Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

A friend invited me to go to an informational meeting a couple of years ago. She assured me that there was a committment but not a big one. Lots of people doing a little make the organization provide a lot. However, as I became more and more involved and found the niche that I liked best, I find spending time at the ReSale Shop to be so much fun. I got involved with some committees and was asked by the President to serve as Property Manager. I love it all!

ALKC is an amazing organization helping thousands of people, not only children but all ages in one way or another with our 12 programs supported by the revenue from the ReSale Shop. I am so proud to be involved with an organization of this stature and dedication.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2013

more

January 30, 2013

I work at Metropolitan Organization To Counter Sexual Assault (MOCSA), the rape crisis center for the greater Kansas City metropolitan area. MOCSA staff we were talking about hospital advocacy with victims of sexual assault and the Assault Survivor Kits provided by the Assistance League of Kansas City came up in the conversation. It’s really difficult to convey to the Assistance League just how much those kits means to the victims we see at the hospital. Many times the victim comes in with nothing but the clothes on their back. And then even that is taken from them for evidence leaving them wondering what in the world they will wear when leaving the hospital. Sometimes it’s the first set of fresh clothes the victim has had in days. Some don’t own a toothbrush and they are so happy to brush their teeth. The Kits are really a tangible piece of evidence that someone cares about them. Thank you, Assistance League of Kansas City!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Dear Friends, I am a school social worker and I have had the privilege of working with the Assistance League for almost 10 years. They have truly gone above and beyond to help the economically disadvantaged children and families in the Kansas City area. They provide clothing (2-3 full outfits, socks & underwear, toiletries, coats, hats & gloves and shoe vouchers and free books. Not only have they helped elementary students, but based on our requests, they have started offering assistance to middle school students and also pre-K students. This has been extremely helpful as it seems needs increase even more as the students go onto to middle school. They have always been accommodating. We had several disabled children who needed assistance and we were not able to transport them to the AL, so AL brought the clothes to the students. It was awesome! Anytime I call them and ask for another spot or ask them to help another family, they are there for us! I have never been turned down when asking for assistance. In addition to clothing assistance, they provided a much needed fund to help pay for a variety of things including; prescription glasses, prescription medication, instrument rentals and/or other school fees that are often hard to fund for students. With several of our homeless students who don't have any money or support, the AL has been there to provide support and to also encourage positive things with the students and families. In one instance, we had a single mom who had lost her insurance. Her son required $500 in asthma medicine. The AL said to have the mom meet them at the pharmacy and they paid the entire cost. It was amazing and the mom and student were extremely grateful. In another situation, I had a graduating senior who could not afford her cap and gown, I asked and they paid for all it! An incoming kindergartner needed an epi pen at school and insurance would only pay for one, so I asked the AL if they could help and they said "Yes" with no hesitation. They do things like this everyday!! They see a need and they do everything they can to fill it and more. We are truly grateful for their wonderful and caring staff and for all of the outstanding volunteer work they do for our community! I hope that your agency will strongly consider awarding them a grant this year! They are truly "one of a kind"!! Sincerely, Tammy Slauson, LMSW, NKC Schools.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! They are a well oiled machine!! Every single volunteer is focused on the children and families! They really do a top notch job!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

The Assistance League of Kansas City has been very helpful in providing families with what they need. Working for the Children's Division I often see families that are in need of beds for the children, diapers, clothing, etc. The Assistance League has helped many families I have had on my case load. I had a family that the Assistance League helped get clothing vouchers for. The children stated that they had never owned new clothing. The clothing that they wore was either too big, too small or ripped. When this family was given the clothing vouchers they were extremely grateful and excited. I have had families where the children have never had a bed. The Assistance League has helped with this many times. The Assistance League has helped me, help people who truly need it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I am employed with the Missouri Children's Division and have accessed resources through the Assistance League of Kansas City to assist local families in need. The Assistance League has assisted many at risk children and families in the area by providing resources such as clothing, diapers, and household supplies for children for those in need. One family that I referred to the Assistance League was a single mother who had left a very abusive relationship. Her paramour had not allowed her to take any clothes or personal items. She and her two small children left with the clothes on their backs. The Assistance League helped this family with clothing and even delivered a bed for the family so that they would not have to sleep on the floor. Our agency has utilized the services of the Assistance League on numerous occasions and they often "fill the gap" in areas where no other service has been able to assist. We are blessed to have this agency to help our local families.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I am currently serving my second term as President of Assistance League of Kansas City and I am overwhelmed by the dedication of our volunteers to our mission of serving our community. Our 300+ volunteers worked 43,872 hours in service to 15,651 children, families, victims of trauma or assault and older adults. While our facilities are located in Gladstone, MO, our programs serve our neighbors throughout the Kansas City Metropolitan Area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

To complete the renovation of our new building which will be the new home of Operation School Bell and THE ReSALE SHOP.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Expanding our philanthropic programs to serve more people in our community.

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I work as a School Community Resource Specialist in a middle and elementary school. Assistance League has helped our families and students by providing clothing, undergarments and shoe vouchers through Operation School Bell. They were able to provide financial assistance for at least 3 middle school students to play an instrument in the band. They helped at least 5 students afford glasses and they provided at least 35 of our students with Target vochers to buy new clothing. The volunteers at the Assistance League are very easy to work with, and the process to access assistance is very quick. Without the Assistance Leagues assistance many North Kansas City students would go without. They are able to make my job easier and to help make our students lives easier when many are coming from tough situations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I am the Administrator at Heritage Village Assisted Living in Gladstone, MO. Assistance League brings smiles to our Seniors. Giving Seniors the ability to enjoy life. Creating memories and restored hope to not be forgotten by the community. Assistance League touch peoples lives, and gives the community faith within itself and others.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I'm pleased to serve as an advisor to the Assistance League of Kansas City. The work they do with school age children, teens, seniors, assault survivors and others far exceeds many other organizations. They are always open to suggestions and want their program to be top quality all the time. They meet so many needs in our area. It's an honor to work with them. Deena James, Krueger & James Insurance

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

As the senior pastor of Avondale United Methodist Church I know first-hand the great gratitude of the congregation for the assistance of the Assisteens. They have been an essential part or our congregation's outreach to children of the community during the annual "Trunk or Treat" event in the church parking lot. For several years Assisteens have decorated car trunks, come in costume, and provided treats for children to experience a friendly and safe Halloween celebration.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers