Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.981485
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this agency. They have come through for families time and time again. Assistance League of Kansas City provided 9 families that I am working with school supplies for the upcoming school year, without this support those children would have started school without the supplies that they need. This service allows the children to go to school with the same supplies as the other children and feel like part of the group. They also provided two sets of grandparents clothes for their grandchildren who they took in on an emergency basis with nothing other than what the children had on. In times of crisis when families do not know who to turn to they are there and they respond quickly so the family knows that they are not just another number. The Assistance League of Kansas City provided a family that was evicted from their home with little notice clothing vouchers so the children would have clothes for the upcoming school year, the children were so very excited to get to pick out clothes and it was an absolute blessing how quickly they received the vouchers. The agency went above and beyond with another family to provide a bed for a special needs youth. The community is definitely benefited by the work of this agency.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No Changes

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2014

more

April 10, 2014

This dynamic organization fills unmet local needs efficiently and with impressive kindness. Over my 20 years as an elementary school counselor I've watched The Assistance League of Kansas City expand and improve their school clothing program (Operation School Bell) both in quality of clothing and in number of children served. A quick scan of their website will tell you that OSB is one of their many valuable services. What the site may not communicate is the impact their work has on vulnerable individuals. Imagine a kindergarten child who rarely speaks coming to school the morning after a trip to OSB sporting new clothes and stopping along the way to his classroom to poise and say, "Ta-dah!" Picture precious children dressing up in their best clothes for a much-awaited trip to select the only new clothes they will get. Along with the tangible gifts the students enjoy the excitement of "shopping" in what looks like a real store, not a thrift shop. Perhaps most impressive is the kindness and dignity the volunteers offer the students. For many of us who regularly shop in retail stores it is difficult to understand the impact OSB has on students. But it is not difficult to help make the experience happen.
January 2, 2014

more

January 2, 2014

I work for the Clay County Children's Division and I have had to contact the Assistance League for multiple reasons and I have always been helped 100% of the time. No matter what I have asked from them to help my families I have never been turned down. It is so nice when the families are so grateful for everything we do for them and I can only tell them that it was with the help from the Assistance League that made it all possible. Thank you so much for helping out when we need it. Its a tough job but a resource like this makes it all worth it!!! Thank you for everything you do!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 18, 2013

more

December 18, 2013

I'm an elementary school counselor and have had the opportunity to take many of "my kids" shopping with the wonderful ladies that run our Assistance League or Operation School Bell as we call it. Today one of my older student reminded me why what they do is so powerful and has such deep meaning. My "little guy" came out of the shopping area, and stopped in the doorway and said "That was the best experience I've ever had!" This very private, proud "little" boy of 10 said this so honestly and with complete awe on his face, his eyes were shining with (I am pretty sure he had tears in his eyes) joy.

Another thing many of the children mentioned was that this was the first time most of them had ever had the opportunity to pick out their own clothes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they are fully funded to meet the needs of any children in our area. If I win the lottery you will be!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2013

more

November 21, 2013

I work for the Children's Division in Clay County. Recently, Assistance League has really gone above and beyong to help the families I serve. This week, they provided a pack in play for a child that has medical diagnosis and did not have a bed to sleep in. This child will greatly benefit as she will have her own bed and place to sleep as oppose to sleeping with others.

AL was also able to provide glasses for a child that had broken his and the family could not afford new ones. This child is legal blind in one eye so this child will benefit academically as he can now read the board at school and better participate.

AL provided bedding and clothing for 3 children of a family I recently worked with that was previously homeless and had lost all their belongings. The children were over joyed that they were able to get new coats and clothes and it was heartwarming to watch. They mentioned it being "like Christmas."

AL will always find a way to reach out to a child in need. AL also makes special trips to community agencies to make them aware of their program and share the love they have in helping children. I feel honored and lucky to have such a great organization to work with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There would be nothing I would change!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I work with teens and young adults in the Northland. The Assistance League has been a crucial resource for our youth over the years--the missing link that helps them with basics like clothing and birth certificates/IDs. The birth certificates & IDs have helped many youth in our programs get accepted into housing programs, get jobs, and get enrolled in school. The Assistance League has helped our youth obtain job interview clothes. Their flexibility has helped us meet unique needs that come up as well.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

As a case manager in a domestic violence shelter, I am able to request Assistance League vouchers to local clothing stores. This is a huge help to moms fleeing abuse who typically come to shelter with close to nothing but what they are wearing. School time clothes shopping is not an option for most moms in shelter. Being able to use Assistance League vouchers to take kids shopping for school clothes and shoes is a huge help to moms and puts smiles on kids faces.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would hope that Assistance League continues to have access to funds that help our women and children in shelter.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2012

I work for a shelter in the KC Northland and we recently partnered with the Assistance League Kansas City to provide teddy bears to the children we serve. Our shelter provides a safe place for childr... more

September 10, 2013

The Assistance League of KC provides our shelter with Celebration Bags- which are used for birthday celebrations, good bye gifts, and achievement parties. The toys and party supplies in these bags truly make a difference in the lives of the children we serve every day. These celebration bag donations assure that every child served by our shelter has a homemade cake, age appropriate gift, and fun decorations for their party. We are so thankful for the ongoing support of the Assistance League of KC!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2012

I work for a shelter in the KC Northland and we recently partnered with the Assistance League Kansas City to provide teddy bears to the children we serve. Our shelter provides a safe place for children to go when they are in crisis. The children are often scared and have recently experience a traumatic event. We try to make the children feel more comfortable by having friendly bedrooms for them to stay in, with an Assistance League teddy bear placed next to their pillow. This may be the first object a child reaches for when they enter their new bedroom. We often see children holding their bears tightly, thankful to have something soft and comfortable to call their own.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

Barry School participated in Operation School Bell yesterday and had a fabulous experience- you all have really gotten good at getting us in and out of there! I love the 2:1 ratio, this seems to really facilitate the process. And the volunteers were so good yesterday! We brought an autistic student and one of your volunteers was just wonderful with him. ALL of our students talked about how much fun they had and how they so love their new clothes!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funding so they can help even more children!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

I am so pleased with the assistance and generosity that the Child In Need program (a part of the Assistance League of Kansas City) provided to a nonverbal elementary student of mine. We had been researching how to fund the purchase of an iPad, case, and computer program that would assist this student who is unable to communicate verbally. What a blessing it was when we applied for and received all of these essential tools for this student. Hearing him speak through his iPad and be able to communicate his wants and needs is one of the greatest joys I've had in my professional career! Thank you for your quick response and your willingness to help others!!!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers