Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
124 Reviews
1234.008065
| 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review
May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

My girlfriend and I decided to get a cat, and ended up adopting a pari of kittens so they'd have each other to hang out with. All of the volunteers and staff were very friendly an knowledgable, and it was clear that the organization works in the best interest of the animals in mind. The facility was clean and bustling with pets-to-be.

Advice and guidance on how to raise the cats was readily given, and our many questions were answered. Our little ones were already vaccinated and fixed, plus the ASPCA gave us a few day's worth of the food the kittens were already used to, as well as collars and tags to ID both of them.

We walked out with two mewing little ones, excited to give them a home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We got a little nervous about some of the longer waiting times in the adoption process, but it was clearly a busy time of day for the office/shelter. All told the visit was about 2 hours.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014

more

May 14, 2014

The Kent Animal Shelter in N.Y., a 501 (c) (3) organization is grateful to the ASPCA for granting the spay/neuter clinic funds to purchase much needed medical equipment. This new equipment will allow the clinic to far exceed the 4500 spay/neuters that are performed each year to help curb the overpopulation problem. Kudos to the ASPCA for their excellent work to help end homelessness and suffering.
Pamela Green, Executive Director
Kent Animal Shelter
2259 River Rd.
Calverton, N.Y. 11933
631-727-5731
www.kentanimalshelter.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2014

more

May 8, 2014

We are incredibly grateful to have been assisted with spay/neuter grant from the ASPCA. Their presence in our community is vital and their support helped us neuter 19 animals in one day! Thank you ASPCA!
May 5, 2014

more

May 5, 2014

This is copy of a review I just posted to Yelp.

Had a wonderful experience adopting from here. The facility is very clean compared to other shelters we visited, and the volunteers and staff all very friendly, patient, and informative. It was such a pleasure to be able to adopt a cat
without the grilling process at many shelters. Don't get me wrong - we do everything we are supposed to: no clumping clay litter, wet food, no declawing, no open windows, etc.

As someone else wrote, it is definitely quieter during the week if you can manage to make it to the facility during regular work hours. As an added bonus, cats over one year adopted on a weekday are free! And at all times, cats over three years are free!

They also supply, at no cost to you: a cardboard carrier, a few days' supply of food, microchipping, their vet records of immunizations and FeLV/FIV results, and a collar and engraved ID tag in the color(s) of your choice. You are entitled to a free follow-up vet visit at their hospital within 30 days of adoption, although the location and hours for that were too inconvenient for us.

DEFINITELY would recommend this place to anyone considering adopting, either a cat or a dog.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

True Blue Animal Rescue is a 501c3 non profit. We started working with the ASPCA when we needed emergency hay money to to a drought. We received that funding and were able to feed our rescue horses through the drought. We have also attended ASPCA workshops and learned invaluable information about how to develop a stronger and more professional rescue. We just received a grant to help us send our rescue horses to a trainer. The ability to pay for some of our horses to be trained will help us find more homes for them. The ASPCA makes grant writing easy and offers funding to help with the needs of animal rescues like ours. Thank s to the ASPCA we can help more animals!
I love that they take the time to get to know the organizations that they help and even did an on sight inspection. The tips they have given us is invaluable!
April 18, 2014

more

April 18, 2014

I had to put my 15 yr love mini poodle to sleep last fall and was now ready to get a new companion. Refered to ASCPA by a friend. It was a very positive experience. The staff was very professional and caring. Everyone was patient and took the time to answer my questions and to keep me informed. The day I met Klondike I had ample opportunity to interact with him. On the day I picked up Klondike the staff again took time to explain things to me and gave me time to make sure he was ready to venture out to his new home. It was quite evident that the entre staff was dedicated to insuring the animals under their care were properly placed in appropriate homes suited for their needs.
I highly recommend this organization to others looking to Adopt new pets.
April 3, 2014

more

April 3, 2014

I HAVE A QUESTION, I THOUGHT WE WERE WORKING TOWARDS NO PETS ON CRAIGSLIST, WHAT HAPPENED HERE

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 1, 2014

more

April 1, 2014

In the past, all my cats were street rescues, so I got what the universe gave me. This time I wanted a companion for a lonesome cat (his companions had passed on to kitty heaven) and so I decided to go to the ASPCA. While the questions asked initially made me feel like I didn't know about cats, in actual fact they were more about finding out who I was and what kind of cat suited the space I would introduce them to. The staff were all terrific and i have appreciated the follow-up calls and suggestions for acclimating the cats together (ultimately I adopted 2 within a short space of time from each other). I am so glad to be a new mommy and learn about these two new entities. The process was thorough but efficient, The center was clean and everyone was in a good mood and helpful. Thank you ASPCA. You do a terrific job.
March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

I adopted a dog from the ASPCA and was so impressed with the entire staff and facility. After only 4 months I went back and adopted a handicapped dog. They met with my family and our other dogs to ensure there was a match with the new addition. We also met with the vet who went over all the dogs medical conditions and answered all our questions. We are so excited to have both dogs in our lives and so happy we are able to give them a loving home. THANK YOU ASPCA.
March 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The ASPCA has supported Harley's Hope Foundation's annual Because We CARE Pet Health Fair for three years now. Their grant goes to purchase vaccines to benefit approximately 300 dogs and cats each year who would otherwise go without preventative care. We greatly value what this organization does on behalf of animals in need and the support it provides to organizations that try to address those needs.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers