Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.944445
Write A Review
April 22, 2011

more

April 22, 2011

I am a volunteer who has worked as a puppy raiser/trainer and also participated in the Puppy Prison Program. The staff is knowledgeable and always willing to help when needed. They have always given me a chance to volunteer whenever I have asked and are also flexible when situations arise that require special attention. It has been an honor to help ADAI in their humanitarian efforts!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the many volunteer opportunities given me which has allowed the public to become aware of ADAI and their cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

love to see them open a training facility in Cincinnati.

April 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

In 2003 my wife Karen was looking for a volunteer opportunity and visited ADAI for a class they were holding. At the class they had some of their dogs there including a beautiful 3 month old yellow lab named Chase. I think the trainers knew what they were doing because they let Karen hold Chase in her lap for the whole meeting. When she came home she told me how nice the meeting went and about the puppy. She said it was unfortunate that we were so busy and already had a Lab of our own or she would think about being a foster. She said she liked the organization and planned on volunteering in other capacities. A few weeks later at dinner she said one of the trainers had called her and told her that she seemed to have made a bond with Chase and that he was still available for Fostering. She knew I loved dogs, but I was not really keen about having a second dog right now. That is when I found out how serious she was. She said she would CLEAN UP ALL THE POOP FOR BOTH DOGS. I reluctantly agreed to meet the dog and she knew that was all it would take. Chase was a bit of a handful as a puppy, but with the help of the trainers Karen learned as much as he did. At the end of his two year training he had turned into a wonderful service dog and it was very hard to let him go. The only thing that got us thru it was watching the recipients bond with their new dogs and seeing that they not only received some of the physical help they needed, but a new best friend. It is truly amazing the difference the unconditional love from a dog can make to a person who needs it.
Over the past years we fostered many dogs (when I say we Karen did all the work and I had fun with them). Karen became more and more involved with the organization, helping with fund raisers, graduations, community events and more. Karen truly loved working with ADAI and the friends she made (both two and four legged).
In April of 2010 Karen was diagnosed with Lung Cancer which had spread to her brain. She had always been very healthy and it was much unexpected. It was at this time she found out once again she was not just there for ADAI, but the wonderful staff and volunteers of ADAI where there for her. They visited, sent cards, brought food, picked her up to go to the facility when she was able and much much more.
Karen would be the one writing this letter to tell you how great ADAI truly is, however she passed away on November 12, 2010. When you read this you will certainly see that writing is not something I normally do (you are lucky I at least have spell check) . It was one of the hardest letters I have ever written. It is also very important for people to know how much this organization helps people with disabilities to make their lives a little bit less challenging and happier.
ADAI has continued to offer me their kindness and support since Karen’s death and I hope that I can pay some of that back. Any support you can provide for this organization will be well used and appreciated.

Sincerely,
Rick Gallaway

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen the improvements in the lives of people with disabilities when they receive one of their dogs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they had the funding to do more.

April 15, 2011

more

April 15, 2011

Next week, our first foster dog goes into service. We are a foster home for ADAI and have found the experience to be in one word, wonderful! The staff of ADAI is always ready and able to answer questions, the recipients are so very grateful and who cannot smile when with the dogs? While we will miss Jada, we know she will be with someone who loves her and will utilize her many talents to make their everyday life so much better!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We have experienced the joy of training one dog and she will graduate April 21, 2011. We can only assume the graduation, while tearful, will be more than worth the effort.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to provide more dogs to be trained with the final outcome to assit more people by providing well trained service dogs.

April 13, 2011

more

April 13, 2011

I have been involved with ADAI since 2008 when I helped with the training of my first dog, Archie, a Golden Retriever. That is when I realized how important Dogs can be in the lives of humans and the miraculous things they can be trained to do. He opened the door to a wonderful world of excitement and my desire to continue on. ADAI has high standards and strong work ethics instilled in their Service/Therapy Dogs. The dedication and drive is so recognizable the very moment you walk on premise. The staffing is like family and you are treated with so much respect and kindness. At the present our family not only works with the training end but also act as Foster Parents for the pup in training, caring for it and doing the things it needs to grow strong and healthy, at the same time building the foundation for obedience and good manners. The skills each dog possess are so gently groomed and polished. ADAI has one of the finest training programs, all managed by a fantastic working staff that unite together to bring out the best in what they stand for.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By being participant in the training, foster program I have experienced the greatest joy one could ever imagine in the area of working with an animal and seeing the end result of what they so amazingly can do. I have been so fortunate to become adoptive parent under the Fabulous Flunkie Program. The blessings of adopting a Fabulous Flunkie are absolutely heart warming.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They so desperately need more room for training and living arrangements for their beautiful pups. They do well with what they have to work with. I would love to see more contributions and participation in the fund raising arena to help with their basic needs and improvements. Remembering ADAI with a generous donation and incorporating them in your estate planning leaves a forever memory to such a worthy cause. My photos and video are of beautiful dogs I have fostered and trained with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

OH my... they are so perfect in every way as is. I cannot even think of one measure for improvement. They have what it takes to feel recognized and important when you work with them. It would be awesome to have larger training areas to work in. Other than that, asking of them to improve would be an insult as they are so perfect in every manner.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My involvement with ADAI has generously changed the way I look at a dog. I now realize that not only do they have personalities, they have goals and skills that can be unleashed and used productively. It makes me respect and acknowledge my dogs in a more productive manner.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Ten FEET tall. The end result of training a pup and seeing it soar through the final stages of training, doing the things that to some would seem unbelieveable, has totally changed my belief in one of God's greatest creations.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 13, 2011

more

April 13, 2011

My teenaged daughter fostered 3 dogs over the last 5-6 years. While my daughter was the trainer and caregiver of the dogs, the rest of our family was involved in general day to day intereaction and caring for the dog. This volunteer experience has been an amazing opportunity for my daughter. She is by nature quiet and not comfortable around people she does not know. Volunteering forced her to talk to strangers in the public about her trainee when they ask questions when seeing the dog in public. As she became a better trainer she also has become more confident in explaining to people the purpose of her dog. Her self esteem has skyrocketed since getting involved. When one of her trainees was placed with a disabled teenage client she realized how much she had actually helped to make this girl's life a bit easier. Although my daughter and the client have only seen each other 3 times, they talk like they have known each other for years. It is clear that a special bond developed over the dog that my daughter trained and which is now part of this client's family.
The staff at ADAI is wonderful and made my daughter feel that she was an important part of the organization which made her want to do the best job she could for ADAI. ADAI provides an amazing service for its clients but I think it does just as much for its volunteers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

going through the foster process and seeing the dogs graduate to placements with disabled individuals or as therapy dogs in schools or other institutions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them a bigger facility and more trainers.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers