Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
1234.03155
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I run a non profit pet food pantry to help families who are struggling to care for their pets and the ASPCA has been such a blessing with their gift of food and funds to help us with our mission. Beyond that, their employees (in particular Adam Liebling) are FANTASTIC!! Quick to respond, professional, friendly... just amazing, truly. Thank you ASPCA for helping us do what we do. At Halo Cafe, Fresno County's Pet Food Pantry, we are saving lives one full tummy at a time. THANK YOU!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

We had in the past sent contributions to this organization and - because of the name behind it - had purchased insurance for an adopted cat. The insurance has numerous bad reviews of people saying that it would not pay out. type in the organization name and scam and you will see....
They were
exactly right - it appears that their insurance is a scam.
If ASPCA wants people to trust them about their mission and whether they use their contributions right, perhaps they should hire a REPUTABLE company to manage their pet insurance which bears their name.

If you lend your name to a service, then you should make sure that they are doing what they say they will do. This makes me trust this organization very little, now.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

The Upper East Side NYC facility exceeded every expectation we had - it was gorgeous, sparkling clean, well managed and with extremely helpful and courteous staff. Right away the volunteer helped us find a "feline-ality" match - a cat who was exactly what we were looking for, mellow and sweet. Thank you so much for helping us find our perfect little one!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

 There are three reasons that I will no longer support this organization, those three reasons having to do with the Caboodle story only tangentially: First, the extreme ugliness of their supporters. Look and judge for yourself. http://madisonfloridavoice.net/?s=took+my+cats

 Second, in
my opinion they have squandered the "in good faith" donations, including mine, to fly in and entertain people from all over the country when there were and are local and semi-local people who could have been of assistance. Instead of putting their volunteers up locally, in addition, the word is that they put them up in expensive Jax hotels and restaurants and rented tour coaches to carry them to and from Lee each day of the "rescue." https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AhEJ5J_n7tIqdHNTNmJfZ1Fwc2RuazR2RHJpVGVqSmc#gid=0
Since this is a matter of local rumor, I am willing to have it pointed out and proven that it is not entirely accurate by the display of hotel and restaurant bills.

Third, they claim to have "rescued" the Caboodle cats and yet their "adoption event" is being billed as "free of charge adoptions." Surely, this organization has the experience to know that "free to a good home" adoptions are not in the best interests of the animals. If they do not, here is something that might help them: http://www.pet-abuse.com/pages/animal_adoption/free_pets.php#ixzz21rku8pUI
Fourth, I have over the summer discovered numerous otherwise moderate opinion that gives me much concern that the opinion that I have had of the organization may no longer be a valid or accurate one: http://www.dailynews.com/ci_21169780/tables-turned-humane-society (Please read to note the involvement of the ASPCA in this story. Unfortunately, however, I have come to believe that the HSUS and the ASPCA are "on the same page" in a number of ways and I therefore include this link also: http://www.veterinarypracticenews.com/vet-practice-news-columns/reality-check/hsus-agenda-on-par-with-that-of-peta.aspx)

 Disillusionment is not an easy thing. I have many times offered the ASPCA supporters the opportunity to re-instate the organization in my constellation of charities. However, they have not attempted to do so. I was once even directly refused. Instead, they have continued to name-call, accuse, pivot the discussion, and to employ other very recognizable fallacious tactics of argument. For me, I would not have cut off my contributions to a charitable organization because of a bona fide willingness to take on the rescue of animals that they, in good faith, believed to be abused. What I will withdraw my contributions for is manipulation, waste, inhumanity to man or animal, or for an extremist mission that I can no longer find myself in sympathy with because of its extremity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 12, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

My sister and I USED to give to ASPCA until I started getting involved in advocating for shelter pets. No more. They won't spend a penny on a sick or injured animal, and usually drop them at kill shelters. Here is just one incident. There is much more info on this blog, please tell your friends. http://www.nathanwinograd.com/?p=9285

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 12, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

As a cat rescuer I no longer support the ASPCA. You are not helping animals the way that you should be. You send animals to the kill shelters instead of trying to save them. You have very deep pockets and don't save enough lives. Take a look at the kill lists for dogs and cats every single day. Many are killed. It makes me sick. I tried calling your organization and couldn't get a single person to talk to. Extremely disappointing. How about coming up with solutions? Many of us rescuers and the public come up with brilliant ideas of how all of this killing can stop but no one will listen to us because we are small. You are a large organization and people will listen to you if, and only if, you send the right messages. Let the public know what really goes on. Support more foster programs, organize more adoption events etc. Help stop all of this killing!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The President/CEO makes over a 1/2 Million Dollars each year.....that does not seem right to me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 25, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 25, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

My friend was "raided" by the ASPCA. Truly amazing how they villianize others in the interests of "fund-raising". I strongly encourage anyone interested in donating to give to local rescues, and donate food or supplies. Do not give money so that paid employees can sit in their glass houses and throw stones at those in the trenches who are trying to do the right thing and make a difference. And especially do not give a dime to the ASPCA. Give to volunteer associations, people who do what they do for free, not for a salary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 2, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

I have been a fundraiser for many years (for a child care related organization), but I was and still am an animal advocate and I appreciate everything every rescue group does to help our most vulnerable groups (companion animals). But, in these times of shrinking dollars, it is the smaller organizations that don't have paid fundraisers or marketing firms, that need donations. If you care for animals, find a local shelter in your area, volunteer there, donate pet food, and if you can, donate your hard-earned money to them, instead of larger groups. They might not be sophisticated as the larger and more prestigious groups, but they do as much or more for abandoned and abused companion animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The ASPCA used to be a very effective animal "care" organization some 30 years ago, when it provided direct care to animals. Now, its only redeeming quality is its off-shoot, the Humane Law Enforcement (in NYC) and the coordinating role it provides for other organizations. If it is to serve its mission of caring for the welfare of animals, it need to start SHARING its riches with the smaller rescue groups who provide DIRECT assistance to animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change its structure, decentralize it and make sure it actually distributes the funds it raises to the majority of organizations that are at the front lines rescuing and caring for animals.

August 4, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 4, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

a relative made a mistake of responding to a phone call from a high pressure salesman from the ASPCA. The donation amounts in the beginning were small and then started to grow with each phone call. Now the calls are all out high pressure sales calls pressuring an eighty + old woman demanding a larger donation each time, It is not just once a month but several times a month the phone call go on.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the letters keep coming seeking donations and they don't even acknowledge the help that she has been in the past. It is more of what have you done for me lately and the tone is that she hasn't done enough. I have encouraged her to give to her local shelter where the high pressure sales calls don't go on and on and on.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

less high pressure sales seeking to help animals and cut their expenses like the rest of us have had to do. Start by cutting back on the compensated high pressure salesmen and highly paid executives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers