Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.978725
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

What are great organization that so benefited and helped our community! I am a school counselor at Heritage Middle School in Liberty, MO and this program served many of my students and their families who needed help. It was wonderful to see and hear the gratitude from the parents and the students who were offered the opportunity of purchasing clothing this winter. The volunteers at the Assistance League of Kansas City were so very accommodating and professional. A family from my school was unable to attend either of the two designated shopping nights due to the death of a parent. The volunteers, upon hearing of the circumstances, contacted me and worked closely with myself and the family to find a separate day and time that was convenient for them to meet at the store! The generous volunteers did not want this family to miss out on such a beneficial opportunity. The shopping experience ended up being very uplifting for the family even though they going thru such a difficult time! I was appreciative and overjoyed to see the kindness and compassion of this organization! I am very excited to work with them in the future.
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

What a fabulous local resource! I have used the I'm In Charge program with students and it is a great way to approach potentially uncomfortable topics with kids! The video is well done and the kids LOVE the booklets! It does a great job of bridging the gap between home and school as safety is one of those issues we as adults often assume someone else is talking with kids about. Thanks so the Assistance League of Kansas City, schools can do their part in helping to keep our children safe!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2014

more

April 10, 2014

This dynamic organization fills unmet local needs efficiently and with impressive kindness. Over my 20 years as an elementary school counselor I've watched The Assistance League of Kansas City expand and improve their school clothing program (Operation School Bell) both in quality of clothing and in number of children served. A quick scan of their website will tell you that OSB is one of their many valuable services. What the site may not communicate is the impact their work has on vulnerable individuals. Imagine a kindergarten child who rarely speaks coming to school the morning after a trip to OSB sporting new clothes and stopping along the way to his classroom to poise and say, "Ta-dah!" Picture precious children dressing up in their best clothes for a much-awaited trip to select the only new clothes they will get. Along with the tangible gifts the students enjoy the excitement of "shopping" in what looks like a real store, not a thrift shop. Perhaps most impressive is the kindness and dignity the volunteers offer the students. For many of us who regularly shop in retail stores it is difficult to understand the impact OSB has on students. But it is not difficult to help make the experience happen.
January 2, 2014

more

January 2, 2014

I work for the Clay County Children's Division and I have had to contact the Assistance League for multiple reasons and I have always been helped 100% of the time. No matter what I have asked from them to help my families I have never been turned down. It is so nice when the families are so grateful for everything we do for them and I can only tell them that it was with the help from the Assistance League that made it all possible. Thank you so much for helping out when we need it. Its a tough job but a resource like this makes it all worth it!!! Thank you for everything you do!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 18, 2013

more

December 18, 2013

I'm an elementary school counselor and have had the opportunity to take many of "my kids" shopping with the wonderful ladies that run our Assistance League or Operation School Bell as we call it. Today one of my older student reminded me why what they do is so powerful and has such deep meaning. My "little guy" came out of the shopping area, and stopped in the doorway and said "That was the best experience I've ever had!" This very private, proud "little" boy of 10 said this so honestly and with complete awe on his face, his eyes were shining with (I am pretty sure he had tears in his eyes) joy.

Another thing many of the children mentioned was that this was the first time most of them had ever had the opportunity to pick out their own clothes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they are fully funded to meet the needs of any children in our area. If I win the lottery you will be!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2013

more

November 21, 2013

I work for the Children's Division in Clay County. Recently, Assistance League has really gone above and beyong to help the families I serve. This week, they provided a pack in play for a child that has medical diagnosis and did not have a bed to sleep in. This child will greatly benefit as she will have her own bed and place to sleep as oppose to sleeping with others.

AL was also able to provide glasses for a child that had broken his and the family could not afford new ones. This child is legal blind in one eye so this child will benefit academically as he can now read the board at school and better participate.

AL provided bedding and clothing for 3 children of a family I recently worked with that was previously homeless and had lost all their belongings. The children were over joyed that they were able to get new coats and clothes and it was heartwarming to watch. They mentioned it being "like Christmas."

AL will always find a way to reach out to a child in need. AL also makes special trips to community agencies to make them aware of their program and share the love they have in helping children. I feel honored and lucky to have such a great organization to work with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There would be nothing I would change!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I work with teens and young adults in the Northland. The Assistance League has been a crucial resource for our youth over the years--the missing link that helps them with basics like clothing and birth certificates/IDs. The birth certificates & IDs have helped many youth in our programs get accepted into housing programs, get jobs, and get enrolled in school. The Assistance League has helped our youth obtain job interview clothes. Their flexibility has helped us meet unique needs that come up as well.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

The Assistance League of Kansas City has helped countless children served in my program in a variety of ways. They give us clothing vouchers for children who are living in our Crisis Shelter for a variety of reasons ( homelessness, abuse, neglect etc). This service is something that brings a smile to so many who have never had the means to wear a new coat to school or a pair of shoes that the soles aren't falling off. I can't express how much gratitude I have to this program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

As a case manager in a domestic violence shelter, I am able to request Assistance League vouchers to local clothing stores. This is a huge help to moms fleeing abuse who typically come to shelter with close to nothing but what they are wearing. School time clothes shopping is not an option for most moms in shelter. Being able to use Assistance League vouchers to take kids shopping for school clothes and shoes is a huge help to moms and puts smiles on kids faces.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would hope that Assistance League continues to have access to funds that help our women and children in shelter.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2012

I work for a shelter in the KC Northland and we recently partnered with the Assistance League Kansas City to provide teddy bears to the children we serve. Our shelter provides a safe place for childr... more

September 10, 2013

The Assistance League of KC provides our shelter with Celebration Bags- which are used for birthday celebrations, good bye gifts, and achievement parties. The toys and party supplies in these bags truly make a difference in the lives of the children we serve every day. These celebration bag donations assure that every child served by our shelter has a homemade cake, age appropriate gift, and fun decorations for their party. We are so thankful for the ongoing support of the Assistance League of KC!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2012

I work for a shelter in the KC Northland and we recently partnered with the Assistance League Kansas City to provide teddy bears to the children we serve. Our shelter provides a safe place for children to go when they are in crisis. The children are often scared and have recently experience a traumatic event. We try to make the children feel more comfortable by having friendly bedrooms for them to stay in, with an Assistance League teddy bear placed next to their pillow. This may be the first object a child reaches for when they enter their new bedroom. We often see children holding their bears tightly, thankful to have something soft and comfortable to call their own.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers