Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
110 Reviews
123.8909145
| 1 ... 7 8 9...11 |
Write A Review
August 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

 There are three reasons that I will no longer support this organization, those three reasons having to do with the Caboodle story only tangentially: First, the extreme ugliness of their supporters. Look and judge for yourself. http://madisonfloridavoice.net/?s=took+my+cats

 Second, in
my opinion they have squandered the "in good faith" donations, including mine, to fly in and entertain people from all over the country when there were and are local and semi-local people who could have been of assistance. Instead of putting their volunteers up locally, in addition, the word is that they put them up in expensive Jax hotels and restaurants and rented tour coaches to carry them to and from Lee each day of the "rescue." https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AhEJ5J_n7tIqdHNTNmJfZ1Fwc2RuazR2RHJpVGVqSmc#gid=0
Since this is a matter of local rumor, I am willing to have it pointed out and proven that it is not entirely accurate by the display of hotel and restaurant bills.

Third, they claim to have "rescued" the Caboodle cats and yet their "adoption event" is being billed as "free of charge adoptions." Surely, this organization has the experience to know that "free to a good home" adoptions are not in the best interests of the animals. If they do not, here is something that might help them: http://www.pet-abuse.com/pages/animal_adoption/free_pets.php#ixzz21rku8pUI
Fourth, I have over the summer discovered numerous otherwise moderate opinion that gives me much concern that the opinion that I have had of the organization may no longer be a valid or accurate one: http://www.dailynews.com/ci_21169780/tables-turned-humane-society (Please read to note the involvement of the ASPCA in this story. Unfortunately, however, I have come to believe that the HSUS and the ASPCA are "on the same page" in a number of ways and I therefore include this link also: http://www.veterinarypracticenews.com/vet-practice-news-columns/reality-check/hsus-agenda-on-par-with-that-of-peta.aspx)

 Disillusionment is not an easy thing. I have many times offered the ASPCA supporters the opportunity to re-instate the organization in my constellation of charities. However, they have not attempted to do so. I was once even directly refused. Instead, they have continued to name-call, accuse, pivot the discussion, and to employ other very recognizable fallacious tactics of argument. For me, I would not have cut off my contributions to a charitable organization because of a bona fide willingness to take on the rescue of animals that they, in good faith, believed to be abused. What I will withdraw my contributions for is manipulation, waste, inhumanity to man or animal, or for an extremist mission that I can no longer find myself in sympathy with because of its extremity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

I recently adopted 2 cats from the 92nd st ASPCA. The staff was extremely helpful, patient and answered all my questions. It was a very positive experience and I encourage anyone looking to adopt a pet to go here first!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 1, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

The ASPCA wants your money....and NOT to help them care for animals or to shelter/feed/ or even rescue them! I am stick and tired of the ASPCA and other so called 'non-profit' organizations who are really all about PROFIT. If you really want to know how the ASPCA cares for animals, look no further than Animal Care & Control right down the street from the ASPCA headquarters......You see, this is the AsPCA's dirty little secret--they send all the animals they can't be bothered to care for or save down the street to be neglected and KILLED. The truth is far worse than fiction. Shame on you, ASPCA....Time to make amends for all the years of KILLING and neglect perpetrated on the animals you claim to help! Good riddance to Ed Sayres! He will be a blight on your name for a long time to come. Time for a leader who truly cares about animals, not just MONEY!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2012

more

August 1, 2012

On a whim I went to the NY ASPCA to look at cats after the recent death of the cat I had for 13 years. Th staff was very nice and understanding. The kitten I adopted was already returned and on a special diet and the volunteer that helped me was very patient and answered all of my questions. The process was easy and very fulfilling. All of her information was given to me and explained. I left with my new baby and was very satisfied. I spent the next two days advising others to go to the ASPCA to adopt a pet.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

The ASPCA is an amazing organization that really stayed with us every step of the way during the adoption process. We LOVE the new addition to our family and this wouldn't be possible without this fantastic organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 1, 2012

more

July 1, 2012

We have donated to the ASPCA for years and watched directly their activities to help both shelters and animals as well as provide general education. When compared to many of the legislative type education societies vs. actual working with the animals directly, I have found the ASPCA is living up to its reputation of helping animals. I would only advise the donator that their is a distinct difference between legislative/education efforts and actual hands on organizations. BOTH are valuable and BOTH are necessary. This particular organization is more hands-on. The HSUS for example is more the former. I highly recommend the ASPCA as your first entry choice in donating to causes for animals. The second one would be the Humane Society of the US for more pure legislative type work. ASPCA clearly distinguishes itself as a more hands on effort. Well worth the donation!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had a really good experience at the Upper East Side Manhattan location.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 12, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

My sister and I USED to give to ASPCA until I started getting involved in advocating for shelter pets. No more. They won't spend a penny on a sick or injured animal, and usually drop them at kill shelters. Here is just one incident. There is much more info on this blog, please tell your friends. http://www.nathanwinograd.com/?p=9285

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 12, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

As a cat rescuer I no longer support the ASPCA. You are not helping animals the way that you should be. You send animals to the kill shelters instead of trying to save them. You have very deep pockets and don't save enough lives. Take a look at the kill lists for dogs and cats every single day. Many are killed. It makes me sick. I tried calling your organization and couldn't get a single person to talk to. Extremely disappointing. How about coming up with solutions? Many of us rescuers and the public come up with brilliant ideas of how all of this killing can stop but no one will listen to us because we are small. You are a large organization and people will listen to you if, and only if, you send the right messages. Let the public know what really goes on. Support more foster programs, organize more adoption events etc. Help stop all of this killing!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvpL2vh3rrg Save lives pass CAARA in NYS !

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers