Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.981485
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Oh my goodness, I cannot say enough great things about The Assistance League of Kansas City. Each year they do so much to help our students -- from providing free safety curriculum each spring to clothing our children with new clothes each fall. The smiles on our students faces beam brighter than ever each time we take them there, and I cannot express enough gratitude for the services they provide.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2014

more

April 25, 2014

This organization has been such an amazing resource for the students at our school! The volunteers are so welcoming and patient. The kids get such a lift by getting cute, new clothes. We love to see their "fashion show" at school the next day!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

What are great organization that so benefited and helped our community! I am a school counselor at Heritage Middle School in Liberty, MO and this program served many of my students and their families who needed help. It was wonderful to see and hear the gratitude from the parents and the students who were offered the opportunity of purchasing clothing this winter. The volunteers at the Assistance League of Kansas City were so very accommodating and professional. A family from my school was unable to attend either of the two designated shopping nights due to the death of a parent. The volunteers, upon hearing of the circumstances, contacted me and worked closely with myself and the family to find a separate day and time that was convenient for them to meet at the store! The generous volunteers did not want this family to miss out on such a beneficial opportunity. The shopping experience ended up being very uplifting for the family even though they going thru such a difficult time! I was appreciative and overjoyed to see the kindness and compassion of this organization! I am very excited to work with them in the future.
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

What a fabulous local resource! I have used the I'm In Charge program with students and it is a great way to approach potentially uncomfortable topics with kids! The video is well done and the kids LOVE the booklets! It does a great job of bridging the gap between home and school as safety is one of those issues we as adults often assume someone else is talking with kids about. Thanks so the Assistance League of Kansas City, schools can do their part in helping to keep our children safe!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

The Assistance League of Kansas City has helped countless children served in my program in a variety of ways. They give us clothing vouchers for children who are living in our Crisis Shelter for a variety of reasons ( homelessness, abuse, neglect etc). This service is something that brings a smile to so many who have never had the means to wear a new coat to school or a pair of shoes that the soles aren't falling off. I can't express how much gratitude I have to this program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2012

I work for a shelter in the KC Northland and we recently partnered with the Assistance League Kansas City to provide teddy bears to the children we serve. Our shelter provides a safe place for childr... more

September 10, 2013

The Assistance League of KC provides our shelter with Celebration Bags- which are used for birthday celebrations, good bye gifts, and achievement parties. The toys and party supplies in these bags truly make a difference in the lives of the children we serve every day. These celebration bag donations assure that every child served by our shelter has a homemade cake, age appropriate gift, and fun decorations for their party. We are so thankful for the ongoing support of the Assistance League of KC!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2012

I work for a shelter in the KC Northland and we recently partnered with the Assistance League Kansas City to provide teddy bears to the children we serve. Our shelter provides a safe place for children to go when they are in crisis. The children are often scared and have recently experience a traumatic event. We try to make the children feel more comfortable by having friendly bedrooms for them to stay in, with an Assistance League teddy bear placed next to their pillow. This may be the first object a child reaches for when they enter their new bedroom. We often see children holding their bears tightly, thankful to have something soft and comfortable to call their own.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

As the senior pastor of Avondale United Methodist Church I know first-hand the great gratitude of the congregation for the assistance of the Assisteens. They have been an essential part or our congregation's outreach to children of the community during the annual "Trunk or Treat" event in the church parking lot. For several years Assisteens have decorated car trunks, come in costume, and provided treats for children to experience a friendly and safe Halloween celebration.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I work at Liberty Ambulatory Surgery Center in Liberty, Mo. We provide outpatient surgery services for a large number of small children. For the past five years that I have been employed here the Assistance League of Kansas City has provided us with teddy bears for the children. To see the look on the faces of the little ones going back for surgery when they receive their bear is priceless. The bears bring comfort to the children who are scared but more then that the parents who come back to the waitng room while their child is undergoing their procedure find great comfort in having a bear to hold on to while their child is not in their arms. All we have to do is pick up the phone and the bears appear! This has been a blessing to everyone involved!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 5, 2012

more

March 5, 2012

I work as an Activities Director at a Nursing & Rehabilitation Center in Kansas City. The Assistance League has offered so many wonderful activities for our residents. I can not thank them enough for bringing in so many unique activities for our residents & seeing the smiles on their faces. All of the women I have met with the Assistance League have been absolutely wonderful & so pleasant to work with. I look forward to continuing to work with the Assistance League in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2011

more

April 29, 2011

The Assistance League of Kansas City is vital part in the success of our hospital advocacy program here at MOCSA. The kits that they provide for sexual assault survivors who go to the hospital for evidence collection are a key piece in giving those survivors some dignity and self-respect back. They provide over 400 of these kits a year to our organization which include new clothes, underwear, toothbushes, toothpaste, and soap.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I cannot count the number of victims at the hospital who are so thankful to have nice clean clothes to go home in and a toothbrush and toothpaste to brush their teeth after a forensic exam or soap to take a shower with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers