Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.981485
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
January 2, 2014

more

January 2, 2014

I work for the Clay County Children's Division and I have had to contact the Assistance League for multiple reasons and I have always been helped 100% of the time. No matter what I have asked from them to help my families I have never been turned down. It is so nice when the families are so grateful for everything we do for them and I can only tell them that it was with the help from the Assistance League that made it all possible. Thank you so much for helping out when we need it. Its a tough job but a resource like this makes it all worth it!!! Thank you for everything you do!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 18, 2013

more

December 18, 2013

I'm an elementary school counselor and have had the opportunity to take many of "my kids" shopping with the wonderful ladies that run our Assistance League or Operation School Bell as we call it. Today one of my older student reminded me why what they do is so powerful and has such deep meaning. My "little guy" came out of the shopping area, and stopped in the doorway and said "That was the best experience I've ever had!" This very private, proud "little" boy of 10 said this so honestly and with complete awe on his face, his eyes were shining with (I am pretty sure he had tears in his eyes) joy.

Another thing many of the children mentioned was that this was the first time most of them had ever had the opportunity to pick out their own clothes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they are fully funded to meet the needs of any children in our area. If I win the lottery you will be!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2013

more

November 21, 2013

I work for the Children's Division in Clay County. Recently, Assistance League has really gone above and beyong to help the families I serve. This week, they provided a pack in play for a child that has medical diagnosis and did not have a bed to sleep in. This child will greatly benefit as she will have her own bed and place to sleep as oppose to sleeping with others.

AL was also able to provide glasses for a child that had broken his and the family could not afford new ones. This child is legal blind in one eye so this child will benefit academically as he can now read the board at school and better participate.

AL provided bedding and clothing for 3 children of a family I recently worked with that was previously homeless and had lost all their belongings. The children were over joyed that they were able to get new coats and clothes and it was heartwarming to watch. They mentioned it being "like Christmas."

AL will always find a way to reach out to a child in need. AL also makes special trips to community agencies to make them aware of their program and share the love they have in helping children. I feel honored and lucky to have such a great organization to work with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There would be nothing I would change!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I work with teens and young adults in the Northland. The Assistance League has been a crucial resource for our youth over the years--the missing link that helps them with basics like clothing and birth certificates/IDs. The birth certificates & IDs have helped many youth in our programs get accepted into housing programs, get jobs, and get enrolled in school. The Assistance League has helped our youth obtain job interview clothes. Their flexibility has helped us meet unique needs that come up as well.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

The Assistance League of Kansas City has helped countless children served in my program in a variety of ways. They give us clothing vouchers for children who are living in our Crisis Shelter for a variety of reasons ( homelessness, abuse, neglect etc). This service is something that brings a smile to so many who have never had the means to wear a new coat to school or a pair of shoes that the soles aren't falling off. I can't express how much gratitude I have to this program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

As a case manager in a domestic violence shelter, I am able to request Assistance League vouchers to local clothing stores. This is a huge help to moms fleeing abuse who typically come to shelter with close to nothing but what they are wearing. School time clothes shopping is not an option for most moms in shelter. Being able to use Assistance League vouchers to take kids shopping for school clothes and shoes is a huge help to moms and puts smiles on kids faces.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would hope that Assistance League continues to have access to funds that help our women and children in shelter.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2012

I work for a shelter in the KC Northland and we recently partnered with the Assistance League Kansas City to provide teddy bears to the children we serve. Our shelter provides a safe place for childr... more

September 10, 2013

The Assistance League of KC provides our shelter with Celebration Bags- which are used for birthday celebrations, good bye gifts, and achievement parties. The toys and party supplies in these bags truly make a difference in the lives of the children we serve every day. These celebration bag donations assure that every child served by our shelter has a homemade cake, age appropriate gift, and fun decorations for their party. We are so thankful for the ongoing support of the Assistance League of KC!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2012

I work for a shelter in the KC Northland and we recently partnered with the Assistance League Kansas City to provide teddy bears to the children we serve. Our shelter provides a safe place for children to go when they are in crisis. The children are often scared and have recently experience a traumatic event. We try to make the children feel more comfortable by having friendly bedrooms for them to stay in, with an Assistance League teddy bear placed next to their pillow. This may be the first object a child reaches for when they enter their new bedroom. We often see children holding their bears tightly, thankful to have something soft and comfortable to call their own.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

Barry School participated in Operation School Bell yesterday and had a fabulous experience- you all have really gotten good at getting us in and out of there! I love the 2:1 ratio, this seems to really facilitate the process. And the volunteers were so good yesterday! We brought an autistic student and one of your volunteers was just wonderful with him. ALL of our students talked about how much fun they had and how they so love their new clothes!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funding so they can help even more children!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2012

I have been a member of Assistance League of Kansas City for nearly 3 years. It is a wonderful organization and it is very rewarding to feel like I am making a difference in our community. I work a... more

August 21, 2013

Doing volunteer work for Assistance League of Kansas City is very rewarding. We are also helping
ourselves by helping others. Our non-profit helps people in many walks of life from children needing
clothes to feel confident about themselves, to Seniors in nursing homes. We help scared
children
in crisis situations or having surgery by giving them a Teddy Bear. One of our newest programs is to
help ready men and women for job interviews. I have met so many wonderful ladies since I have
joined Assistance League of Kansas City.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2012

I have been a member of Assistance League of Kansas City for nearly 3 years. It is a wonderful organization and it is very rewarding to feel like I am making a difference in our community. I work at the Re-Sale shop and also at the Operation School Bell. It really makes you feel good when you help the children select new clothes and you can just see the excitement on the kids faces. I also help with Operation Hug, which is a Teddy Bear program. We don't actually get to see how a bear helps a child at a hospital but the nurses are so HAPPY when we bring them their bears. It makes me feel like a better person being involved with Assistance League of Kansas Citiy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

Earlier in my career, I thought that, at retirement, I would join the Peace Corp. When I actually retired I realized that the Peace Corp was not a viable option for me. I instead joined Assistance League of Kansas City. I am now serving as president for the fiscal year 2013-2014 and this is my third year on the board. Volunteering in this organization has been one of the more rewarding experiences of my life. We serve our community in a myriad number of ways, with Operation School Bell being our signature program. We provided new clothing to more than 2,000 elementary children from September 2012 to December 2012. In the coming months, we hope to clothe even more..

Our primary funding comes from our thrift store, THE ReSALE SHOP. We are fortunate to have a community that provides donations and also shops at our store.

Assistance League members are passionate and dedicated to the mission of serving our community.

Linda Tyree,
President

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funding through grants.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers