Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.981825
Write A Review
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

As great as it is to take our students to Operation School Bell, I think I like the day after the best. Many, if not all, of our students come to school dressed in their new clothes and shoes and can’t wait to show them off. A few minutes ago, one girl came in my office to show me her new shoes, jeans, and shirt. I honestly think she looks the best I have seen her since last winter. She was so proud of her new things, as well as happy and excited to talk about them.

From the "personal shopper" volunteers to the racks and racks of in-style clothing, it's clear that the Assistance League of Kansas City knows how to run a huge program smoothly, treat people with dignity, and provide a valuable service to kindergarten through fifth grade students.

Thanks to all the wonderful people who make Operation School Bell possible for our kids!
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

In the previous review, the wrong initials were used for this agency. The initials CAC were used instead of AL of Kansas City. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

The Assistance League of Kansas City offered to donate $500 to our school based program to purchase
uniforms for families that do not have the money to get their child a uniform. Below is the response from the gentlemen that went with the volunteer to purchase the uniforms. We are truly grateful for their generosity.

"AL of Kansas City was very eager to help with as many uniforms as they were allowed to. We were at the register and the balance was like $430.00 and I was actually satisfied with the amount of uniforms we had, but Etta mae insisted we reach the whole $500.00 that was alloted to us. Etta mae insisted I go back and get more until we reached our limit. While shopping Etta mae and I spoke about our school district and I could tell that her organization really cared about our students and that community as a whole. I expressed to Etta several times how grateful spofford & Hickman were to be receiving such a generous donation, and we would have been grateful weather we received 20 uniforms or only 2."
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

This organization is absolutely awesome!! I have donated to Operation School Bell over the past few years, but never had a chance to see the facility in person. Recently, however, I got a tour of Operation School Bell along with a description of each child's experience. It is so wonderful! The clothes are all new, organized, neatly and creatively displayed, and it's all done with love and care. I then did some shopping at the Re-Sale Shop. I, again, was witness to the hard work done by so many dedicated volunteers. The Shop is well organized and run with grace and respect for all who enter. It's this kind of organization that changes a community and the world!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this agency. They have come through for families time and time again. Assistance League of Kansas City provided 9 families that I am working with school supplies for the upcoming school year, without this support those children would have started school without the supplies that they need. This service allows the children to go to school with the same supplies as the other children and feel like part of the group. They also provided two sets of grandparents clothes for their grandchildren who they took in on an emergency basis with nothing other than what the children had on. In times of crisis when families do not know who to turn to they are there and they respond quickly so the family knows that they are not just another number. The Assistance League of Kansas City provided a family that was evicted from their home with little notice clothing vouchers so the children would have clothes for the upcoming school year, the children were so very excited to get to pick out clothes and it was an absolute blessing how quickly they received the vouchers. The agency went above and beyond with another family to provide a bed for a special needs youth. The community is definitely benefited by the work of this agency.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No Changes

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

CAC offered to donate $500 to our school based program to purchase uniforms for families that do not have the money to get their child a uniform. Below is the response from the gentlemen that went with the volunteer to purchase the uniforms. We are truly grateful for CAC generosity.

"CAC
was very eager to help with as many uniforms as they were allowed to. We were at the register and the balance was like $430.00 and I was actually satisfied with the amount of uniforms we had, but Etta mae insisted we reach the whole $500.00 that was alloted to us. Etta mae insisted I go back and get more until we reached our limit. While shopping Etta mae and I spoke about our school district and I could tell that her organization really cared about our students and that community as a whole. I expressed to Etta several times how grateful spofford & Hickman were to be receiving such a generous donation, and we would have been grateful weather we received 20 uniforms or only 2."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Oh my goodness, I cannot say enough great things about The Assistance League of Kansas City. Each year they do so much to help our students -- from providing free safety curriculum each spring to clothing our children with new clothes each fall. The smiles on our students faces beam brighter than ever each time we take them there, and I cannot express enough gratitude for the services they provide.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2014

more

April 25, 2014

This organization has been such an amazing resource for the students at our school! The volunteers are so welcoming and patient. The kids get such a lift by getting cute, new clothes. We love to see their "fashion show" at school the next day!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

The Assistance League has served our school for the past 10 years! We have utilized their services through "Operation School Bell" and through the "I'm In Charge Program". Both programs have enriched the lives of our children! Through Operation School Bell, many of our children are able to receive much needed clothing and toiletry items. The kindness of the volunteers and the attention that they give each individual child, make the children feel like a "million bucks" when they are there. Our children are very excited to have the opportunity to "experience" having a "personal shopper" assisting them while they are shopping for much needed clothing items! In addition to Operation School Bell, our school has utilized the "I'm In Charge Program". Our students enjoy receiving the donated workbooks that accompany the video about safety. The children feel that they are receiving a "special gift" when they are told that they may KEEP their workbooks! They are very excited to do the activities within the workbook and enjoy referring to the pages as they learn important safety tips being taught. This organization is wonderful! I would recommend its programs to any elementary school!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

What are great organization that so benefited and helped our community! I am a school counselor at Heritage Middle School in Liberty, MO and this program served many of my students and their families who needed help. It was wonderful to see and hear the gratitude from the parents and the students who were offered the opportunity of purchasing clothing this winter. The volunteers at the Assistance League of Kansas City were so very accommodating and professional. A family from my school was unable to attend either of the two designated shopping nights due to the death of a parent. The volunteers, upon hearing of the circumstances, contacted me and worked closely with myself and the family to find a separate day and time that was convenient for them to meet at the store! The generous volunteers did not want this family to miss out on such a beneficial opportunity. The shopping experience ended up being very uplifting for the family even though they going thru such a difficult time! I was appreciative and overjoyed to see the kindness and compassion of this organization! I am very excited to work with them in the future.
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

What a fabulous local resource! I have used the I'm In Charge program with students and it is a great way to approach potentially uncomfortable topics with kids! The video is well done and the kids LOVE the booklets! It does a great job of bridging the gap between home and school as safety is one of those issues we as adults often assume someone else is talking with kids about. Thanks so the Assistance League of Kansas City, schools can do their part in helping to keep our children safe!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers