is amazing how much of a difference the items in the kit make to survivors. Victims have told me that they feel like a person again after being able to clean up after the exam and change into the new, comfortable clothing. That is so important to someone may feel dehumanized by the experience of the sexual assault.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything to change.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers