Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.978725
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2012

I have been a member of Assistance League of Kansas City for nearly 3 years. It is a wonderful organization and it is very rewarding to feel like I am making a difference in our community. I work a... more

August 21, 2013

Doing volunteer work for Assistance League of Kansas City is very rewarding. We are also helping
ourselves by helping others. Our non-profit helps people in many walks of life from children needing
clothes to feel confident about themselves, to Seniors in nursing homes. We help scared
children
in crisis situations or having surgery by giving them a Teddy Bear. One of our newest programs is to
help ready men and women for job interviews. I have met so many wonderful ladies since I have
joined Assistance League of Kansas City.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2012

I have been a member of Assistance League of Kansas City for nearly 3 years. It is a wonderful organization and it is very rewarding to feel like I am making a difference in our community. I work at the Re-Sale shop and also at the Operation School Bell. It really makes you feel good when you help the children select new clothes and you can just see the excitement on the kids faces. I also help with Operation Hug, which is a Teddy Bear program. We don't actually get to see how a bear helps a child at a hospital but the nurses are so HAPPY when we bring them their bears. It makes me feel like a better person being involved with Assistance League of Kansas Citiy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am happy that I have clothes that i can wear for jobs interview. I'm really glad they provide me clothes because I know that it is expensive to purchased. Thank You for the clothing I need for interview.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

A friend invited me to go to an informational meeting a couple of years ago. She assured me that there was a committment but not a big one. Lots of people doing a little make the organization provide a lot. However, as I became more and more involved and found the niche that I liked best, I find spending time at the ReSale Shop to be so much fun. I got involved with some committees and was asked by the President to serve as Property Manager. I love it all!

ALKC is an amazing organization helping thousands of people, not only children but all ages in one way or another with our 12 programs supported by the revenue from the ReSale Shop. I am so proud to be involved with an organization of this stature and dedication.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

I am a volunteer for several of the philanthropic programs sponsored by Assistance League of Kansas City, a 100% volunteer organization. I work in their ReSale Shop (thrift store) which provides about 98% of ALKC's funding. I am a volunteer for Operation School Bell, which provided new clothing to almost 2000 elementary school children in 2011-2012. ALKC also has programs assisting seniors, assault victim survivors, and children and families in crisis. ALKC not only responds to the needs of our community but provides an extremely rewarding volunteer opportunity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

In high school, I served as an officer in the teenage auxiliary of Assistance League of Kansas City, Assisteens. I am now in college, but my experiences as an Assisteen member and officer taught me effective leadership styles I continue to use today and ingrained within me the importance of serving one's community. The Assisteens service project I most enjoyed was the Senior Citizen Prom. We filled the recreation room of a local senior center with decorations, music, dancing, and games. We hired a professional photographer capture photos of couples and groups of friends throughout the event, and even crowned a king and queen. The most wonderful part of the event were the comments from some residents who looked forward to the prom every year and had a lovely time. One gentleman in particular, every year, arrived as soon as the event begun and partied until the very end. His smile made everything the Assisteens do worthwhile. Assisteens and Assistance League of Kansas City truly work to improve the lives of community members about them and genuinely succeed. I was blessed to be a part of such a group.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've experienced the invaluable results of membership (bolstering a heart of service for others) and seen the positive impacts of both the Assisteens and Assistance League of Kansas City (visit the organization's web page for a listing of all its incredible service efforts).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Assisteens could simply reach out further with a larger membership. But, certainly one of the most challenging aspects of non-profit work is recruiting members.

April 26, 2011

more

April 26, 2011

One of the many projects under the Assistance League of Kansas City is Operation School Bell. Each year about 40 elementary students from my school district attends Operation School Bell. During their visit to OSB, students receive new clothing and a voucher for a new pair of shoes. For many of the students that attend, this is their first opportunity to shop, try-on, and select BRAND NEW clothing. The volunteers that work at OSB are always patient, friendly and kind to our students. Overall, this is a GREAT experience for our students. This program provides so much more than just the clothing the children go home with. It helps boost the children's self-esteem and confidence. I send a big thank you to all of the volunteers and sponsors that keep this program running.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

our school

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the number of students that can attend.

April 20, 2011

more

April 20, 2011

I am a volunteer with Assistance League of Kansas City. I am amazed at the committment of the volunteers and the impact of their good work in Kansas City. ALKC is making a difference in the lives of children and families in Kansas City through several philanthropic programs that provide new school clothing, backpacks, school supplies and other necessities for children in need, teaches practical skills to children home alone or away from home, gives teddy bears to children in hospitals, offers clothing and support to victims of sexual assault, and supports seniors in area nursing homes.

One of our largest progrms is the Operation School Bell program which provided new clothing and supplies to over 2000 needy and at-risk elemenary and middle school students in 2010. There is nothing better than assisting these children as they choose their new clothes! They are so excited and proud. And studies show that these children have better behavior at school, have improved self confidence and are better integrated with their peers after coming to Operation School Bell.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally experienced the positive difference that Assistance League of Kansas City is making in the lives of children as I volunteer at Operation School Bell program. The children who attend this program are so excited and proud. They love the whole experience. I have also personally spoken to school counselors and parents and heard their comments as to how important and vital this program is to children in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only changes I would make to ALKC would be to have more volunteers to help us make positive differences in the lives of needy children and familes in our community.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers