Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.978725
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

The Assistance League of Kansas City has been very helpful in providing families with what they need. Working for the Children's Division I often see families that are in need of beds for the children, diapers, clothing, etc. The Assistance League has helped many families I have had on my case load. I had a family that the Assistance League helped get clothing vouchers for. The children stated that they had never owned new clothing. The clothing that they wore was either too big, too small or ripped. When this family was given the clothing vouchers they were extremely grateful and excited. I have had families where the children have never had a bed. The Assistance League has helped with this many times. The Assistance League has helped me, help people who truly need it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I am employed with the Missouri Children's Division and have accessed resources through the Assistance League of Kansas City to assist local families in need. The Assistance League has assisted many at risk children and families in the area by providing resources such as clothing, diapers, and household supplies for children for those in need. One family that I referred to the Assistance League was a single mother who had left a very abusive relationship. Her paramour had not allowed her to take any clothes or personal items. She and her two small children left with the clothes on their backs. The Assistance League helped this family with clothing and even delivered a bed for the family so that they would not have to sleep on the floor. Our agency has utilized the services of the Assistance League on numerous occasions and they often "fill the gap" in areas where no other service has been able to assist. We are blessed to have this agency to help our local families.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I am currently serving my second term as President of Assistance League of Kansas City and I am overwhelmed by the dedication of our volunteers to our mission of serving our community. Our 300+ volunteers worked 43,872 hours in service to 15,651 children, families, victims of trauma or assault and older adults. While our facilities are located in Gladstone, MO, our programs serve our neighbors throughout the Kansas City Metropolitan Area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

To complete the renovation of our new building which will be the new home of Operation School Bell and THE ReSALE SHOP.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Expanding our philanthropic programs to serve more people in our community.

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I work as a School Community Resource Specialist in a middle and elementary school. Assistance League has helped our families and students by providing clothing, undergarments and shoe vouchers through Operation School Bell. They were able to provide financial assistance for at least 3 middle school students to play an instrument in the band. They helped at least 5 students afford glasses and they provided at least 35 of our students with Target vochers to buy new clothing. The volunteers at the Assistance League are very easy to work with, and the process to access assistance is very quick. Without the Assistance Leagues assistance many North Kansas City students would go without. They are able to make my job easier and to help make our students lives easier when many are coming from tough situations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I am the Administrator at Heritage Village Assisted Living in Gladstone, MO. Assistance League brings smiles to our Seniors. Giving Seniors the ability to enjoy life. Creating memories and restored hope to not be forgotten by the community. Assistance League touch peoples lives, and gives the community faith within itself and others.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I'm pleased to serve as an advisor to the Assistance League of Kansas City. The work they do with school age children, teens, seniors, assault survivors and others far exceeds many other organizations. They are always open to suggestions and want their program to be top quality all the time. They meet so many needs in our area. It's an honor to work with them. Deena James, Krueger & James Insurance

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

As the senior pastor of Avondale United Methodist Church I know first-hand the great gratitude of the congregation for the assistance of the Assisteens. They have been an essential part or our congregation's outreach to children of the community during the annual "Trunk or Treat" event in the church parking lot. For several years Assisteens have decorated car trunks, come in costume, and provided treats for children to experience a friendly and safe Halloween celebration.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I am the Site Manager for a homeless services center in the Kansas City area. The Assistance League donated time, energy, and funds needed to prepare more than 150 backpacks. The youth department within the assistance league collected hundreds of used t-shirts and turned them into quick easy to carry backpacks. The backpacks were filled with personal hygiene products that included, but not limited to: soap, tooth brush, tooth paste, band-aids, a comb, and hand sanitizer. The Assistance League contiues to donate laundry detergent, socks, and feminie hygiene products through out the year. The thing most greatly appreciated about the Assistance League is that they recognize that donations are greatly need when it is not the giving season. Everyone gives during holiday season, but the Asistance League gives when all other donations are down.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I work at Liberty Ambulatory Surgery Center in Liberty, Mo. We provide outpatient surgery services for a large number of small children. For the past five years that I have been employed here the Assistance League of Kansas City has provided us with teddy bears for the children. To see the look on the faces of the little ones going back for surgery when they receive their bear is priceless. The bears bring comfort to the children who are scared but more then that the parents who come back to the waitng room while their child is undergoing their procedure find great comfort in having a bear to hold on to while their child is not in their arms. All we have to do is pick up the phone and the bears appear! This has been a blessing to everyone involved!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

I am a licensed clinical social worker at an emergency children's center. These children and their families are currently in a crisis situation. The children often have experienced abuse and/or neglect and have been removed from their home. The Assistance League of KC provides a wonderful service to our children by providing birthday bags. These bags are full of gender-specific toys, books, and hygiene items. We also use these bags for good-bye parties when the children leave our facility. The children enjoy these so much and it really makes a difference for them to know that people are thinking of them and care about them. We appreciate the Assistance League of KC!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers