Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

I received an email today notifying me that the Assistance League of Inland North County had given a generous donation to buy books for our middle school library. California school libraries used to be funded at a flat $20 per student. Currently, funding is at the principal's discretion, and is often under $1000 per school. My budget just doubled, thanks to the donation from the Assistance League! My students are avid readers, and several of them helped me at lunch time today, pouring through reviews to be sure we spent our money wisely.

I love the work that they do, and can't wait to visit their newly updated thrift store. Kudos to them for helping so many local children!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2013

more

May 30, 2013

Assistance League has been quite active at the elementary school at which I teach. We have several volunteers here on campus assisting multiple grade levels. My volunteer spends a half hour each week reading with and helping my students grow academically. Sometimes I have a child who I know needs a little extra TLC and she is always there, ready to give them her full attention. Part of my reading program requires that students be able to recognize and read basic sight words. If it weren't for my volunteer being able to listen to each of them read these words, they would not be the stellar readers they are now. Additionally, she also helps them with a multitude of other things, such as math, handwriting, writing, and reading books for AR tests. I am fortunate that my volunteer is a retired teacher and can help me assess students as well. Assistance League provides invaluable support to my students!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is great as is!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have an Assistance League volunteer help me for a half an hour a week in my classroom. It may not seem like a lot of time but for the students that they touch it is more than enough! One of the best things is that many of the volunteers are former teachers. They understand what is needed for the students they work with. I especially put them with my students that need that one on one help. I have seen so much growth in the students that my volunteer helped. My students also get the added benefit of the generosity of the group during Christmas. Each child in first grade received 2 books. What a great gift! This group also donates an author assembly each year to expose our K-5 school to reading and writing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 25, 2013

more

May 25, 2013

The Assistance League of Inland North County has been supporting the readers at our Elementary school for a decade and we are so blessed that they do! Every year thoughtful, caring members come into our classes and spend time reading with our kids on a one-on-one basis. I cannot adequately express what a fabulous impact this attention and shared love of reading have on our kids! Every Christmas and at the end of each school year they make sure every student they've read with goes home with 2 wonderful books of their very own. Thank you, Connie Etheridge and all the fantastic volunteers for your kind support! You guys rock!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

Assistance League of Inland North County has been extremely helpful in the coordination and funding of bringing an author to our site. They have also provided our students with books and dictionaries. As Principal and on behalf of my students and staff I would like to thank them for their commitment and collaboration. Their willingness to travel to our site is completely appreciated.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

Our school has been fortunate enough to have childrens author come to the school and talk with the children. Without the help of Connie Etheridge our school would never be able to affort such a wonderful treat for the students. Not only do they pay for the author, they also buy their books and donate them to the library. All we can say is they are awesome, fantastic and very supportive of education.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2012

more

July 1, 2012

I was the fortunate recipient of a scholarship from this wonderful organization and I cannot thank them enough! It enabled me to continue my studies in college and eventually become a Registered Nurse. Their assistance really meant a lot to me and I hope they continue to provide scholarships to college students. Since they were so helpful to me, I'm thinking of joining this great organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2012

more

April 16, 2012

What a fabulous group of people! As a classroom teacher, I have been blessed with volunteer readers from this outstanding organization for the past 8 years. The kindness and caring they bring to each student with whom they read, is exceptional. My Assistance League readers have generously shared their time and love of reading with my second grade students and I see the positive effects of this on a daily basis. When one of my readers comes into the classroom the kids can't wait to see if it's their turn to be the lucky reader. The world would be a better place if there were more groups like The Assistance League of North Inland County!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. Help school children with their reading; work in our thrift shop operation; help children pick out new school clothing; shop to fill duffel bags for foster teens. Volunteer