Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
133 Reviews
1234.075195
Write A Review
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

I want to thank Jill Van Tuyl , Mathew Bershadker, Michael Barrett, and Adam Liebling for helping Aslan's Cats to obtain a spay and neuter grant from this wonderful organisation.

The ASPCA has helped our 501c3 organisation with grants since 2011.

We are deeply thankful to them for
believing in "Our Mission " to help the forgotten felines that are diagnosed with this very debilitating disease.

We thank you all so very much and we are deeply appreciative of all your help .

In kindest regards,


Sabrina Hansen

President of Aslan's Cats.
August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

The ASPCA has mentored our Equine adoption program www.secondstride.org in ways that have grown our program in not only animal care and guidelines but also admin and professional services, marketing, donor care, social awareness and outreach. They provide free services to us with top notch programs on things like how to write effective grants, press releases, social media use, and how to reach out and network with other like programs. The teachings have been so valuable to us and the animals we care for as well as the donations from the public we steward. The ASPCA has brought our program up to the next level. They walk the talk too... they came out and did in person site visits of our facilities, and have came to town to do educational seminars. I can't say enough good about this group of folks! They also have an impressive rung of hoops to jump through to prove the grants they give are used appropriately and in good faith.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money so they can spread even more good!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014

more

May 14, 2014

The Kent Animal Shelter in N.Y., a 501 (c) (3) organization is grateful to the ASPCA for granting the spay/neuter clinic funds to purchase much needed medical equipment. This new equipment will allow the clinic to far exceed the 4500 spay/neuters that are performed each year to help curb the overpopulation problem. Kudos to the ASPCA for their excellent work to help end homelessness and suffering.
Pamela Green, Executive Director
Kent Animal Shelter
2259 River Rd.
Calverton, N.Y. 11933
631-727-5731
www.kentanimalshelter.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The ASPCA has supported Harley's Hope Foundation's annual Because We CARE Pet Health Fair for three years now. Their grant goes to purchase vaccines to benefit approximately 300 dogs and cats each year who would otherwise go without preventative care. We greatly value what this organization does on behalf of animals in need and the support it provides to organizations that try to address those needs.
February 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Applied and was awarded a grant recently to assist our Animal Shelter/Animal Control Director in attending a national conference. The process was simple and very user-friendly. Excellent organization to work with!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 18, 2013

more

December 18, 2013

As the Executive Director of a small non-profit Humane Society, I am very grateful for all that the ASPCA does. They provide outstanding professional support, do excellent research that informs our programs and provide grant support that is invaluable. I really appreciate their grant process - they make it simple to apply for funds for our important work. Thank you ASPCA!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 22, 2013

more

November 22, 2013

Thank you ASPCA for a wonderful grant program. Your support has covered a wide range of needs from program support through disaster. Thank you for all you do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

As an animal welfare administrator, I've had the pleasure to work with several ASPCA staff and every one has been very professional, friendly and helpful. They do a great job of offering monetary and educational resources through their website and grant program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask their marketing department to be more clear in their advertising campaigns.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 1, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

The ASPCA wants your money....and NOT to help them care for animals or to shelter/feed/ or even rescue them! I am stick and tired of the ASPCA and other so called 'non-profit' organizations who are really all about PROFIT. If you really want to know how the ASPCA cares for animals, look no further than Animal Care & Control right down the street from the ASPCA headquarters......You see, this is the AsPCA's dirty little secret--they send all the animals they can't be bothered to care for or save down the street to be neglected and KILLED. The truth is far worse than fiction. Shame on you, ASPCA....Time to make amends for all the years of KILLING and neglect perpetrated on the animals you claim to help! Good riddance to Ed Sayres! He will be a blight on your name for a long time to come. Time for a leader who truly cares about animals, not just MONEY!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 11, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

The ASPCA is one big fund-raising machine. If you carefully study their financial reports, you'll find there are numerous expenses which most 501c3s would consider administrative, but are buried in ASPCA programs such as "communciations". Further they seem to ignore the absolute $1,000,000 lobbying limit for non-profits. The ASPCA employes scores of white collar professionals and directly houses less than 4,000 per year in the one shelter they operate in NYC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers