Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
124 Reviews
1234.008065
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer, long time supporter/contributor, and recent adopter. I have learned so much about how to care for and train animals so that they have the best chance to find a forever home. The shelter is clean, well staffed, bright and cheerful. The animals who are lucky enough to be there receive everything they need. Volunteers are given excellent, comprehensive training. As an adopter, I had a great experience with the adoption counselors and feel supported by the whole organization to make the adoption successful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I represent the Meigs County Humane Society (MCHS), a 501c(3) animal welfare organization founded in the early 1970s, in Pomeroy, Ohio. The MCHS has no shelter of our own but members work closely with the Meigs County Dog Warden disseminating vouchers for low-income citizens to have pets sterilized, offering mobile clinics, and working to upgrade the shelter itself. This part of Appalachian Ohio is highly impoverished and citizens in this county can offer little help, for their money is spent first on food and shoes for their children. So the MCHS focuses on finding funds for helping poor families spay and neuter their pets, securing funds for our pet food bank for low-income petowners, and providing emergency veterinary care for poor pet owners. But we are limited by lack of funds.

If it had not been for the New York-based ASPCA grants that we have received--for hay for horses during the summer drought last year, pet food for the petfood bank, and most recently funds to help train the dog warden--we would not be able to help the animals of this county as much as we have. We, for example, have fewer litters to worry about, we have better fed horses, and we are well on our way to professionalizing the shelter and its personnel. We have so appreciated the generosity and advice from ASPCA advisers and greatly benefited from the funding we have received. I have dealt productively with ASPCA personnel in several departments by e-mail and phone by people who are most anxious to assist me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am not sure I have any suggestions at this time unless it would be to suggest that the regional ASPCA reps could assist us in finding permanent homes for animals taken in cruelty investigations. That would require a great deal of coordination and money, I'm afraid.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 24, 2013

It is our obligation as humans to provide for animals. Especially those in our care, animals deserve to be healthy and happy. The ASPCA's mission is to end animal cruelty. Every human should be committed to that. For more information, go to http://karenhanover.org/karen-hanover-charities/karen-hanover-charities-aspca/ and get involved by either volunteering or by making a donation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 5, 2013

more

March 5, 2013

Although my partner and I are volunteer at ASPCA around a year, we still appriciate what they do for each cat or dog. They really take good care of these "friends". Recently, I saw Grayson, a nine years old cat, was in the shelter. I was surprised not because his owner can not have him anymore, I was surprised because they treat Grayson just like their kids! He's size is large, so he has two condo. Grayson also has some urinary problems, so they give him treatment. By now, Grayson is doing so well that he's not afraid by socialize with people.

Thanks ASPCA!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 8, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

I am a former volunteer at the ASPCA. I would still be there if we hadn't moved, but I do still have periodic contact with them. I'd like to clear up a couple of misconceptions.

1. Someone on here wrote that they hated the way the operated Animal Care and Control (ACC). The ASPCA does
not run ACC, ACC is a city owned and run facility. The ASPCA does however pull animals from there, but beyond that they do not have ANY operational control over the ACC.
2. Yes they do on occasion have to put an animal down. They do this in the event there is a medical reason (animal to sick or injured and it is the humane thing to do) or if the animal is a clear threat and is to aggresive to be placed. Typically that situation is the fault of the idiot who owned the animal first and neglected it.
3. Some have tried to suggest that they do not find homes for animals. I personally have helped an amazing number of people adopt from the ASPCA and I have several friends who provide foster homes for animals from the ASPCA when they need some car outside of the shelter. An example of this is when a kitten needs to be bottle fed or a cat who has been in the shelter for some time and needs a change in surroundings for a while.
4. Yes the ASPCA does some outreach in situations where there are storms such as Katrina or some tornado situations. They were even in Minot, ND helping animals during the floods. Yes they also do a great deal of outreach in puppy mill situations. Doing those rescue operations is not cheap.

5. As far as what they charge for spay/neuter that is still a good deal. My wife and I recently paid about $110 for each of our most recent rescues that we adopted and that was not NY price but the price in a suburban area.

6. Regarding the CEO salary yes I think $500k is a huge amount of money but in NYC that isn't that out of line. Just as a point of reference when my wife and I moved out of NY we sold our 1 bedroom, 1 bath coop, that had less than 500sf for about $400k. Many salaries are higher in NY because of the cost of living. I know people that work in computer programming in NY that make well over $125k and I know people doing similar work in MN that make 1/2 that. I don't like it but it is the reality of the area. Yes they are fortunate that they get multimillion dollar donations but the reality is they probably wouldn't get those if a) they weren't in NY and b) they did not have a CEO and staff that were not out promoting the organization to the multimillionaire donors.

That being said you need to realize that their main operation is on the upper east side of NY. That is the ONLY shelter they have and operate. That shelter based on my personal experience is so much better than what I have seen many many other places. They take wonderful care of the animals, they have full time vet care available 24/7. They have animal behaviorists available full time to work with the animals and give them a better chance at getting adopted. I've visited shelters in at least 7 other states including GA, MN, HI, NJ, CA, NV and ND. Trust me when I say I have only seen animals getting better care and have better facilities in 1 other place and that was Reno, NV.

Finally a common missunderstanding amongst many people I have talked to is they think the ASPCA is the same as various local chapters of the Society to Prevent the Cruelty to Animals (SPCA). Yes they have a very similar name but they are completely seperate organizations. The ASPCA is ONLY the 1 operation based out of NY and no where else. So if you have a problem lets say with the SPCA of Texas (or wherever) keep in mind that it is not related to the ASPCA. I say this because I have had conversations with people in other areas who have had serious complaints about their local SPCA and have said things to me like "The ASPCA in our area is horrible." The problem is that unless you live in NY City, they are not in your area unless they are there dealing with a natural disaster or a puppy mill situation. If it is a puppy mill situation instead of bashing on ANY rescue organization you should be bashing on your local public officials to do something about the laws in your area that allow those things to continue. (Hello Missouri, get it together.)

Just remember don't buy a pet! Rescue it instead.

Yes I only gave the ASPCA because I think most non-profits have things they can and should improve on.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my volunteer time there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More space for the dogs to get out and about during inclement weather as well as more full-time paid staff to care for the animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing I can think of. My experience there has been the best compared to the other rescue organizations that I have worked with. They are very professional compared to the politcal mess that some rescue groups have in place.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes it opened my eyes to the horrible way we treat animals in our society.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It gave me a great deal of satifaction everytime I saw an animal get adopted to a new and loving home.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 8, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 8, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

Please note, I am a donor and not a volunteer. I was unable to change it in the drop down window. In addition to the other negative comments, I wish to add one more. I have been having the ASPCA charge my credit card for $25.00 per month over the past several years. One day I received a phone call from a very high pressure sales person trying to get me to increase that amount. In other words, they are not happy that I am only donating $300 annually. They want more!! I told the guy that if I get another one of those calls that I will stop the donations altogether. I even sent a letter to the chairman's office for which nobody even replied. Although they never called me again, I continue to receive requests for donations regularly. After reading the negative reviews, I decided to cancel my monthly donations and give that money to another animal charity. These guys need to clean up their act.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am a donor and could not change the drop down window.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am a donor and could not change the drop down window.

April 1, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 1, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

What exactly does the ASPCA do for animals? You take credit for rescuing thousands of animals from horrible situations and yet you do nothing afterwards for those animals. They are dumped either at a rescue that is already over capacity and has no funds to feed/vet any more but don't want them to go to kill shelters or you drop them at a Kill Shelter where they will ultimately be no one's problems. And look at your percentage of expenses. You make everyone believe your organization is volunteer and yet your top exec makes over a quarter of a million dollars.AGAIN..how much money goes to shelters/rescues.WHERE is your good work?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen the over populated rescues that resulted from ASPCA's "saving" hundreds of animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We are in it for the animals in the U.S. Stop spending overseas, stop paying exorbitant wages to someone who clearly has his own interest at hand and not animals,help rescues/shelters with money!!!!

March 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I like the involvement of
I like the involvement of Sarah McLachland..the publicity is very touching. However, to pay the CEO almost half a million dollars sends a very poor message in terms of what the organization stands for.









s

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have researched each organization I contribute to and compare effectiveness to CEO salary. There should be justification for compensation this large

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Justify salary as it impacts effectiveness of charity

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers