Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
139 Reviews
1234.115115
Write A Review
January 28, 2013

more

January 28, 2013

Seeking to adopt two cats, visited ASPPCA. Found the space to be clean, attractive, with cats in comfortable circumstances. Was asked my needs to determine which cats might best be suited to my temperament and living conditions. The history of each cat I saw was thoughtfully described. A thoroughly professional and surprisingly welcome experience. High marks to ASPCA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 27, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 27, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

As a previous donor, I decided to focus on local SPCA and Humane Societies. Not to mention - the CEO of this organization makes $500,000 a year???? That is unconscionable!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

January 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was looking to adopt a new cat but was a pit nervous about going through a shelter or the likes. I've had bad experiences with rude volunteers and workers who made me feel I didn't deserve to adopt one of their pets. The ASPCA was nothing like that. They immediately made me feel welcome and wanted as a hopefully new pet parent. They answered all my questions and eased my concerns and helped me find a cat that would get along great with my other resident cat. Our new cat Francine is gorgeous and in good health and was clearly being taken good care of at the ASPCA. I loved that when I was leaving with her, the staff said, "Congratulations on your adoption!" It was a great ending to an exceptional experience. They have also been readily available to answer questions or concerns I've had since taking her home. A++
The only issue was I felt the place was a bit understaffed, but I think they said someone was out sick that day. I had to do a bit of waiting, but when it was my turn, the staff was fully dedicated to me and my new pet.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 9, 2013

more

January 9, 2013

We adopted a wonderful adult cat at the ASPCA this past weekend. It was my first time at the ASPCA, and I wasn't sure what to expect. I was incredibly impressed! First, the place was immaculate. Second, the volunteer that we worked with was fantastic. My daughter and I took a lot of time with one cat in particular, which was the cat we finally adopted. The volunteer let us take all the time we needed and answered all of our questions. Third, the staff member, Stacy, who handled the adoption, was terrific. She was extremely knowledgeable and went over all of the information in the packet that we were given. I can't speak highly enough about the ASPCA. It's an outstanding organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The CEO makes $500k/year .... s/he took in $117,222,668 in 2009. You would have no problem with a CEO of a business with $117M in sales/year making $500k (they probably make 10 times that), but in the non-profit world you are outraged?

Getting a CEO with that level of fundraising
performance for $500K is a BARGAIN. You think that you could raise 0.01% of that money? Not if your life depended on it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I THINK IT'S TERRIBLE THAT THE CEO MAKES 400,000 A YEAR. IWLL NOT DONATE TO ANYMORE .YOU ARE NOT HELPING THE ANIMALS YOU ARE HELPING YOUR SELFS. YOU ARE A BUNCH OF CROOKS.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 20, 2012

more

December 20, 2012

I arrived at the ASPCA a bit nervous, in a good way, about the decision I had made to adopt a cat. That nervousness turned around right away as I was welcomed by the person at reception and after a very short wait I was introduced to the volunteer, Mia, who showed me around. Seeing so many cats it was helpful that the survey was used to narrow the choice down. Mia was so patient and kind. We found Esther and there was interest but we looked some more anyway. But it was back to Esther and a bond was immediately formed. Finalizing the formalities was handled quickly and, as I wrote to the ASPCA, with grace by Dale. Everyone was just wonderful and applauded when I was leaving with Esther. A happy ending for us both! Great thanks to the staff and volunteers at the 92nd Street ASPCA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I went to the ASPCA in NYC to adopt a cat. I already had in mind what sort of cat would work best in my home--with my other cat--and the ASPCA is very good at getting to know their animals' personalities and quirks and sharing that with prospective adopters. I had two friendly and knowledgeable volunteers show me all of the available cats and guide me as to which of them would be the best fit. I didn't really hit it off with any of the candidates, so the next day I went to the ASPCA mobile adoption unit, which was holding an adoption event at a neighborhood pet supply store. I met and was smitten by a 2-year-old cat who had just the personality I was looking for, and he's fitting in beautifully so far. Because the "A" has a team of behavior experts, it is able to assess each cat that comes in, so the customer knows what he's getting. It was a very good experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 14, 2012

more

December 14, 2012

I went to the ASPCA - NYC to adopt a cat and it was the most wonderful experience. The Volunteers are caring and knowledgeable. Judith introduced me to several cats. In addition to the wonderful write-ups about each cat, Judith knew their personalities as well. She guided me to several that were a match for my personality. The behavior tests that ASPCA performs are informative and helpful. The cats are extremely well-cared for and in a clean and playful environment. I was never rushed. I played with a couple of cats and then realized that "Leaf" owned me. I loved everything about "Leaf" except the name so I changed it. She is now "Cagney." Several staff and volunteers were very happy that she was going to a new home. Stacy handled all the paperwork and could not have been nicer. I am so happy that I came here and very proud that I am a "Guardian" aka give a set monthly donation. You could not ask for a better adoption experience. Cagney and I are very lucky, indeed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 12, 2012

more

December 12, 2012

Wanting to adopt a cat, we ventured to the ASPCA and were pleasantly surprised. The staff is friendly and informative. They take the time to do a personality test on each of the cats and give you plenty of time to play with them before making a decision. We left with a super sweet and friendly cat that we fell in love with. For anyone looking to adopt a cat or dog, we highly recommend ASPCA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers