Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
133 Reviews
1234.075195
Write A Review
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

my first job in an animal shelter was with the ASPCA a few decades ago. i was enthralled with its founder HENRY BERGH. i even read and collected all the books about him! he is a fascinating character one you would truly love. he confronted a lot of cruelty in nyc in the late 1800's. its a part of history in the annals of nyc lore. as i am the only donor that goes to their yearly meeting, i can tell you the ASPCA is doing HENRY'S work, and he would be proud of them!
April 3, 2014

more

April 3, 2014

I HAVE A QUESTION, I THOUGHT WE WERE WORKING TOWARDS NO PETS ON CRAIGSLIST, WHAT HAPPENED HERE

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 3, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Receiving several robo calls per day from a telemarketer. No message - just hang-ups. Obviously the donations are going to telemarketing companies and NOT to the animals. They are off our list and we will never donate again. Shame on them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 11, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

I think that CEO's salary is too high for this organization. Think how many animals can be fed with this money (over $5000,000). Most of us donate a very little sum of money that can support about 3 months supply of food for a small sized dog. It is outrageous that a small donation is also supporting the CEO's salary. I would like to more money going to the program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

As a previous donor, I decided to focus on local SPCA and Humane Societies. Not to mention - the CEO of this organization makes $500,000 a year???? That is unconscionable!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

January 6, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 6, 2013

The CEO makes $500k/year .... s/he took in $117,222,668 in 2009. You would have no problem with a CEO of a business with $117M in sales/year making $500k (they probably make 10 times that), but in the non-profit world you are outraged?

Getting a CEO with that level of fundraising
performance for $500K is a BARGAIN. You think that you could raise 0.01% of that money? Not if your life depended on it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I personally experienced the work of the ASPCA when they rescued hundreds of maltreated cats from the hoarder of Caboodle Ranch. The cats were nursed back to health, rehabilitated, and adopted out to loving homes. Even the ferals were rehomed into new colonies.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 1, 2012

more

July 1, 2012

We have donated to the ASPCA for years and watched directly their activities to help both shelters and animals as well as provide general education. When compared to many of the legislative type education societies vs. actual working with the animals directly, I have found the ASPCA is living up to its reputation of helping animals. I would only advise the donator that their is a distinct difference between legislative/education efforts and actual hands on organizations. BOTH are valuable and BOTH are necessary. This particular organization is more hands-on. The HSUS for example is more the former. I highly recommend the ASPCA as your first entry choice in donating to causes for animals. The second one would be the Humane Society of the US for more pure legislative type work. ASPCA clearly distinguishes itself as a more hands on effort. Well worth the donation!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvpL2vh3rrg Save lives pass CAARA in NYS !

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 4, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 4, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I was a donor in their Guardian program which deducts a monthly amount of money every month from my checking account since 2005. Once I read the review here showing that the CEO makes 500,000/yr I was APPALLED! My sister-in-law moved to NY 5 yrs ago and I know all about the cost of living being higher and it still does not make it OK for this organization to pay that kind of salary to anyone, CEO or other! I still donate to HSUS, Wayne Pancelle, their CEO, makes $325,000/yr which is still a very high amount, but it seems more in line w/ what an exceptional leader would make. I also donate heavily to Best Friends Animal Sanctuary in Utah, and their employees make FAR less than all of these guys! I'm sure the ASPCA still does great work, but this is too big of a turn-off to keep me as a donors!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers