Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.983335
Write A Review
December 15, 2014

more

December 15, 2014

Week of December 8th my husband and I had stopped at Payless Shoes in Liberty and the store was filled with children excited about getting shoes. I said hi to one of the children and ask them if they were getting new shoes and 3 little girls said yes we just went to a place where we got to pick out brand new clothes and now we are picking out our own shoes and they had such big smiles on their faces. I whispered to my husband while we were in the store and said they have just been to OSB.
I am part of this organization and always feel rewarded when working at OSB, but it was even a greater experience listening to all the happy children talking to the adults about their new clothes and shoes.
December 3, 2014

more

December 3, 2014

For the last several years, I have helped our school counselor with taking our children to Operation School Bell. This is such a fantastic program. The ladies are so helpful and patient with the children. Each child's face lights up when their name is called to walk into the "shopping area" and choose their own clothes. The Children leave there not only with the generosity of Operation School Bell but with pride and happiness. In the days that follow their trip to Operation School Bell, you see the pride on their faces as they show off their new outfits. So happy and big smiles! Thank you for this wonderful program and the needs that in fills in these children's lives.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

In the previous review, the wrong initials were used for this agency. The initials CAC were used instead of AL of Kansas City. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

The Assistance League of Kansas City offered to donate $500 to our school based program to purchase
uniforms for families that do not have the money to get their child a uniform. Below is the response from the gentlemen that went with the volunteer to purchase the uniforms. We are truly grateful for their generosity.

"AL of Kansas City was very eager to help with as many uniforms as they were allowed to. We were at the register and the balance was like $430.00 and I was actually satisfied with the amount of uniforms we had, but Etta mae insisted we reach the whole $500.00 that was alloted to us. Etta mae insisted I go back and get more until we reached our limit. While shopping Etta mae and I spoke about our school district and I could tell that her organization really cared about our students and that community as a whole. I expressed to Etta several times how grateful spofford & Hickman were to be receiving such a generous donation, and we would have been grateful weather we received 20 uniforms or only 2."
August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

CAC offered to donate $500 to our school based program to purchase uniforms for families that do not have the money to get their child a uniform. Below is the response from the gentlemen that went with the volunteer to purchase the uniforms. We are truly grateful for CAC generosity.

"CAC
was very eager to help with as many uniforms as they were allowed to. We were at the register and the balance was like $430.00 and I was actually satisfied with the amount of uniforms we had, but Etta mae insisted we reach the whole $500.00 that was alloted to us. Etta mae insisted I go back and get more until we reached our limit. While shopping Etta mae and I spoke about our school district and I could tell that her organization really cared about our students and that community as a whole. I expressed to Etta several times how grateful spofford & Hickman were to be receiving such a generous donation, and we would have been grateful weather we received 20 uniforms or only 2."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2012

I have been a member of Assistance League of Kansas City for nearly 3 years. It is a wonderful organization and it is very rewarding to feel like I am making a difference in our community. I work a... more

August 21, 2013

Doing volunteer work for Assistance League of Kansas City is very rewarding. We are also helping
ourselves by helping others. Our non-profit helps people in many walks of life from children needing
clothes to feel confident about themselves, to Seniors in nursing homes. We help scared
children
in crisis situations or having surgery by giving them a Teddy Bear. One of our newest programs is to
help ready men and women for job interviews. I have met so many wonderful ladies since I have
joined Assistance League of Kansas City.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2012

I have been a member of Assistance League of Kansas City for nearly 3 years. It is a wonderful organization and it is very rewarding to feel like I am making a difference in our community. I work at the Re-Sale shop and also at the Operation School Bell. It really makes you feel good when you help the children select new clothes and you can just see the excitement on the kids faces. I also help with Operation Hug, which is a Teddy Bear program. We don't actually get to see how a bear helps a child at a hospital but the nurses are so HAPPY when we bring them their bears. It makes me feel like a better person being involved with Assistance League of Kansas Citiy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am happy that I have clothes that i can wear for jobs interview. I'm really glad they provide me clothes because I know that it is expensive to purchased. Thank You for the clothing I need for interview.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

A friend invited me to go to an informational meeting a couple of years ago. She assured me that there was a committment but not a big one. Lots of people doing a little make the organization provide a lot. However, as I became more and more involved and found the niche that I liked best, I find spending time at the ReSale Shop to be so much fun. I got involved with some committees and was asked by the President to serve as Property Manager. I love it all!

ALKC is an amazing organization helping thousands of people, not only children but all ages in one way or another with our 12 programs supported by the revenue from the ReSale Shop. I am so proud to be involved with an organization of this stature and dedication.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

I am a volunteer for several of the philanthropic programs sponsored by Assistance League of Kansas City, a 100% volunteer organization. I work in their ReSale Shop (thrift store) which provides about 98% of ALKC's funding. I am a volunteer for Operation School Bell, which provided new clothing to almost 2000 elementary school children in 2011-2012. ALKC also has programs assisting seniors, assault victim survivors, and children and families in crisis. ALKC not only responds to the needs of our community but provides an extremely rewarding volunteer opportunity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

In high school, I served as an officer in the teenage auxiliary of Assistance League of Kansas City, Assisteens. I am now in college, but my experiences as an Assisteen member and officer taught me effective leadership styles I continue to use today and ingrained within me the importance of serving one's community. The Assisteens service project I most enjoyed was the Senior Citizen Prom. We filled the recreation room of a local senior center with decorations, music, dancing, and games. We hired a professional photographer capture photos of couples and groups of friends throughout the event, and even crowned a king and queen. The most wonderful part of the event were the comments from some residents who looked forward to the prom every year and had a lovely time. One gentleman in particular, every year, arrived as soon as the event begun and partied until the very end. His smile made everything the Assisteens do worthwhile. Assisteens and Assistance League of Kansas City truly work to improve the lives of community members about them and genuinely succeed. I was blessed to be a part of such a group.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've experienced the invaluable results of membership (bolstering a heart of service for others) and seen the positive impacts of both the Assisteens and Assistance League of Kansas City (visit the organization's web page for a listing of all its incredible service efforts).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Assisteens could simply reach out further with a larger membership. But, certainly one of the most challenging aspects of non-profit work is recruiting members.

April 26, 2011

more

April 26, 2011

One of the many projects under the Assistance League of Kansas City is Operation School Bell. Each year about 40 elementary students from my school district attends Operation School Bell. During their visit to OSB, students receive new clothing and a voucher for a new pair of shoes. For many of the students that attend, this is their first opportunity to shop, try-on, and select BRAND NEW clothing. The volunteers that work at OSB are always patient, friendly and kind to our students. Overall, this is a GREAT experience for our students. This program provides so much more than just the clothing the children go home with. It helps boost the children's self-esteem and confidence. I send a big thank you to all of the volunteers and sponsors that keep this program running.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

our school

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the number of students that can attend.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers