Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Oh my goodness, I cannot say enough great things about The Assistance League of Kansas City. Each year they do so much to help our students -- from providing free safety curriculum each spring to clothing our children with new clothes each fall. The smiles on our students faces beam brighter than ever each time we take them there, and I cannot express enough gratitude for the services they provide.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2014

more

April 25, 2014

This organization has been such an amazing resource for the students at our school! The volunteers are so welcoming and patient. The kids get such a lift by getting cute, new clothes. We love to see their "fashion show" at school the next day!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

The Assistance League has served our school for the past 10 years! We have utilized their services through "Operation School Bell" and through the "I'm In Charge Program". Both programs have enriched the lives of our children! Through Operation School Bell, many of our children are able to receive much needed clothing and toiletry items. The kindness of the volunteers and the attention that they give each individual child, make the children feel like a "million bucks" when they are there. Our children are very excited to have the opportunity to "experience" having a "personal shopper" assisting them while they are shopping for much needed clothing items! In addition to Operation School Bell, our school has utilized the "I'm In Charge Program". Our students enjoy receiving the donated workbooks that accompany the video about safety. The children feel that they are receiving a "special gift" when they are told that they may KEEP their workbooks! They are very excited to do the activities within the workbook and enjoy referring to the pages as they learn important safety tips being taught. This organization is wonderful! I would recommend its programs to any elementary school!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

What are great organization that so benefited and helped our community! I am a school counselor at Heritage Middle School in Liberty, MO and this program served many of my students and their families who needed help. It was wonderful to see and hear the gratitude from the parents and the students who were offered the opportunity of purchasing clothing this winter. The volunteers at the Assistance League of Kansas City were so very accommodating and professional. A family from my school was unable to attend either of the two designated shopping nights due to the death of a parent. The volunteers, upon hearing of the circumstances, contacted me and worked closely with myself and the family to find a separate day and time that was convenient for them to meet at the store! The generous volunteers did not want this family to miss out on such a beneficial opportunity. The shopping experience ended up being very uplifting for the family even though they going thru such a difficult time! I was appreciative and overjoyed to see the kindness and compassion of this organization! I am very excited to work with them in the future.
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

What a fabulous local resource! I have used the I'm In Charge program with students and it is a great way to approach potentially uncomfortable topics with kids! The video is well done and the kids LOVE the booklets! It does a great job of bridging the gap between home and school as safety is one of those issues we as adults often assume someone else is talking with kids about. Thanks so the Assistance League of Kansas City, schools can do their part in helping to keep our children safe!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2014

more

April 10, 2014

This dynamic organization fills unmet local needs efficiently and with impressive kindness. Over my 20 years as an elementary school counselor I've watched The Assistance League of Kansas City expand and improve their school clothing program (Operation School Bell) both in quality of clothing and in number of children served. A quick scan of their website will tell you that OSB is one of their many valuable services. What the site may not communicate is the impact their work has on vulnerable individuals. Imagine a kindergarten child who rarely speaks coming to school the morning after a trip to OSB sporting new clothes and stopping along the way to his classroom to poise and say, "Ta-dah!" Picture precious children dressing up in their best clothes for a much-awaited trip to select the only new clothes they will get. Along with the tangible gifts the students enjoy the excitement of "shopping" in what looks like a real store, not a thrift shop. Perhaps most impressive is the kindness and dignity the volunteers offer the students. For many of us who regularly shop in retail stores it is difficult to understand the impact OSB has on students. But it is not difficult to help make the experience happen.
January 2, 2014

more

January 2, 2014

I work for the Clay County Children's Division and I have had to contact the Assistance League for multiple reasons and I have always been helped 100% of the time. No matter what I have asked from them to help my families I have never been turned down. It is so nice when the families are so grateful for everything we do for them and I can only tell them that it was with the help from the Assistance League that made it all possible. Thank you so much for helping out when we need it. Its a tough job but a resource like this makes it all worth it!!! Thank you for everything you do!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 18, 2013

more

December 18, 2013

I'm an elementary school counselor and have had the opportunity to take many of "my kids" shopping with the wonderful ladies that run our Assistance League or Operation School Bell as we call it. Today one of my older student reminded me why what they do is so powerful and has such deep meaning. My "little guy" came out of the shopping area, and stopped in the doorway and said "That was the best experience I've ever had!" This very private, proud "little" boy of 10 said this so honestly and with complete awe on his face, his eyes were shining with (I am pretty sure he had tears in his eyes) joy.

Another thing many of the children mentioned was that this was the first time most of them had ever had the opportunity to pick out their own clothes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they are fully funded to meet the needs of any children in our area. If I win the lottery you will be!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2013

more

November 21, 2013

I work for the Children's Division in Clay County. Recently, Assistance League has really gone above and beyong to help the families I serve. This week, they provided a pack in play for a child that has medical diagnosis and did not have a bed to sleep in. This child will greatly benefit as she will have her own bed and place to sleep as oppose to sleeping with others.

AL was also able to provide glasses for a child that had broken his and the family could not afford new ones. This child is legal blind in one eye so this child will benefit academically as he can now read the board at school and better participate.

AL provided bedding and clothing for 3 children of a family I recently worked with that was previously homeless and had lost all their belongings. The children were over joyed that they were able to get new coats and clothes and it was heartwarming to watch. They mentioned it being "like Christmas."

AL will always find a way to reach out to a child in need. AL also makes special trips to community agencies to make them aware of their program and share the love they have in helping children. I feel honored and lucky to have such a great organization to work with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There would be nothing I would change!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I work with teens and young adults in the Northland. The Assistance League has been a crucial resource for our youth over the years--the missing link that helps them with basics like clothing and birth certificates/IDs. The birth certificates & IDs have helped many youth in our programs get accepted into housing programs, get jobs, and get enrolled in school. The Assistance League has helped our youth obtain job interview clothes. Their flexibility has helped us meet unique needs that come up as well.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers