Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.980395
| 1 ... 3 4 5 |
Write A Review
June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

As the senior pastor of Avondale United Methodist Church I know first-hand the great gratitude of the congregation for the assistance of the Assisteens. They have been an essential part or our congregation's outreach to children of the community during the annual "Trunk or Treat" event in the church parking lot. For several years Assisteens have decorated car trunks, come in costume, and provided treats for children to experience a friendly and safe Halloween celebration.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I am the Site Manager for a homeless services center in the Kansas City area. The Assistance League donated time, energy, and funds needed to prepare more than 150 backpacks. The youth department within the assistance league collected hundreds of used t-shirts and turned them into quick easy to carry backpacks. The backpacks were filled with personal hygiene products that included, but not limited to: soap, tooth brush, tooth paste, band-aids, a comb, and hand sanitizer. The Assistance League contiues to donate laundry detergent, socks, and feminie hygiene products through out the year. The thing most greatly appreciated about the Assistance League is that they recognize that donations are greatly need when it is not the giving season. Everyone gives during holiday season, but the Asistance League gives when all other donations are down.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I work at Liberty Ambulatory Surgery Center in Liberty, Mo. We provide outpatient surgery services for a large number of small children. For the past five years that I have been employed here the Assistance League of Kansas City has provided us with teddy bears for the children. To see the look on the faces of the little ones going back for surgery when they receive their bear is priceless. The bears bring comfort to the children who are scared but more then that the parents who come back to the waitng room while their child is undergoing their procedure find great comfort in having a bear to hold on to while their child is not in their arms. All we have to do is pick up the phone and the bears appear! This has been a blessing to everyone involved!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

I am a licensed clinical social worker at an emergency children's center. These children and their families are currently in a crisis situation. The children often have experienced abuse and/or neglect and have been removed from their home. The Assistance League of KC provides a wonderful service to our children by providing birthday bags. These bags are full of gender-specific toys, books, and hygiene items. We also use these bags for good-bye parties when the children leave our facility. The children enjoy these so much and it really makes a difference for them to know that people are thinking of them and care about them. We appreciate the Assistance League of KC!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

I am a volunteer for several of the philanthropic programs sponsored by Assistance League of Kansas City, a 100% volunteer organization. I work in their ReSale Shop (thrift store) which provides about 98% of ALKC's funding. I am a volunteer for Operation School Bell, which provided new clothing to almost 2000 elementary school children in 2011-2012. ALKC also has programs assisting seniors, assault victim survivors, and children and families in crisis. ALKC not only responds to the needs of our community but provides an extremely rewarding volunteer opportunity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 5, 2012

more

March 5, 2012

I work as an Activities Director at a Nursing & Rehabilitation Center in Kansas City. The Assistance League has offered so many wonderful activities for our residents. I can not thank them enough for bringing in so many unique activities for our residents & seeing the smiles on their faces. All of the women I have met with the Assistance League have been absolutely wonderful & so pleasant to work with. I look forward to continuing to work with the Assistance League in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012

more

February 23, 2012

I work as a Dementia and Alzheimer's unit manager in a local nursing facility. The Assistance League has been working with our facility for over a year. In this timeframe they have brought in many different shows and events for our residents. Some include: a fashion show, barbershop chorus, pottery barn, Cloggers and many more. My residents love to listen to music and watch different groups it helps them reminisce. They are a great asset for our building, without them we wouldn't have nearly as many great activities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2011

more

May 4, 2011

As the Coordinator of Advocacy Services for the Metropolitan Organization to Counter Sexual Assault (MOCSA), I have had the pleasure to work closely with the Assistance League of Kansas City for several years. The Assistance League plays a very important role in our work to support survivors of sexual assault since they provide us with care kits for victims at the hospital. These Assault Survivor Kits include clothing, toiletries, and a book on healing from rape. These items are presented to survivors when our advocates meet them at the hospital to provide support during the forensic medical exam. This exam often requires victims to give up their clothing during the evidence collection process, so having clean, comfortable clothing and toiletries to clean up with after the exam can make a world of difference. We are so grateful for the Assistance League and the great work that they do preparing these kits and ensuring that survivors of sexual assault in the Greater Kansas City area can feel as comfortable as possible during this difficult process. They are such an asset to the community!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am privileged to see the impact of the assault survivor kits provided by the Assistance League when they are received by survivors of sexual assault at the hospital. It is amazing how much of a difference the items in the kit make to survivors. Victims have told me that they feel like a person again after being able to clean up after the exam and change into the new, comfortable clothing. That is so important to someone may feel dehumanized by the experience of the sexual assault.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything to change.

April 29, 2011

more

April 29, 2011

I have brought children to operation School Bell, a program for disadvantaged children to choose new clothes, for many years. This program is provided by the Assistance League of Kansas City. It gives these children h\the opportunity to walkback into their school wearing brand new clothes that they hve chosen. There are so many eamples of how this experience has helped build self esteem and pridein our students. One of my favorite, bittersweet memories was of a student who would not take the price tags off the clothes until they fell off so others would know they were new clothes. Another student, who had a kinship with pigpen from the Peanuts cartoon was so proud of his new clothes, he insisted on wearing a new outfit back to school. By the time we arrived back at school 15 minutes later his new clothes were already filthy but he still proudly marched up to his teacher to show off his new outfit. We never did figure out how he got so dirty in that short amunt of time, but the memory of his enthusiasm puts a smile on my face even today. There are humdreds of children I have taken over 20 years to OSB at the Assistance League, and i still believe it is a ray of sunshine in the lives of all of these children just as I did on the very first trip. children wil approach me i the halls fo the school asking when we get to go our our special new clothes field trip again. If ever an organization has make a profound difference in the lives of children in such a simple way, it would be this organization. The volunteers take these children into their small clothing center and give the attention and smiles that these kids will remember for a life time. I often have high school students pop in to say high and say, "do you remember when we went to et new clothes?" What a gift they give.

I cannot close withut giving a shout of approval out to their 'i'm in Charge" curriculum. This is a curriculum complete with a professional quality video and enough high quality bookets forevery student in one grade level each year. It is not ean exaggeation to say that this curriculum resource is the best discussion starter among my students about the subject of safety available. The students literally follow me down the halls after class to discuss being oe alone safely, internet safety or a miriad of othe safety issues pertent to their lives. The teachers get tickled watchng me looking like the Pied Piper as children tell me their stories or try to get answers to their "what if " questions or sadly tell me of dangerous situations they need help dealing with. One 7 year old in our school went home to an empty house on a dark winter late afternoon when mom thought she was at girl scouts. She told me when asked how she knew what to do, "I sat on my front step for a minute and cried then I remembered what you taught us bout going to my contact people for help." She literally had to go to 3 contact people's houses before finding anyone at home, but because she had a plan she kept her cool and did it. These are only 2 example of what this great organization does for the children of our community and surrounding communities. They are changing lives one shirt, one safety booklet, one smile and helpful hand at a time.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching the way the lives of children are improved by knowing their are good strangerout there who care about whether they have adequate clothing and who care about their happiness and safety.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them raise even more funds to help the growing numbers of children who need help. Their services are invaluable and the need keeps growing year after year.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

I do not kow of any other organization who focus on programs that build confidence becase the children get to choose their own new clothes and their choices are respected. This organiztion teaches on a wide spectrum of safety issues. I know many organizations that provide used clothing for parents to come and get for their families--none other that provides new clothing. I know of many resources that focus on one type of safety for chilren such as stranger danger or internet danger. i know odf none that focus on the total experiece of the child and teach gun awareness, fire safety, how to handle things that go wrong at home like a water faucet that breaks or setting up safe emergency contact people in their neighborhood.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 29, 2011

more

April 29, 2011

The Assistance League of Kansas City is vital part in the success of our hospital advocacy program here at MOCSA. The kits that they provide for sexual assault survivors who go to the hospital for evidence collection are a key piece in giving those survivors some dignity and self-respect back. They provide over 400 of these kits a year to our organization which include new clothes, underwear, toothbushes, toothpaste, and soap.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I cannot count the number of victims at the hospital who are so thankful to have nice clean clothes to go home in and a toothbrush and toothpaste to brush their teeth after a forensic exam or soap to take a shower with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers