Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
128 Reviews
1234.039065
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

The ASPCA has mentored our Equine adoption program www.secondstride.org in ways that have grown our program in not only animal care and guidelines but also admin and professional services, marketing, donor care, social awareness and outreach. They provide free services to us with top notch programs on things like how to write effective grants, press releases, social media use, and how to reach out and network with other like programs. The teachings have been so valuable to us and the animals we care for as well as the donations from the public we steward. The ASPCA has brought our program up to the next level. They walk the talk too... they came out and did in person site visits of our facilities, and have came to town to do educational seminars. I can't say enough good about this group of folks! They also have an impressive rung of hoops to jump through to prove the grants they give are used appropriately and in good faith.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money so they can spread even more good!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014

more

May 14, 2014

The Kent Animal Shelter in N.Y., a 501 (c) (3) organization is grateful to the ASPCA for granting the spay/neuter clinic funds to purchase much needed medical equipment. This new equipment will allow the clinic to far exceed the 4500 spay/neuters that are performed each year to help curb the overpopulation problem. Kudos to the ASPCA for their excellent work to help end homelessness and suffering.
Pamela Green, Executive Director
Kent Animal Shelter
2259 River Rd.
Calverton, N.Y. 11933
631-727-5731
www.kentanimalshelter.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The ASPCA has supported Harley's Hope Foundation's annual Because We CARE Pet Health Fair for three years now. Their grant goes to purchase vaccines to benefit approximately 300 dogs and cats each year who would otherwise go without preventative care. We greatly value what this organization does on behalf of animals in need and the support it provides to organizations that try to address those needs.
February 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Applied and was awarded a grant recently to assist our Animal Shelter/Animal Control Director in attending a national conference. The process was simple and very user-friendly. Excellent organization to work with!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 18, 2013

more

December 18, 2013

As the Executive Director of a small non-profit Humane Society, I am very grateful for all that the ASPCA does. They provide outstanding professional support, do excellent research that informs our programs and provide grant support that is invaluable. I really appreciate their grant process - they make it simple to apply for funds for our important work. Thank you ASPCA!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 22, 2013

more

November 22, 2013

Thank you ASPCA for a wonderful grant program. Your support has covered a wide range of needs from program support through disaster. Thank you for all you do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

As an animal welfare administrator, I've had the pleasure to work with several ASPCA staff and every one has been very professional, friendly and helpful. They do a great job of offering monetary and educational resources through their website and grant program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask their marketing department to be more clear in their advertising campaigns.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 1, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

The ASPCA wants your money....and NOT to help them care for animals or to shelter/feed/ or even rescue them! I am stick and tired of the ASPCA and other so called 'non-profit' organizations who are really all about PROFIT. If you really want to know how the ASPCA cares for animals, look no further than Animal Care & Control right down the street from the ASPCA headquarters......You see, this is the AsPCA's dirty little secret--they send all the animals they can't be bothered to care for or save down the street to be neglected and KILLED. The truth is far worse than fiction. Shame on you, ASPCA....Time to make amends for all the years of KILLING and neglect perpetrated on the animals you claim to help! Good riddance to Ed Sayres! He will be a blight on your name for a long time to come. Time for a leader who truly cares about animals, not just MONEY!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 11, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

The ASPCA is one big fund-raising machine. If you carefully study their financial reports, you'll find there are numerous expenses which most 501c3s would consider administrative, but are buried in ASPCA programs such as "communciations". Further they seem to ignore the absolute $1,000,000 lobbying limit for non-profits. The ASPCA employes scores of white collar professionals and directly houses less than 4,000 per year in the one shelter they operate in NYC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 27, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 27, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

The reviewers who were outraged at the ASPCA's president's salary ($500,000 a year!) are on the right track...something does not seem right with that. Further, they are paying a number of their employees over $150K. If you live in New York City, especially if you're someone who has ever tried to help an animal in need, you would know that if you called the ASPCA for help, that you would not receive the help you need to save an animal's life. According to their 2008 documents posted here (why aren't more recent years available for the public to view?), we can see that the organization took in $127M in revenue, has $120K in ASSETS, and that a dear old woman left them $22M, mostly in cash, as her last will and testament. Now let's compare these numbers to the fact that 1. they have no street rescue services, 2. they have no TNR (trap-neuter-return) services (an ESSENTIAL service to reduce feral cat populations, that directly reduces the number of cats killed in the city shelter every year, in addition to death and suffering on the street), 3. they respond SLOWLY, and often NOT AT ALL to complaints of animal abuse and neglect (they have a team of 27 humane law enforcement officers who sometimes take up to 2 weeks to respond to a complaint, if they respond at all), 4. they only operate ONE small shelter (former employees speak of egregious cases of animal abuse and neglect by shelter employees and vet techs, and have been fired for reporting such atrocities as well as threatened by management and co-workers...also they send animals to the kill shelter (Animal Care & Control) if they don't get adopted quickly enough), and 5. they have no employees or transport vehicles to assist in situations of that require immediate or even delayed response (for example, a dog tied to a light post in 20-degree weather, or a cat dumped in the middle of a highway, starving, scared and unable to escape). Now, with all that money, doesn't it seem like they can spare a little more for the above-mentioned scenarios? And as far as the two reviewers on this thread who have attempted to discredit those who have found the president's salary to be an insult to the donating public, I wouldn't doubt if they were planted here by the ASPCA (and probably on a number of other sites where the ASPCA is reviewed and scrutinized) to spread false propoganda. One of them even referred to the ASPCA as a "successful, multi-million dollar CORPORATION." Wow. Let's get our facts straight, folks. And look at their financial documents versus what they are NOT doing in a city that kills 40,000 animals a year in its kill shelter. The numbers don't lie.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They have helped many rescuers & people on public assistance to get cats & dogs spayed and neutered...athough now they've raised the price for the publc to $75 per animals, which many people are unwilling (or unable) to pay. They also now charge rescuers, who are often unpaid, not funded, & overwhelmed financially & who have no space to house rescued animals. They charge rescuers $5 per cat & $10 per dog. This may not seem like a lot, but for a high volume rescuer...it adds up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Restructure management. Cut the fat from inflated salaires. Fund a pilot program for 2 years that includes street rescue services & TNR services. Monitor humane law enforcement officers to ensure that all complaints of cruelty & neglect are being seriously investigated. Stop sending animals to the kill shelter through the back door & being deceitful to the donating public about this. Fully fund spay/neuter services for rescuers & the general public, & include emergency vet care at spay/neuter clinics.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers